Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Contractor charges

• 18-12-2014 10:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭

Well lads how much are ye paying for slurry spreading with a 2400 gallon tanker and for agitating slurry?
    tia eric

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

eric prydz wrote: »
    Well lads how much are ye paying for slurry spreading with a 2400 gallon tanker and for agitating slurry?
    tia eric

Agitating was 45/hr+vat last time I paid a contractor anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

tia eric

I got charged 40 incl vat for 1600G

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭Sami23

tia eric

I pay 100 euro per bay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

Sami23 wrote: »
    I pay 100 euro per bay.

I honestly dont know how some lads charge by the bay.
    Ive gone into watery tanks and had 4 bays spinning well in 20 minutes and gone into tanks that lads have emptied the water out of over the winter and spent 2 days solid trying to stir 4 bays drawing in a load of water and taking a load of slurry away straight away.
    You couldnt charge the same price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

I pay by the bay aswell

contractor doesn't mind
    he's glad for the work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

How big is a bay. is it 12x15 or 16x15. I have a lagoon. how would that be charged?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

60 euro and hour for a 2500 gallon trailing shoe tank,65 for a 3500 gallon splash plate tank.i agitate.also have my own 1600 gallon tank but contractor can move way more than me and gives me more time for other jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

mahoney_j wrote: »
    60 euro and hour for a 2500 gallon trailing shoe tank,65 for a 3500 gallon splash plate tank.i agitate.also have my own 1600 gallon tank but contractor can move way more than me and gives me more time for other jobs

What sort of value for money is the trailing shoe @60/hour? I imagine output is a bit lower than a similar sized rig with a splashplate but is the increased utilisation of the nutrients covering the costs?

I really like them trailing shoe tank especially in late spring and after first cut,less nutrient loss than splash plans and quicker better take up by the plant.put 2k gallons thick slurry out this year in mid April and cows peeled it just over 2 weeks later.its a bit slower output wise than splash plate and of only use it on home block where draw would be short.was getting about 4 loads per hour out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭stretch film

I really like them trailing shoe tank especially in late spring and after first cut,less nutrient loss than splash plans and quicker better take up by the plant.put 2k gallons thick slurry out this year in mid April and cows peeled it just over 2 weeks later.its a bit slower output wise than splash plate and of only use it on home block where draw would be short.was getting about 4 loads per hour out

So r u saying it replaced the npk for that round ?

At that time of year yes next n would of went out about 3.5 weeks later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭DarByrne1980

we used to have da smaller tank and be tricking away bringin out the odd tankful when the contractor was working away. the ould lad told us to f**k off out of the yard as we were gettin in the way of da man paid to do the job. 60 an hour for the 2500 trailing shoe tank sounds decent enogh to me.

At that time of year yes next n would of went out about 3.5 weeks later

So lets say capturing 20 units of n was the biggest benefit .. You know the ratio shoe v plate per hour so did the saving cover cost of getting x slurry moved.

Yes easily and more,my time also needs to be taken I to account what he'd do in 9 hours could take me 3 days beteween stopping/starting for milking,calves etc.

Ahh yeah thats a given . Is the saving in bag n covering the more expensive spreading was my question. U reckon so plus you've got out slurry in good conditions , on paddocks that wouldnt get it that time of year . Saved labour and cost of spreading N also in fairness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

One advantage I saw was that when we ran out of silage ground we carried on grazing ground and were able to empty the tanks with the trailing shoe whereas you couldnt use splashplate on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

I'd say the only difference in output between shoe and plate comes from tank size, equally sized the shoe and plate would be even enough for output, the shoe will be working a narrower width but will probably be travelling at a higher speed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I just said I'd post on this thread. I'm doing a bit of hire work such as mowing topping baling raking and wrapping and hedge cutting aswell. I'm wondering what is the average charge for these jobs around the country. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

local young fella with 2700 tanker was charging 22 sterling an hour. cheap as you will get , not sure if he is still charging that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭visatorro

local young fella with 2700 tanker was charging 22 sterling an hour. cheap as you will get , not sure if he is still charging that

what's that in euro? I'm paying 30/hr for 2500 tanker.
    130/hr pipes with dribble bar. that includes reeling in and out of the pipes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

at the minute , 27 euro ish. he told me himself thought that after diesel and tyres etc he was drawing 4 pound sterling (5 euro) for a wage , and to top it all off, the tractor broke down and had to pay a mechanic 70/hour sterling to fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

at the minute , 27 euro ish. he told me himself thought that after diesel and tyres etc he was drawing 4 pound sterling (5 euro) for a wage , and to top it all off, the tractor broke down and had to pay a mechanic 70/hour sterling to fix.

Working for nothing.
    There was a thread (not sure if it was on here or farming forum where a man was pricing a new 2500-3000 gallon tank. In the end it was nearly cheaper to get someone else in to spread the slurry by the time the tank had paid for itself, especially if they are only 27 euro an hour.