Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bale netting and the correct disposal of it!

• 22-12-2014 10:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭

when I was growing up, we had twines holding bales together and of course the twines would be reused thereafter around the farm to tie bits and pieces.

Nowadays, we have this netting holding round bales of straw, silage etc... together. Once the netting is cut, it isn't very reusable to be fair....
    What is the promoted correct way to dispose of this netting may I ask?

Regards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Feck
    It
    Round
    Everywhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

WexTK wrote: »

when I was growing up, we had twines holding bales together and of course the twines would be reused thereafter around the farm to tie bits and pieces.

Nowadays, we have this netting holding round bales of straw, silage etc... together. Once the netting is cut, it isn't very reusable to be fair....

Regards!

I throw it all in a feed bag and keep it dry and end of year put a match to it..

now that's until this year the recycling fella/company that take the plastic told me that they take it so I guess that would be more environmentally friendly option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭Sami23

Put it in the dirty bin. (landfill)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

Regards!

Throw it in the ditch....have seen birds use it for nesting material as well. Gather up the plastic and burn it on a foggy morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Get two rowing boats and a 30 foot length of netwrap stretched between, and trawl your local lake..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

AP2014 wrote: »
    Throw it in the ditch....have seen birds use it for nesting material as well. Gather up the plastic and burn it on a foggy morning.

Thankfully we've moved on from this sort of bolloxology.
    It can all be recycled now.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Get two rowing boats and a 30 foot length of netwrap stretched between, and trawl your local lake..............

That's the Pinot Noir talking B-)

We are at the stage where lads have hedges cut back so much they are dying and provide no cover for birds or wildlife. All I see is hedges and trees cut back as far as possible and electric fences around the place.

I'd prefer the odd overgrown hedge with some net in it and wildlife.

We are at the stage where lads have hedges cut back so much they are dying and provide no cover for birds or wildlife. All I see is hedges and trees cut back as far as possible and electric fences around the place.

I'd prefer the odd overgrown hedge with some net in it and wildlife.

I'd prefer plenty of unruly hedges with lots of biodiversity and neither baler wrap or netting in it.

Hopefully the new GLAS scheme might encourage it. I would burn the wrap instead of throwing it in the hedge though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Regards!
    Keep it clean and separate from silage plastic and recycle it at the annual plastic collection service. Its not cheap to recycle though but that is the promoted correct way to dispose of it.

Hopefully the new GLAS scheme might encourage it. I would burn the wrap instead of throwing it in the hedge though.

Waste Management (farm plastics) Regulations
    Wouldn't encourage you to either burn or dump silage wrap in a hedge.
    I suspect you know this but are either trying to be smart or controversial?

Waste Management (farm plastics) Regulations
    Wouldn't encourage you to either burn or dump silage wrap in a hedge.
    I suspect you know this but are either trying to be smart or controversial?

Just quick and cheap. Waste mgt regulations don't mean much to me.

AP2014 any chance you could scan and post up recycling receipts for 2014.. the boys and I would like to see them :-)

Bodacious wrote: »

AP2014 any chance you could scan and post up recycling receipts for 2014.. the boys and I would like to see them :-)

Ha, fortunately not, I can post up a few pictures of ashes though.

only slagging you ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

Nekarsulm wrote: »

Best laugh I've got since Charliebull solved the bale opening dilemma. We've got it all covered now. There's no need for any more round bale threads ever:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

I'm not sure but I think we keep most of it in the weanlings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

We've slowly been filling the cavity blocks with them......added bit of insulation to the walls in the calving pens :pac:

If they're removed & left to dry inside instead of fecking them outside, they scrunch up really small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

in my mind I am thinking of strewing the bale net all over the place to help catch some crows which are being a real pest !

However on the other hand I think it may be very unsightly to all the tourists :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I tried desperately to find some use for it. I got three clean wraps with no tears in it and plaited them into rope about 20ft long. I still use the rope to tie 2 gates closed. But what to do with the other 2000? odd netwraps around the gaff?

