Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Open claim-2y still dragging.

• 15-12-2014 1:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭

So here it goes,over 2y ago i had car crash as a named driver,lost control on slippery road leaving roundabout and smashed into wall damaging cars bumper-cost 100e,but second later i get hit by incoming car destroying it completely 4 grand down the drain-third party insurance.

My wrong at this was loosing control and ending on opposite site of the road.

Anyway person who hit me was old lady 70-80y old,basically she was really shocked afterwards,called guards,ambulance-she was taken away,released the next day.gardai took all the details,and said would contact me,never heard from them since then 2y+,even went into station to speak with guard that was on the scene and dealing with it,just to get told he wasnt there and he would contact me :?,insurance paid out her in full for the car.while i was left hanging dry.

Anyway at the scene once she calmed down and her kids came over,i heard she was trough chemo recently,but once we talked she seemed nice and all was ok,next two days i rang her up and just discussed all situation that happened but she was communicating and concerned about myself.

next thing third day i basically got told to get lost,no more communication from her.and week later i get letter shes claiming medical injuries and got a lawyer.

i left it at that thinking it will blow off,but this keept up and amount is in 4 digits on the high side that she wants-now at the time of accident while i was there i spoke with her daughter which said she had many accidents and wasn't new to it.So my conclusion was kids figured out to milk the insurance,given her old age and illness that come with it,pretty easy.

I mentioned this to my insurance but they discarded it,now in last few weeks after 2y,medical board finally went trough with her,and my insurance offered her payout,but she refused it -dont know amount she was offered,clearly not enough.

So basically i told my insurance that i might seek lawyer myself,and the one on the phone goes well she has medical illnesses,and i told of course she does given her age.

Now i got to terms and accepted all responsibility and troubles not being able to drive for 2y because of the accident and cancelling insurance once renewal came it since it went up 6 times on a main driver,leaving family member stranded to drive as a named driver for all this time.

Now issues i have,the person could of easily been medicated when she drove,also given nature of failing for medical issues out of thin air makes me angry,not to mention accident happened 20feet away from tight enough roundabout and she was doing close to 50km/h,since her front got battered completely with all bags deploying out,from hitting me on middle side of the car.my main damage was only cracked bumper beforehand,it got nearly bent in half.Still have all the pictures.

So if i was to seek legal help is there anything i could achieve,since id rather see the person not getting a single penny,out of this.Also guards didnt pursue the issue,so its insurance vs her lawyer now,and when i asked how long can i expect it to drag more they said no idea,so presume couple years more if it doesn't come to terms.

So from legal perspective im in the wrong,and given persons age they can make up as much as needed illnesses to get payout.

Wonder would any lawyer would look up such case ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

See a solicitor and ensure that your insurance company has been notified.

You are asking about an accident that happened more than two years ago. You need to ask about the Statute of Limitations.

You need to get advice as soon as possible, but not on this forum.

Thread closed.