Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wrote off my lovely car on saturday - what do I do now?

• 15-12-2014 9:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23

Went into a ditch on saturday - probably ice on the road - and wrecked my 01 Yaris. I was insured for breakdown assist (Nononsense) but I only had third party fire and theft so should I claim the €100 for towing the car or is it worth losing my no-claims? My brother-in-law tells me not to tell nonosense that I wrecked the car as my premiums will go up but surely I'll have to - I have 3 months left to run on my current deal. Can anyone help please .. ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

Robzer wrote: »
    Went into a ditch on saturday - probably ice on the road - and wrecked my 01 Yaris. I was insured for breakdown assist (Nononsense) but I only had third party fire and theft so should I claim the €100 for towing the car or is it worth losing my no-claims? My brother-in-law tells me not to tell nonosense that I wrecked the car as my premiums will go up but surely I'll have to - I have 3 months left to run on my current deal. Can anyone help please .. ?

Did you use the insurers approved breakdown service? That's the only way it is covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

A 2001 Yaris? You did the world a favor. Probably ice? Or acting the maggot?

Even if you did claim for the tow, you still pay the excess, which will be at least €150 anyway. So, you foot the bill. You're supposed to inform your insurance company of any accidents. Obviously, that's up to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

goz83 wrote: »

Even if you did claim for the tow, you still pay the excess, which will be at least €150 anyway. So, you foot the bill. You're supposed to inform your insurance company of any accidents. Obviously, that's up to you.

you are not obligied to tell your insurance company of accidents....
    your are required to tell them of claims....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

A 2001 Yaris? You did the world a favor.

I don't know if this just went over my head but the yaris is one of the best hatchbacks around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Say nothing about accident. Just buy another car, change policy onto it and try not to crash it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

I don't know if this just went over my head but the yaris is one of the best hatchbacks around.

Especially that model. Great car, great engine. 1.0L is as dead as a door nail but the engine will go forever. T-Sport is great craic altogether.

The 2001, 1.0L petrol is trading for about €2k at the moment. Depending on what age you are, I'd probably sell it for scrap (If it is truly written off) and take the money and run. The rise in premium and the claim history may be fairly unfavourable at that value.

ironclaw wrote: »
    The rise in premium and the claim history may be fairly unfavourable at that value.

OP only has third party fire and theft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

OP only has third party fire and theft

Still going to have a claim against your name for future insurance negotiations. So yeah, in that case, I'd chalk it up to experience and move on. Not worth it for €100 in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

A 2001 Yaris? You did the world a favor. Probably ice? Or acting the maggot.

The OP crashed their car and that's all you have to bring to the table ? You know that old saying about having nothing good to say ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

TPFT? you can't claim for anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

That's way out out of line! It doesn't matter what they were driving, the OP asked a simple question not to be given sly digs.

I'm noticing a trend of nasty, begrudgeful almost hatred comments creeping up around here lately, and I'm not liking it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

That's way out out of line! It doesn't matter what they were driving, the OP asked a simple question not to be given sly digs.

I'm noticing a trend of nasty, begrudgeful almost hatred comments creeping up around here lately, and I'm not liking it.

+1 sense of community is draining away

Still going to have a claim against your name for future insurance negotiations. So yeah, in that case, I'd chalk it up to experience and move on. Not worth it for €100 in my opinion.

What claim? And if he didn't use the insurer's approved breakdown service there and then, he cannot recover it now.

Use of breakdown assistance does not count as a claim or affect your NCB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭free_man

Good to see that the OP survived without scratch.

Get another car and transfer the policy to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Read your policy documents to find out what you have to do.

The liberty insurance document for example states;
    You must report any accident, injury, loss or damage involving the vehicle or any other motor vehicle which is insured under this policy to us immediately (or by the next working day). We will then send you an accident report form which you must fill in and return as soon as possible.
    Which is pretty clear.

You won't make a claim, so you'll keep your NCB, and if your current insurer bumps up your renewal premium, you can switch to someone else who will likely only ask if you have any claims.

On the bright side, you should be able to get a small wedge of cash selling your wrecked car to a breakers yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

A 2001 Yaris? You did the world a favor...

Not cool, squire - not cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭sogood

Too true, but to say that you're noticing a trend suggests that you haven't been around too long. This sort of begrudgery and small mindedness has been around for ages and unfortunately, it's growing daily.
    Hardly a single thread escapes the attention of some smart alec who, rather than adding something useful or constructive, can only show their ignorance or lack of ability to be helpful.

I belong to two other specific forums, Boating and Motoring related, and the general sense of camraderie, not to mention real genuine helpfulness is heartwarming. I'm quickly losing the will to even log on here, but I persevere in the hope that even one good post can outweigh all the other timewasters.

Sorry for your trouble OP and I hope you get it sorted.

• Site Banned Posts: 22 Heavy Pierre

jimgoose wrote: »
    Not cool, squire - not cool.

Neither is the term squire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

It's a fair point actually. Although he responded with an insult it's not very fair to then respond to him insultingly by calling him Squire.

?Cee?view wrote: »
    It's a fair point actually. Although he responded with an insult it's not very fair to then respond to him insultingly by calling him Squire.

