Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda speed van

• 19-12-2014 1:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭

Hi I was driving this morning, travelling at around 55-60 in a 50kph zone I saw a Garda speed can in distance the lights changed so I stopped at the lights, as they turned green I pulled into the side of an estate for a few minutes! I waited for the cars to pass and pulled back out again and approached the speed van this time driving under the 50kph .

Just wondering would the van of picked up my speed up to the lights?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

don't worry about it, not until the envelope drops through the door: at 55 on your speedo you probably not much over the 50 in reality as they are up to 10% inaccurate. At 60 you might well be OK too a the Gards allow a bit of discretion.

They probably wouldn't be picking you up at a distance anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

If you had time to slow down and stop at the lights, the continue towards the van, then no. You are fine. Common sense prevails here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

They probably had you with aerial surveillance, helicopter or drone. You need to take them on a chase near the airport to lose them. It's an understandable rookie error, better luck next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

What's the distance these vans nab you at anyway does anyone know? 300m, 100m?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

In the right hands the .50-cal is lethal up to about a mile, and quite accurate. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Ardeehey

I know that the handheld badboys can get you up to 1km away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Ardeehey wrote: »
    I know that the handheld badboys can get you up to 1km away.

but more than likely, its well within 600m, unless they have it on a tripod, and have a clear line of sight to your car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

well under 100m ..
    2 or 3 car lenghts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

mikeecho wrote: »
    well under 100m ..
    2 or 3 car lenghts

Will have to wait n see so..

One of them tucked in on the M7 inbound last weekend @ 11pm between exit 10 and 9 (when it becomes the 3-lane N7) but might be alright as I spotted it before that and there was a car beside me as well

Safety eh! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 331 ✭✭Kildare787

Alright lads, thought I got done on black friday (28th) of November, three weeks ago yesterday. Still no letter am I safe yet?? I was behind a row of cars and wondered why they were going so slow (about 45km) so I went into the other lane to overtake and was doing between 60-70 in what turned out to be a 60 zone and then I saw the garda van :( It was the one at the travel lodge hotel coming from blanch onto the navan road. 4 lanes and only 60km boils my blood. So how long do these letters take to come out??

I ask because the last letter that I was supposed to get for speeding (8km over the limit) I never got and ended up in court over it. Is there a way to check if you have been caught as I dont want to get double penalty points again as the judge did not believe me and gave me 4 points for my trouble!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

pj12332 wrote: »
    Alright lads, thought I got done on black friday (28th) of November, three weeks ago yesterday. Still no letter am I safe yet?? I was behind a row of cars and wondered why they were going so slow (about 45km) so I went into the other lane to overtake and was doing between 60-70 in what turned out to be a 60 zone and then I saw the garda van :( It was the one at the travel lodge hotel coming from blanch onto the navan road. 4 lanes and only 60km boils my blood. So how long do these letters take to come out??

I ask because the last letter that I was supposed to get for speeding (8km over the limit) I never got and ended up in court over it. Is there a way to check if you have been caught as I dont want to get double penalty points again as the judge did not believe me and gave me 4 points for my trouble!

Only way to check is your post box

Letter can take anything from 7 days to 3 months. I'd consider yourself 'safe' after 2 months. There is no way to check except perhaps ring the office in Tullamore. Your saving grace here is if you were 'neck and neck' with another car. Two cars in the same picture frame means no fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

More like 30!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,003 ✭✭✭micks_address

pred racer wrote: »
    More like 30!

Not sure if it was a garda Van or go safe but I passed one yesterday at corduff national school doing about 63km in 50km zone... Will be annoyed if I get a fine.. Yes it's a school but it was 830am..on a Saturday and i was holding up the three cars behind me... It's frustrating that they choose places like that to setup.. If it was a weekday I'd say fair play to them...

As much as I post against the vans, schools do hold activities at weekends. And it doesn't matter who is behind you. The speed limit is the limit. If you want to break it, I don't mind (We all do) but you can't force anyone else to break it. (Noting the distinct difference between this situation and doing say 30km/h in a 80km/h for example) You have to respect someone driving at the limit as long as they are not unnecessarily holding you up e.g. Doddling in lane 2 on a motorway. In all other instances, you have no right to force someone to move faster or out of the way. We share the road, some people need to learn that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,003 ✭✭✭micks_address

ironclaw wrote: »
    As much as I post against the vans, schools do hold activities at weekends. And it doesn't matter who is behind you. The speed limit is the limit. If you want to break it, I don't mind (We all do) but you can't force anyone else to break it. (Noting the distinct difference between this situation and doing say 30km/h in a 80km/h for example) You have to respect someone driving at the limit as long as they are not unnecessarily holding you up e.g. Doddling in lane 2 on a motorway. In all other instances, you have no right to force someone to move faster or out of the way. We share the road, some people need to learn that.

Yep i knows it's a school but I wasn't really driving fast... No way was it dangerous driving.. You can argue it was at 10k over the speed limit.. But cars passed me all evening on the way back from Cork last night doing 140 plus on the motor way.. I was at 120 on cruise control.. I'm not saying I was right to be over the speed limit and whether i get a fine or not I'll always be mindful of the spot now and make double sure I'm below 50... So maybe job done.. Couple of years ago I got fined for doing 60 on a straight Road with a 50k limit and not a school in sight. About 12 years ago was caught over the limit driving out of Newtownforbes Dublin side.. Again very opportunist spot to catch people.. I've no problem with speed limit enforcement and speed obviously leads to accidents but i see so much reckless driving on the road that it annoys me to get caught for something on what I'd class the minor side of the danger scale..