Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farm Office

• 14-12-2014 12:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭

After the last year with the farm office in a steel container down the yard, i am moving it back into the house, so no better time for some improvements.

how do you manage the office, filing, cards, maps, do do lists, accounts etc from the simple things that make life easier to the more complex.
    i dont like clutter, but, im not very good at uncluttering!!!!!

the area for the new office is 10*18 ft will have two desks, one farm and the other smaller one for house and family (bills, school related, wife work etc)
    will more than likely have two computers as well, house/farm(children dont touch)

edit pic of systems, ideas welcome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

two desks and two computers arent you a fancy farmer:D. ive a biro and the kitchen table and a filing cabinet, works grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

I just put all receipts into a cardboard wallet, paperwork like cards, maps etc are all in a big plastic box with the taggers and tags sitting on top and my computer is exclusively mine only after everybody else is gone to bed. Like Miname my office is the kitchen table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

Miname wrote: »
    two desks and two computers arent you a fancy farmer:D. ive a biro and the kitchen table and a filing cabinet, works grand.

unfortunately that's what it has become, its a business with a line between farm and personal.
    even the pen and scraps of paper is being replaced with the smartphone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Lap top and printer as well as radio in my office. I use clip boards for to do lists. I don't use filing cabinet
    Large ring binder folders for Area aid, movements, prescriptions, safety statement etc. All on shelves for easy access. Still use diary.

Cow treats etc on smart phones but all info not being transferred. We now use clip boards with preprinted A4 pages. One in parlour, calf shed and calving shed to record all meds lame and mastitis. Brought to office each Friday for input and paper filed.

All calving are recorded in a day book at calving shed. We have a little ante room with tags, sink, hot water and all required bits

Large accordion folder with appropriate named folders for invoice and receipt storage. 3 yrs records held in office, then stored away in those large sealed plastic boxes from Viking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Was there not woeful condensation in the steel container OP? Can't imagine would be great for any electronic gadgetry. Also paper ripples when it gets damp and will clog printers, photocopiers etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭einn32

I have a filing system going with ring binders. A year planner too. Trays for various things like one that says to be paid etc. I do everything per quarter as far as accounts go. I record meds on note pad. Map of the farm too. I also have reference material on my wall. Everything is on computer or smart phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Dar I picked up two 2nd hand filling cabinets from a warehouse in Rathnew last week, 2 for 100 +vat, they have loads of other office furniture also. They are the start of a proper office for us now, at the min paperwork spread across me my dad and mum, and it's an utter disaster. I'm just using the corner of the sitting room for now, have a desk there also. Seriously considering getting a tablet for out in the parlour, for checking up cows/entering data while milking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Timmaay wrote: »
    Dar I picked up two 2nd hand filling cabinets from a warehouse in Rathnew last week, 2 for 100 +vat, they have loads of other office furniture also. They are the start of a proper office for us now, at the min paperwork spread across me my dad and mum, and it's an utter disaster. I'm just using the corner of the sitting room for now, have a desk there also. Seriously considering getting a tablet for out in the parlour, for checking up cows/entering data while milking.

Maybe build an office when doing parlour Tim?

are you not using IFC program, it great having all the herd info on the phone, and you are able to enter info as well. one of the lads has set me up on One Note, Microsoft filing/organizing program, looks promising but would take some time to get up and going,

muckit.. it a insulated steel container, it was used for storing files for the HSE before i got it,

frazz.. how do you stop the paper on clip boards from getting damp and grubby, and what sort of lay out are sheets

was going to get a few magnetic white board for various bits.

one of the lads i worked for in NZ had a white board on the wall with his goals and targets wrote on it split short, med and long term, in the corner there might be some thing scribbled like go see a rugby match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Note to watching haveing a business office in your house
    If you ever had a revenue audit the revenue can check your office and are entitled to go through other rooms in your house where u may genuinely have cash or cash receipts , bills etc that u may have hidden to save yourself a few pound which could land you in hot water.
    If your office is a portacabin etc in a shed they can only check that farm office there and then an can't go into your house. Now maybe they could get a warrant etc to check your house but you should have time to hide evidence that May trouble you.

