Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HELP!! Oil in speaker of phone!

• 06-12-2014 11:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭

I bought the girlfriend an OPPO find 7 a few months back and it is AMAZING! We went out for a meal tonite and the waitress spilled a thing of oil from the bread board on it!!
    I was instantly worried about it but herself dried it off and thought it would be grand. We left the restaurant and she had to make a call but couldn't hear a thing! So obviously I was right and it has seeped right into the speaker ! Majorly annoyed !!

So firstly has anyone else experienced something like this?

Where can I find out about repairing it? Do I send it back to OPPO?

Who is liable?? We just went back to the restaurant and after a while they said to go find out about the repair cost and whatnot and they are not saying they will replace it or repair it but we should find out and go back to them and take it from there. They also said they "looked it up" and it's not clear as to who is at fault - them or us - which I am adamant it's them!!

Are there any methods i should try to fix it myself? She wants to put it in rice so I let her rattle away even though i told her that's only for WATER not OIL !!

cheers for any help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Price up the part from tmart or somewhere, you might find it's only a fiver or something plus fitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭george67

Use a hoover and suck the oil out , it works for water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭corsav6

Does loudspeaker work? Are there any other problems with the phone?
    Oil can slowly make its way to other parts of the phone so best bet is get it sorted asap to minamise further damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭mcg1987

corsav6 wrote: »
    Does loudspeaker work? Are there any other problems with the phone?
    Oil can slowly make its way to other parts of the phone so best bet is get it sorted asap to minamise further damage.

Only works on loudspeaker. No the phone was absolutely perfect beforehand. kinda snookered ere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

I'd replace the earpiece and hope for the best. Re liability, to be fair it shouldn't really be out on the table in a restaurant. Hopefully it will be a cheap fix anyway.

I'm hoping it will be a cheap fix too. I don't like complaining to somewhere about getting it fixed but at the end of the day if it is ****ed then I cannot see how its our responsibility to get it fixed. the girl was trying to lift too much and even came back and told us how easy it is for them wee oil pots to fall off and she'd warned another girl who just started last nite about it and it happened to her then in the end!

anyone ever sent anything back to oppo? how would I contact them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Only way the restaurant will help out is if they decide to re: courtesy. They can just say it shouldn't be on the table during the meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

anncoates wrote: »
    Only way the restaurant will help out is if they decide to re: courtesy. They can just say it shouldn't be on the table during the meal.

If they'd ditched the oil on my clothes, or on my wife's handbag, rather than my phone, they'd be getting a cleaning bill. This is no different.

corwill wrote: »
    If they'd ditched the oil on my clothes, or on my wife's handbag, rather than my phone, they'd be getting a cleaning bill. This is no different.

Good luck with it, is all I'll say.

Should be easy enough to dry the speaker anyway, fingers crossed. Hope you sort it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Disagree completely. Having a phone on the table with drinks and food being moved around, it's careless. Just my opinion, I could be talking nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

No different alright, if you have your clothes laid out on the table where items of food and drink actually go.

george67 wrote: »
    Use a hoover and suck the oil out , it works for water

Water will evaporate, and that is assisted by a partial vacuum created by the vacuum cleaner.

Wont work for oil too well though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Hunt3R

Use a hair dryer to make the speakers dry again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

Hunt3R wrote: »
    Use a hair dryer to make the speakers dry again!

The boiling point of the oil will be a few hundred degrees so this won't be an effective option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

What model OPPO phone is it?
    You can probably find a teardown of it easily enough, and would only really need to open the cover.
    Some are more difficult, but it may be one of the easier ones.

Try a degreasing solvent (You could try this without removing anything and some compressed air). That should remove most of the oil, and if you can open the phone, it may remove all of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Silly me and my unreasonable expectations of not being pelted with condiments in a restaurant by wait staff. Oh, I forgot, this is boards.ie, where simple cop on and basic common sense come to die.

People disagree with you.

Try not to cry.

Silly me and my unreasonable expectations of not being pelted with condiments in a restaurant by wait staff.

I would stay out of those restaurants myself.

However, accidental spills on tables, I would see that as a possibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Not blaming anyone, can you post the model?
    Oil in a phone mightn't be that destructive (more often than not, it isn't in my experience).
    If you can, take out the battery to eliminate any possibilities of anything shorting. Oil isn't like water, and should for most part, slide over things as opposed to into them and cause corrosion.
    Opening the cover and getting a degreasing solvent (linked above) may be all that you need to do.

Allyall wrote: »
    Not blaming anyone, can you post the model?
    Oil in a phone mightn't be that destructive (more often than not, it isn't in my experience).
    If you can, take out the battery to eliminate any possibilities of anything shorting. Oil isn't like water, and should for most part, slide over things as opposed to into them and cause corrosion.
    Opening the cover and getting a degreasing solvent (linked above) may be all that you need to do.

Oil is unlikely to short or corrode the electronic circuits like water can.

Id does slightly bind or clog parts such as microphones and tiny speakers though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭toby2111

Sorry to interupt this thread-
    Allyall,trying to PM you but your inbox is full!

woah this escalated pretty fast. Sorry lads and ladies had no access at home all weekend due to shoddy broadband from eircom.

An update for you...model is OPPO Find 7.

Anyway herself put it in rice and I covered it and put it in the hot press and I have to say there was a distinct improvement in the speaker yesterday afternoon to my complete surprise! Anyway I then went and got a few cans of compressed air and blasted it yesterday evening and, fingers crossed, it's working properly again. I personally feel it will go again but for now it seems to have done the trick

Also to all who want to jump on here about restaurant service I worked in them for years like most people going through college and what have ye and you are always told to b as careful as possible and I don't think this one was. anyway as long as the phone is working I don't care !

cheers