Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help! Destruction of Habitat 150 Years Old

• 14-12-2014 12:33am
    Registered Users Posts: 16

Hello everyone on After Hours,

This is an emergency situation regarding a wildlife habitat of 150 years being cleared by an individual for his own private use.

The habitat, situated in a village in east Galway, is comprised of approximately 10 acres of land and is unique in that has been growing wild for more than 150 years. We are not sure if it is owned by anyone or if it is common land.

Primarily it has been, and still is, a fox cover but it is a rich and complex wildlife habitat. It has many species of trees, including ash, hawthorn, blackthorn, oak, sally, holly, and sycamore. It is home to a variety of animals including red squirrels, bats, badgers, foxes, hedgehogs, and stoats. The habitat is teeming with many species of wild birds.

About two weeks ago, a local farmer moved into the habitat with a JCB and began razing everything to the ground, destroying trees, vegetation, and the homes of all these animals and birds. He has already cleared away about two acres and had drawn about 10 loads of timber derived from the trees alone. It would appear that this individual's plan is to clear the whole habitat and make it into his own private grazing land.

The question is whether or not this is legal. As far as we are aware this unique habitat has never been designated a protected site. Neighbours are extremely upset at what is happening. Our greatest concern is about the wanton destruction of a habitat that is 150 years old.

What can be done? Do you have any suggestions? Could readers on this site help us please? Could you please copy this message and post it to any relevant sites you know. We need your help urgently.

Thank you.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,074 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

This is an emergency situation regarding a wildlife habitat of 150 years being cleared by an individual for his own private use.

The habitat, situated in a village in east Galway, is comprised of approximately 10 acres of land and is unique in that has been growing wild for more than 150 years. We are not sure if it is owned by anyone or if it is common land.

Primarily it has been, and still is, a fox cover but it is a rich and complex wildlife habitat. It has many species of trees, including ash, hawthorn, blackthorn, oak, sally, holly, and sycamore. It is home to a variety of animals including red squirrels, bats, badgers, foxes, hedgehogs, and stoats. The habitat is teeming with many species of wild birds.

About two weeks ago, a local farmer moved into the habitat with a JCB and began razing everything to the ground, destroying trees, vegetation, and the homes of all these animals and birds. He has already cleared away about two acres and had drawn about 10 loads of timber derived from the trees alone. It would appear that this individual's plan is to clear the whole habitat and make it into his own private grazing land.

The question is whether or not this is legal. As far as we are aware this unique habitat has never been designated a protected site. Neighbours are extremely upset at what is happening. Our greatest concern is about the wanton destruction of a habitat that is 150 years old.

What can be done? Do you have any suggestions? Could readers on this site help us please? Could you please copy this message and post it to any relevant sites you know. We need your help urgently.

Thank you.

Is there anything to be said for another mass?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

Maybe write a letter to Santa?

• Registered Users Posts: 16 deus ex machina 7

MarkR, another mass? Hello?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Sounds like that movie Over the hedge

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭qt3.14

Needs permission to cut down trees older than ten years, even if it is his land. Talk to local council about that. Contact local ecology college dept to see if there are any rates in the area y that the habitat may hold etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

If he takes a fairy fort off of it. He will be done. Well thats according to my Grandparents.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 13,450 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Did you hear about that magic tractor? Went up the road and turned into a field

• Registered Users Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

Thank you.

Contact NPWS and the county council. If it was designated a protected site it is highly unlikely that his leveling of the field for pasture or sheds is legal.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,099 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

He might have watched Field of Dreams and just wants to build a hurling field to meet his dead grandad.

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Digital Society

Who owns the land? I would have thought that was an important point.

If its his own land its none of your business.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

You could contact the National Parks and Wildlife Service, Department of Environment, Heritage and Local Government.

Digital, we do not know who owns the land. If he owns the land, surely there are laws in place to protect habitats such as bats and red squirrels. This is the point.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

Digital, we do not know who owns the land. If he owns the land, surely there are laws in place to protect habitats such as bats and red squirrels. This is the point.

There is legislation. Farmer just doesn't give a ****e.

Does it lie in one of these national or european protected areas? http://webgis.npws.ie/npwsviewer/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

Thank you.

Of all the threads on all topics on boards . . . you chose After Hours.

Question. Are you looking for a serious response, cos I didnt pick up on the sarcasm in the post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Jaysus...theres a blast from the past!!!
    Anyone remember Deus ex Machina???
    The original fella?
    He was a right mad fecker :eek::D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭greedygoblin

As others have suggested, find out if he owns the land.

Maybe something like this may be of use.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,176 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Napalm in the morning, bah!!

BrianBoru, I think (well, I hope) there are many posters on After Hours who are sincere. Yes, this is a serious post and there have been many excellent suggestions so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Leave down some poisoned flasks of tae and ham sandwiches for the workmen.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

You should go in there and burn it all. That would teach him not to **** with the land.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,761 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Your time would be better spent contacting Galway County Council (Biodiversity & Natural Heritage).

Address Áras an Chontae, Prospect Hill, Galway
    Telephone +353 (0)91 509000
    Fax +353 (0)91 509010
    eMail customerservices@galwaycoco.ie
    Online https://gccapps.galwaycoco.ie/Comments/
    Twitter https://twitter.com/GalwayCoCo/
    Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Galwaycounty
    Opening times 09:00 - 16:00 Monday to Friday

They will know who owns the land & they should also know if the area is protected in terms of biodiversity, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭JonEBGud

Green Acres. . . .

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Posting thread in nature forum -good idea
    Posting in after hours- your kiddin...right?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭braddun

report them,but don't put knife in sidewall of each tire

http://www.noticenature.ie/construction.html

• Registered Users Posts: 540 ✭✭✭fonda

Sounds pretty unique alright.....cant think of anywhere like that in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭FURET

Thank you.

Many of the animals mentioned are protected species under the wildlife act. I suggest you post this thread in the wildlife forum to avoid the moronic comments that prevail in AH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Put up a cross.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

BrianBoru, I think (well, I hope) there are many posters on After Hours who are sincere. Yes, this is a serious post and there have been many excellent suggestions so far.

If serious then why reply only to the comments in the After Hours version of your thread and ignoire the truely sincere and accurate replies you got on the Nature forum?????

• Registered Users Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Who owns the land? I would have thought that was an important point.

If its his own land its none of your business.

grand Im just going to head out and burn down everything I own - hopefully no busy body will try and stop me.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,074 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

MarkR, another mass? Hello?

Is it me you're looking for?

If I've learned anything from daytime cartoons, If I were you I'd looking for a local competition of some sort. There will invariably be one running whose grand prize is exactly equal to the amount required to buy the field from the mean old farmer / bank / caretaker Willie.

Wait, are you telling me you haven't even had the one mass?

My lack of sincerity was possibly due in part to me being at a work function, partly AH isn't the right place for his. And partly because it was funny. :D