Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Larry Murphy to return home and co-operate with Gardai

• 19-12-2014 3:37pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭

(I'm not sure if this thread belongs in LI, but it seemed the best fit. I didn't want to put it in AH as it would be a train wreck like most stuff in there. Mods, move it if you want)

Anyway reading the below articles it appears that Larry Murphy, the Beast of Baltinglass is set to return home to Ireland for good as he is sick of living abroad.

Now he has served his time and legally is a free man and can do what he chooses. He has even offered to co-operate with the Gardai's "Sex Offenders Management and Intelligence Unit" in a fully voluntarily capacity - due to the date of his conviction he is not required to be on the sex offenders register.

His brother Thomas has indicated that he will not be made welcome by them.

So my question is, what is he likely to do? I mean he is so notorious at this point that anyone in their right mind would neither rent him a house or offer him a job for fear of reprisals by vigilantes for "aiding" Larry Murphy.

If so, will the state be obliged to house him and, possibly, make employment opportunities available to him?

He has said he wants to re-integrate into Irish society. I'd imagine that this will be very difficult and there will be huge public backlash against it.

There is a huge level of hysteria around this man, while what he did was terrible and some concern is justified, I just feel that the circus surrounding his whereabouts and activities is way over the top - eg. TV3 specials hosted by Paul Williams with horror movie soundtracks. I mean, there are plenty of convicted rapists working and walking around and probably a good number of ACTUAL murders too that there is little or no fanfare about.

I'm just wondering what are peoples opinions on how this thing is going to pan out.

I cannot post the links due to my post count but to get them Google: Larry Murphy and click the news tab.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

He'll likely be housed by the local council and live off benefits - I can't imagine jobs or training will be available to him on purely practical grounds.

I was at a very interesting talk the other week by someone involved with sexual offender management and detection (Garda DI - IIRC) who although you could tell it wasn't his ideal scenario for them was quite sensible in what he was saying. He said what they want to avoid is reoffending - adopting the Texas model of a sign at the bottom of the garden etc - would cause stress and possibly lead to reoffending, which no one wants. He said they have a good working relationship (as far as that goes) with most sex offenders and know what's going on generally.

I suspect he'll eventually be settled somewhere and we'll get the occasional story on slow news days but other than that. How many tries it takes to get him settled though is another story.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Chemical Byrne

Yeah, I pretty much thought the council would end up housing him.

Surely though he would end up doing some kind of work. I mean, he did plenty of casual carpentry nixer type jobs while abroad. Perhaps the local authority could find something for him? Or maybe doing something with other offenders on some type of program?

Surely it would be better to have him occupied. I mean, to minimise any risk of reoffending (not saying he would) wouldn't be better to have him occupied in a job?.
    I don't think the private sector would touch him with a barge pole.

I know what he did was dreadful but to be honest, I kinda feel a bit sorry for him. Like if he's goign to co-operate voluntarily with SOMIU one would imagine that he's probably repentant to some degree at least but it's going to be next to impossible for him to re-integrate. As I said, there are probably hundreds of rapists and murderous individuals walking the streets on any given day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

From the very - very limited knowledge I have he's probably mentally unwell. Personally I don't believe he belongs in the community. He's only been able to do nixers etc. because he was under an alias, that sort of thing is not going to be tolerated and only slipped through the net in the UK because our legislators are about 50 years behind Albania.

All that said he doesn't deserve to be lynched either. If the best we can do is put him somewhere and keep a very close eye on him then I guess that's all we can do.

He's only co-operating fully with the guards because he's no other choice. I suspect the conversation went something along the lines of co-operate or we can't be responsible for it taking an inordinate amount of time to show up at your door if you and your house are on fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

He must be miserable. It would take a lot for someone that infamous to think coming to Ireland is a good idea. The only positives for the community is that he will be under surveillance and people know his face. I doubt anime would hire him or rent to him, I presume he'll be houses by the local authority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

I can't imagine jobs or training will be available to him on purely practical grounds.
    The visceral and automatic contempt most of us feel for those who commit sexual offences is not universal. I know a town where a former priest with a history of sexual offenses against minors is perhaps not a pillar of the community, but a visible presence who maintains friendships and card-playing buddies, and drinks in the same local he probably drank in years ago.

Lets not forget this is a country with a deep-seated history of tolerance of sexual offences.

There is a dark side to Irish society that didn't evaporate on some particular new years' eve.

I would love to believe we all share the same anger against offenders brazen enough to maintain a visible presence in the community, but i don't think we do.

Maybe I'm cynical. There are simply too many disturbing, and fundamentally sinister and malevolent characters passing through the courts to avoid this rather grim and un-festive conclusion! Really nightmareish people.

I actually don't have an issue with the rehabilitation of sex-offenders. In many cases the stigma doesn't fit the crime. In this case though the man is almost certainly a serial killer and definately is a sadistic rapist and would be murderer.

I'm sure someone will want their kitchen done cheap but I'm not sure I'd want him knowing who lived at my address in all honesty.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 26 Adrian J Lynch

The hunt is on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

I actually don't have an issue with the rehabilitation of sex-offenders. In many cases the stigma doesn't fit the crime.
    What are the many cases where the stigma of sexual offending does not fit the crime?

Presumably you are saying the stigma is often greater than deserved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Rabbo

The sentence certainly didn't match the crime in this case so maybe the stigma is justified. There is no doubt that he would have murdered that poor girl if he hadnt been caught in the act. He has since shown no remorse or willingness to change. Additionally he is also suspected in being involved in other murders. 10 years imprisonment is far from an appropriate punishment in this case and Judge Carney himself admitted that the reason a longer sentence wasn't handed down was for fear it would be overturned on appeal. Larry Murphy hasn't done anything to warrant being accepted back into society.

conorh91 wrote: »
    What are the many cases where the stigma of sexual offending does not fit the crime?

Presumably you are saying the stigma is often greater than deserved?

I am, I would perhaps use the words on occasion rather than often. For example a sexual assault even a rape have massive variations of degree. This is at one end of the spectrum a guy who's pissed and ends up with a girl that regrets it in the morning is still guilty of rape but both are still branded a rapist.

I recall a woman being found guilty of sexual assault in England for pinching a policeman bum. Still a sex offender. Then we, of course, have the scenario of two 15 year olds having sex.
    Rabbo wrote: »
    The sentence certainly didn't match the crime in this case so maybe the stigma is justified. There is no doubt that he would have murdered that poor girl if he hadnt been caught in the act. He has since shown no remorse or willingness to change. Additionally he is also suspected in being involved in other murders. 10 years imprisonment is far from an appropriate punishment in this case and Judge Carney himself admitted that the reason a longer sentence wasn't handed down was for fear it would be overturned on appeal. Larry Murphy hasn't done anything to warrant being accepted back into society.

To be fair I wasn't referring to this guy. That said he's done his time for the crimes he was convicted for. The stigma is recognised as part of the punishment, in this case it's well deserved. He has to live somewhere though. Ideally ofcourse, not next to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

The hunt is on

Mod:

I'm going to assume that this post is meant as a joke but let's not have any more posts that encourage vigilantism please.

Posts that encourage illegal behaviour are not allowed on boards.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭billy few mates

Posts that encourage illegal behaviour are not allowed on boards.ie.

Yet neither are posts that seek or give legal advice....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

He is a poster boy for the rehabilatiation affect of Irish prisons!!

5 years post release and no further offences.

System is working? Right?