I wonder what happens to the re-cycled stuff, is it just fecked into a landfill, or do they do what mad4sim suggested, or maybe they sell it back to us as fleecey jumpers?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

We light our furnace with the net wrap. The black wrap gets recycled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

My mother used to plait great mats for cleaning wellies out of square hay bale string. I think she used the same technique as for making sugan (sorry about spelling) beehives and hen nests. They were mighty jobs.
    I keep my bale nets scrunched up in an old rusty calf crate and recycle with the wrap in the spring - FRS does my recycling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

AP2014 -
    “I can’t tell if you’re really mother****ing dumb or really mother****ing smart,” FBI agent Don Cheadle tells Brendan Gleeson, a cop in west Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭emaherx

We fill tonne bags, the bags are made of the same type of nylon material as the nets and are then sent along with the plastic wraps for recycling. Recyclers take bag and nets together.

Tonne bags can be got easily as they are only rated for a single tonne delivery.

emaherx wrote: »
    We fill tonne bags, the bags are made of the same type of nylon material as the nets and are then sent along with the plastic wraps for recycling. Recyclers take bag and nets together.

Tonne bags can be got easily as they are only rated for a single tonne delivery.

Similar, store and dispose of them in the half ton fertiliser bags.

Kovu wrote: »
    We've slowly been filling the cavity blocks with them......added bit of insulation to the walls in the calving pens

Are you serious or pulling the mick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭valtraman

My understanding is that no recyclers will take net wrap at the moment as they cannot find a new home for it the last shipment was tutned back from a foreign port and cost recyclers a fortune landfill dont really want it either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭valtraman

My understanding is that no recyclers will take net wrap at the moment as they cannot find a new home for it the last shipment was tutned back from a foreign port and cost recyclers a fortune landfill dont really want it either

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭braddun

most people do illegal burn at night

so helicopters don't catch them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

just do it wrote: »
    Are you serious or pulling the mick?

Well it would nearly make sense to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Washing machine packed up in the house a couple of days ago. New one arrived yesterday, the delivery guy had to take the old machine with him for disposal. Similar system sounds like it could be beneficial with netting etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Washing machine packed up in the house a couple of days ago. New one arrived yesterday, the delivery guy had to take the old machine with him for disposal. Similar system sounds like it could be beneficial with netting etc.

Ya should have filled the washing machine with old net. Two birds with one stone :D

Reggie. wrote: »
    Well it would nearly make sense to me

That's why I'm asking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

braddun wrote: »
    most people do illegal burn at night

so helicopters don't catch them

No it's a foggy morning so the helicopters can't fly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,841 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Was helping out years ago on a neighbours farm , very tidy set up - well run - he was giving out about hard it was to burn bale wrap - and the smoke blowing towards his house - he just wasn't into "that recycling "
    Anyone tried using the new plastic wrap instead of net wrap ? Anygood? Does it need a special baler ?

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Markcheese wrote: »
    Was helping out years ago on a neighbours farm , very tidy set up - well run - he was giving out about hard it was to burn bale wrap - and the smoke blowing towards his house - he just wasn't into "that recycling "
    Anyone tried using the new plastic wrap instead of net wrap ? Anygood? Does it need a special baler ?
    Feed out a few bale for the uncle in the autumn works really well, bales were made with a mcale fusion don't know if all balers can use it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭howdee

Recycle wrap and sheet plastic but everything else including net wrap, twine, buckets, milk pads, general rubbish goes into ex feed one ton bags and once a year I get a skip in and fill it with full bags. Once the bags are full I tie them and stack them. Great way at keeping rubbish at bay and out of sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Iyaibeji

Would it be suitable for use on an allotment?
    If so you could advertise it free on adverts or somewhere.

Iyaibeji wrote: »
    Would it be suitable for use on an allotment?.

As what? What use had you in mind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

As a mesh to keep pigeons off ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Iyaibeji

As what? What use had you in mind?

To keep birds off what you have planted, or as pea netting?
    I use scaffolding netting on my allotment, so do most of the others up there, I was wondering of the bale netting could be used in the same way?

I also use scaffolding netting to cover my chicken run to keep the wild birds out.

All manner of things are repurposed on allotments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Iyaibeji wrote: »
    To keep birds off what you have planted, or as pea netting?
    I use scaffolding netting on my allotment, so do most of the others up there, I was wondering of the bale netting could be used in the same way?

I also use scaffolding netting to cover my chicken run to keep the wild birds out.

All manner of things are repurposed on allotments.

That might not be such a bad idea. I grow peas, carrots etc and have the divil of a job keeping the cats from uprooting the young plants. I'll see if the net can be spread out as it comes off the bales in one piece so is a fair size.