Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toshiba laptop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

What laptop? Any links?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭caycro

cena wrote: »
    Seems a bargain.
    Anyone know if it is good. Doesn't say if there is a CD/DVD ROM built into it.

Link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭ads20101

my psychic powers appear to have waned somewhat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

cena wrote: »
    Seems a bargain.
    Anyone know if it is good. Doesn't say if there is a CD/DVD ROM built into it.
    http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/2455914/Trail/searchtext>5+DAY+DEALS+AT+ARGOS/gotoTab/reviews.htm

Jasus, ye lazy shower. The Argos P/N is in the link.

Link

No CD/DVD drive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

dodzy wrote: »
    Jasus, ye lazy shower. The Argos P/N is in the link.

Link

No CD/DVD drive

after it was edited

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭peckerhead

Slow processor speed would bother me. Lots of negative comments to that effect here on the UK site.

Even with a Celeron processor, something like this (or this) might be a better bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Those Celerons are pretty bad as well - atom based Celeron's, not really any upgrade really on the AMD processor.

Should be fine though for web browsing, watching movies, netflix, typing, the usual. Just a bit on the slow side - but you do get what you pay for, hard to argue with prices like €229 for a full sized laptop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭peckerhead

Those Celerons are pretty bad as well - atom based Celeron's, not really any upgrade really on the AMD processor.
    Ah, a little bit, all the same... here's a comparison of the two: http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Celeron-N2830-vs-AMD-E1-6010

The Acer I linked to for €299 is a little faster again, and has 8GB RAM/1TB HDD in its favour too.

But yeah, amazing what you can buy for so little, really. I bought that Dell a few months ago for €197, thanks to a BA here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭braddun

very basic computer

no dvd drive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

Ah lads will ye give with the 'this is better but dearer' nonsense.

It's a €230 laptop. Decent brand. Nobody is expecting a high power gaming rig.

It'll be fine for browsing, Word, Netflix etc and decent value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Its basically a repeat of the €220 Dell Inspiron 1535(model from memory) a couple months back.

Fine for very basic work, but keep it free of junkware.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

ED E wrote: »
    Its basically a repeat of the €220 Dell Inspiron 1535(model from memory) a couple months back.

Fine for very basic work, but keep it free of junkware.

The Dell is very basic most of the other equivalents have a USB 3.0 port.
    and Ethernet port.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭iPink

sorry but I wouldn't touch it with a barge pole... i had 3 of them from oct to Nov & brought them all back... insisted on getting my money back in the end as i didn't want to try another one...

Touchpad kept jumping around & commands didn't work properly
    Turning bluetooth on caused windows to freeze
    Start up got longer & longer & i didn't even get round to putting anything on it
    Viewing angles weren't great
    Plastic build & sharp points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

kaizersoze wrote: »

Afraid your comment isn't actually true. Sometimes Cheap actually means crap. If you think all laptops are fine for just browsing word netflix etc. then try booting up a cheap crap laptop. Then come back to me after 5 minutes.

Add a bit more money if you want a Basic trustworthy laptop something like this would be an ideal starter that should last a good few years and not be a pain to live with

http://www.dell.com/ie/p/inspiron-15-3542-laptop/pd?oc=cn54225&model_id=inspiron-15-3542-laptop#AnchorZone1

listermint wrote: »
    Afraid your comment isn't actually true. Sometimes Cheap actually means crap. If you think all laptops are fine for just browsing word netflix etc. then try booting up a cheap crap laptop. Then come back to me after 5 minutes.

Yawn......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Yawn......

Classic, "i havent a clue what im talking about response"

I suppose your the go to guy for tech in the family.

"ah sure itll be fine"

The thing is slow and dead within months.

Buy something like this if you want a basic laptop. And take your yawns elsewhere

http://www.dell.com/ie/p/inspiron-15-3542-laptop/pd?oc=cn54225&model_id=inspiron-15-3542-laptop#AnchorZone1

Zzzzzzzzzzzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭spongbob

Toshiba, take out the 2year extended warranty plan that Argos offer, you are 100% going to need it.

It will do nothing but break your heart!

listermint wrote: »
    Classic, "i havent a clue what im talking about response"

I suppose your the go to guy for tech in the family.

"ah sure itll be fine"

The thing is slow and dead within months.

Buy something like this if you want a basic laptop. And take your yawns elsewhere

Zzzzzzzzzzzz

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭ads20101

End this madness :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Its Only Ray Parlour

Don't count on it playing HD Netflix. My processor is 1.60GHz and I find it irritatingly slow. This laptop would be useless for good quality video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭mada999

bought a similar one in PC world a few days ago just for browsing the net while watching the TV (dont like tablets).... €249... not the best but grand for surfing ... no cd drive....