Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

helping a woman from assault

• 07-12-2014 12:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭

Ok I'll keep this short and sweet as possible

I was out walking my dogs the other night in the park when I came across a man and woman fighting. It was late and very dark. She was screaming for help and he was grabbing her.

Anyway the part wasn't empty and people just kept on going. I decided to intervene... It could have been a big mistake. I walked over and said let her go, she darted off and he got aggressive. Long story short I gave him a box and that was the end of that. On my track home I was stopped by the gardai for a reported assault I caused. They just took my details, not charged or anything but can I be charged? Just because I defended a woman and myself and he came out worse off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I would imagine it depends on how he got aggressive. Did he try to grab you or anything like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Joshua5

I would imagine it depends on how he got aggressive. Did he try to grab you or anything like that?

it was dark and he was yelling at me he'd bate me... Looked like he was reaching into his pocket so I gave him a dig

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Offhand, would not self-defence be a reasonable defence here based on the description of the circumstance. The OP could have feared for the woman's or his own safety in that the man could have inflicted harm on either. One issue could be the amount of force used, and a single "box" could be reckoned not unreasonable if the OP believed it to be so(offhand as per Williams(?)).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

Well done, OP. Most people wouldn't stop.

Though saying that, I don't blame most people and I wouldn't have stopped (or more likely allowed my husband to stop).

As I understand police are most likely to be injured in a domestic dispute. In many cases the woman will actually turn on the person defending her, as he stands up to her bully of a husband/boyfriend.

I hope the Gardai don't charge you with anything.

Well done, OP. Most people wouldn't stop.

Though saying that, I don't blame most people and I wouldn't have stopped (or more likely allowed my husband to stop).

As I understand police are most likely to be injured in a domestic dispute. In many cases the woman will actually turn on the person defending her, as he stands up to her bully of a husband/boyfriend.

I hope the Gardai don't charge you with anything.

I always thought I wouldn't get involved but in the moment it just happened. I did try to help the chap up but he was still muttering profanities

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

OP you may need to see a solicitor just hold off until any other contact is made by the guards, I'd probably seek legal advice before making any statement.

Fair play to you for stepping in.

I'd be lying if I said I wasn't regretting it now.. You help someone out and now I have this hanging over my head....