Jb1989 wrote: »
    If you ever had a revenue audit the revenue can check your office and are entitled to go through other rooms in your house where u may genuinely have cash or cash receipts , bills etc that u may have hidden to save yourself a few pound which could land you in hot water.
    If your office is a portacabin etc in a shed they can only check that farm office there and then an can't go into your house. Now maybe they could get a warrant etc to check your house but you should have time to hide evidence that May trouble you.

all above board here, so would nt be concerned, although the container on a cold winters day would shorten any visit

dar31 wrote: »
    all above board here, so would nt be concerned, although the container on a cold winters day would shorten any visit

Yes I'd imagine you are,
    Me too,
    Just Something small that you'd hidden could open a can of worms and then the revenue would accuse you of doing that all the time and it may be a genuine mistake, but they wouldn't see that.
    Just a note for others to know this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Pocket, wallet, coffee table, under coffee table, various drawers, glove box, bags, boxes................

I'm always sorting it next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

you have to invite them into your private dwelling unless they have a search warrant

If your office is a portacabin etc in a shed they can only check that farm office there and then an can't go into your house. Now maybe they could get a warrant etc to check your house but you should have time to hide evidence that May trouble you.[/QUOT

you have to invite them into your private dwelling unless they have a search warrant

Your a man in the know anyway.
    What if you don't invite them in,
    Do they go get a warrant if u don't invite them in?
    Does it take long enough for you to move evidence in your house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,486 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Your a man in the know anyway.
    What if you don't invite them in,
    Do they go get a warrant if u don't invite them in?
    Does it take long enough for you to move evidence in your house?
    i thought most audits take place in accountants office?

Heard of a farmer getting caught with green diesel, said he couldnt pay the fine and when he got his sfp it had been taken out of it, aparently now if you are caught with green your automaticay audited as well. All second hand info so dont know any of the ins and outs of it.

Miname wrote: »
    Heard of a farmer getting caught with green diesel, said he couldnt pay the fine and when he got his sfp it had been taken out of it, aparently now if you are caught with green your automaticay audited as well. All second hand info so dont know any of the ins and outs of it.
    i had a an audit a couple of years ago and it was held in accountants office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Had one 10/15yrs back, was in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

dar31 wrote: »

Hmm.. good idea.

And maybe get a refrigerated one in case the weather doesn't oblige.

Had one 10/15yrs back, was in the house.
    ye my dad had one around 15 years ago in the house too but i think that has changed

whelan2 wrote: »
    ye my dad had one around 15 years ago in the house too but i think that has changed
    its different situations sole traders that do there own taxes often work out of their own house, most businesses have an official office. id say once they get in the door its hard arguing with them. they arent there to see if they owe you money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Is there anything or reason that can trigger an audit or is it the (bad) luck of the draw

normally a reason, they give you a months notice of the audit-but dont tell you why you are having an audit:mad: At the start of the audit you get a chance to disclose anything that you think might have caused the audit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Late submission of your books will require an audit the following year, not a revenue audit though

ganmo wrote: »
    Late submission of your books will require an audit the following year, not a revenue audit though
    was talking to a lad last week, he said he is in trouble with tax man for not doing tax returns for 2009,2010,2011,2012:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

was talking to a lad last week, he said he is in trouble with tax man for not doing tax returns for 2009,2010,2011,2012:eek:

Deep doo doo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Desk audit is OK.
    Full audit you will need lube...

My accountant told me late returns help draw them in. Massive fluctuations up and down in accounts is another one and basically they are told every year to press down on certain categories. Building is due a good rattle soon with the lift in work starting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I reckon its mostly luck of the draw but I'm sure there are things that flag up on their system also .
    I dont get too worried about getting audits , I pay the accountant every year to make sure everything is right so there shouldn't be problems if I get one .
    I'm going more like my father every year and keeping things to the book !

we get 3 or 4 of them every year

doing a 2008 to 2013 at present

ganmo wrote: »

your mixed up on CRO audit exemption

Dawggone wrote: »
    Desk audit is OK.
    Full audit you will need lube...

Desk audit sometimes meets full audit straight after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Will insurance cover all costs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Is that 3 or 4 farmers that get audited or anyone on ur books? My accountant told me he has nearly 500 clients, as had only audits in 25 yrs

td5man wrote: »
    Will insurance cover all costs?
    insurance will only cover accountants fees less the vat

Is that 3 or 4 farmers that get audited or anyone on ur books? My accountant told me he has nearly 500 clients, as had only audits in 25 yrs

no 3 or 4 every year that have 4 or 5 years of accounts to be done

have 1 audit at present and client was in audit when he switched to us.

That's the 1st one in 6 years thank god