"Squire" was conceivably a disparaging term in the Middle Ages. More recently it means a respected village leader, prominent person, a worthy, a gentleman (or lady, it's gender-neutral as well), Justice of the Peace, or even someone like a TD. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Get off your high horse. The only one acting the maggot now is you with a ridiculous post like that.
    As Noccy said, Motors has suddenly started becoming like the second AH.
    Hard luck OP, but you weren't hurt which was the important thing and metal can be replaced.
    Don't mention it to the insurance company and they will fleece you on renewal. Get another 1.0 car and change the policy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

If there was no one else involved that can put a claim in against you then say nothing. The insureres will only use it against you and you will gain nothing out of it. Dig it outta the Ditch.Down to breakers with your log book. Take your insurance cert and the money and run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

"Squire" was conceivably a disparaging term in the Middle Ages. More recently it means a respected village leader, prominent person, a worthy, a gentleman (or lady, it's gender-neutral as well), Justice of the Peace, or even someone like a TD. :D

It must be that I'm a bit closer to middle age (than middle ages) :D

In an Irish context I always see it as insulting. Squire in Ireland was generally the lackey or Agent of the bigger landlord, and the term Squireen developed.

It's gender neutral in the US (which seems kind of daft - a bit call calling women Mister!), where it's applied to lawyers for some bizarre reason. I've often got correspondence from there addressed in this way which always gives me a grin.

Anyway, agreed, nothing wrong with the Yaris if that's what the OP loved. Each to their own. He/She would probably hate my yoke and I wouldn't exactly love the Yaris.

OP - back on topic (at last). Are you sure you're not hurt? Have you had yourself checked over? If you ended up in a ditch it may have been quite a violent crash and it could take days for some injuries to manifest themselves. Be careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭woody33

I'm sorry you lost your lovely car, wouldn't mind on of those myself. It's great you seem to be ok, and if the Yaris is really totalled, you might be able to get some tax back and money from the breakers. The best of luck with the new car.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

How would he? Unless the ditch claims for damages and repairs, I don't see who or what could possibly claim against OP.
    Running to the insurance company now and shouting "I crashed my car!" would be the dumbest thing he could do.
    OP, buy a new car, go to insurance company and tell them you had to get rid of the old one, the ashtrays where full.
    If you paid to have it towed, forget it, that money is gone.
    The way it works, you ring the insurance company or the towing company that are signed up to them, it doesn't affect your premium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

robtri wrote: »

I'm not 100% sure on that.

AFAIK they ask any claims or losses. So technically you need to say yes, but if roles were reversed I'd say ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Hachiko

if you wrote off a car worth that little, with no one else involved, just tell no one. buy another car and tell insurance you want to transfer insurance.

you can just leave the insurance run, even if you have no car in the time between crashing the yaris and getting a new one.

insurance companies will rip you off in the long run if you tell them, either buy dropping your no claims years or rising your premium.

there is no effect on his no claim bonus because there is no claim. techniocally you should tell them I guess, but I wouldn't bother...they wont be interested anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

robtri wrote: »

The poster below got there before me.
    seamus wrote: »
    Read your policy documents to find out what you have to do.

The liberty insurance document for example states;

Which is pretty clear.

You won't make a claim, so you'll keep your NCB, and if your current insurer bumps up your renewal premium, you can switch to someone else who will likely only ask if you have any claims.

On the bright side, you should be able to get a small wedge of cash selling your wrecked car to a breakers yard.

Not my favourite car, but then, I was just joking anyway. The OP said that he probably slipped on ice. It was a jibe to suggest he was going too fast.
    tossy wrote: »
    The OP crashed their car and that's all you have to bring to the table ? You know that old saying about having nothing good to say ?

I see a trend here....the wagon brigade

All aboard. ;)
    bear1 wrote: »
    Get off your high horse. The only one acting the maggot now is you with a ridiculous post like that.
    As Noccy said, Motors has suddenly started becoming like the second AH.
    Hard luck OP, but you weren't hurt which was the important thing and metal can be replaced.
    Don't mention it to the insurance company and they will fleece you on renewal. Get another 1.0 car and change the policy.

I fail to see anything high horse alike with my comment. Here is some though. It is wrong to encourage the OP to not abide by the terms of his motor insurance policy. :p
    Hachiko wrote: »
    if you wrote off a car worth that little, with no one else involved, just tell no one. buy another car and tell insurance you want to transfer insurance.

you can just leave the insurance run, even if you have no car in the time between crashing the yaris and getting a new one.

insurance companies will rip you off in the long run if you tell them, either buy dropping your no claims years or rising your premium.

The OP can't lose his ncb unless there is a claim being made, or unless he fails to have a private motor insurance policy in his name for more than two consecutive years. I fail to see how they would be raising his premium when no claim is being made, although it would not surprise me.

Its not adviseable to lie to the insurer either. Sure, you might save a few euro at renewal, but if the truth is found out, it can get very expensive if a claim is made.

It can get expensive even if a claim isn't made. If the insurer find out the car was totalled, they can cancel your insurance policy, which you would then have to declare to any other insurer, who will apply a loading to your premium for having a previously cancelled policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

sell it to a breaker, make sure you get the "end of life" paperwork. Then transfer insurance to your next car. How Will insurance find out? Why should they care?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    ........ Why should they care?

Simple, the insurance company develops a profile on you to assess future risk. If they get wind of it, you are instantly a higher risk.

mullingar wrote: »
    Simple, the insurance company develops a profile on you to assess future risk. If they get wind of it, you are instantly a higher risk.
    Fair enough. But if I skid in a patch of ice, and slide into a ditch and cause more damage to the car, than it is economic to repair, does that make me a higher risk customer?
    Whether I scrap my 13 year old car due to damage from a skid, or because the engine is gone, is irrelevant.
    Remember your Insurance company will hit you with a rate hike sooner or later anyway. Loyalty means nothing, except perhaps as an indicator that the customer is reluctant to move company, and therefore is ripe for a rate hike.
    Why give them more ammunition?

How Will insurance find out? Why should they care?
    NVDF. When the car is scrapped or written off, this is recorded against the vehicle in the database, which is accessible to insurers.

I'm not sure if there's any process of notifying insurers that one of their insured vehicles has been scrapped, or if perhaps their own systems check this every now and again.

But either way the data is there and the insurer can theoretically find out.

They would care of course because if they're continuing to provide third party insurance on a vehicle marked as ELV, then that's not a good thing if someone crashes it.
    Fair enough. But if I skid in a patch of ice, and slide into a ditch and cause more damage to the car, than it is economic to repair, does that make me a higher risk customer?
    Statistically yes. Someone who has had an accident in the last five years is statistically more likely to be involved in an accident than someone who hasn't.

seamus wrote: »
    NVDF.
    They would care of course because if they're continuing to provide third party insurance on a vehicle marked as ELV, then that's not a good thing if someone crashes it.

Statistically yes. Someone who has had an accident in the last five years is statistically more likely to be involved in an accident than someone who hasn't.

But Seamus, if the car is written off, and sold to a breaker, then only someone intent on fraud would try and insure another vehicle on the scrapped cars number-plate?
    I don't believe this applies to the OP.

But Seamus, if the car is written off, and sold to a breaker, then only someone intent on fraud would try and insure another vehicle on the scrapped cars number-plate?
    I don't believe this applies to the OP.
    No, it doesn't apply to the OP.

But if I was an insurer, I would want to know if one of the vehicles which I insure has been registered as written off or scrapped.

Even taking the OP's example, let's imagine he decides to scrap the car and just let the insurance lapse (he can't get a refund now anyway). But through a series of iffy deals, the car ends up back on the road unbeknownst to the OP, even though it's been properly registered as scrapped.

If that car is involved in an accident, the insurer could potentially be on the hook for damages.

Agreed, this is why the OP should not deal with any Breaker who will not issue a certificate of "end of life"
    The stickers you see on the back of road signs, declaring "we buy cars for cash" are unlikely to be compliant in this regard!

There's no problem not reporting it to the Insurance Company, lots of bumps dents and scratches happen all the time and are not reported to the Ins Co.

Just have the mindset "I am going to get it mended, but in the meantime, I'm buying another car to use"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

corktina wrote: »
    There's no problem not reporting it to the Insurance Company, lots of bumps dents and scratches happen all the time and are not reported to the Ins Co.

Just have the mindset "I am going to get it mended, but in the meantime, I'm buying another car to use"
    Exactly.

When does a car become a non-car, or an ex-car? No qualified person has signed it off as being economically or physically written off. It has not been scrapped. It could theoretically still be stolen, damaged further, or go on fire - so I don't see a problem with it being left on the policy until it is scrapped and replaced

I drove my last 3 cars to the scrapper. Just uneconomical to repair/ NCT bangernomics and they were attracting attention from the wrong sorts. I didn't tell my insurer that I (shock! horror!) scrapped them - I just scrapped them and moved on to the next car.

If you scrapped a car because a con-rod exited the block and there were a few other big jobs to do on it - would you tell your insurer? Would they have some magical way of telling why you scrapped it even if they had employed north korean hackers to infiltrate the scrapyards computers?

Unless there is a claim against the OP for damage to the ditch then there's no big deal here as far as I can see. This thread was wrapped up by post 7 "Say nothing about accident. Just buy another car, change policy onto it and try not to crash it."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Agreed, this is why the OP should not deal with any Breaker who will not issue a certificate of "end of life"
    The stickers you see on the back of road signs, declaring "we buy cars for cash" are unlikely to be compliant in this regard!

I'm sure a friendly breakers will have no problem issuing an end of life cert rather than a totaled in a crash cert. And even if not, there still is no problem. There is a certain poster here who seems to think that the insurance company will go digging through paperwork and maybe hiring Inspector Columbo to question witnesses and do a forensic examination of the crash site.
    Bollocks.
    The way this works, ring insurance company, "here's my new car details", don't even mention what happened to the old car and they will say "OK Mr Whatsisface, that's transferred now, anything else I can do for you?"
    End. Of.
    Anything else is just taking a shotgun and aiming it at your own foot. Less the bastards know...