Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chainsaw courses - Clonmel or surrounding area.

• 06-12-2014 10:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15

Newish to boards so apologies if this is in the wrong place.
    I'm about to purchase my first chainsaw but have had no experience with using one at all, I've watched a good few YouTube videos and have previously worked with some large wood working machinery and have saw mill experience (large band saws etc) so am not a complete eejit when it comes to H&S etc.

I've had a look over Google as I'd like to do something along the lines of a one day course with afore mentioned new purchase but I can't find anything to suit - I'm not looking for bits of paper, just some practical experience and to expand upon YouTube videos in a real-life situation. Can anyone recommend anything within reasonable distance of Clonmel or Dungarvan or is there someone in the area who would be willing to show me the ropes & do's and donts in exchange for a few beer tokens?

Thanks in advance,

Tim.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

I would advise you do the ground tickets first anyway, the city and guilds nptc.
    I wouldn't be using you tube as a reference too much in learning skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 TimmyE

I've not really found anyone locally that will do a grounds ticket. I did hear about someone based in Cork somewhere but I forget the name sadly.

I agree about YouTube, to some extent. It's an excellent valuable resource for some things though but obviously not a patch on practical experience. I still work with wood and have several (wood and metal) machining qualifications and am knowledgeable as a machinist. I am familiar with the inherent dangers of sharp things revolving at high speeds, it just happens I've never used a chain saw before!

There is a fella in cork, David law. www.davidlaw.ie is his site. I know one of his instructors and is very thorough.
    I know the courses are expensive but its hard to put a price on a body part too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 TimmyE

David Law is the name I was given, thanks for refreshing my memory.
    By the time I've included travel, possibly having to stay somewhere and food, that course is the best part of €500, plus I'd lose two days work. Is it really necessary I wonder. Despite my lack of experience with chainsaws, I cant help but wonder if taking it easy and building up my confidence on my own would not be a better (and certainly cheaper) option?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

I think most of the courses are for certification and not 'how to...'.
    I didn't do any course but taught myself - with the help of the internet and advice from others. Start slowly, wear safety gear and only work for a few mins until you get more confident and knowledgeable. Read the manual thoroughly.

I always try have someone around when I'm sawing, just in case and I only work for about 20mins and then take a break: my attention starts slipping after this time and accidents with a saw can be deadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭PatQfarmer

I think most of the courses are for certification and not 'how to...'.
    I didn't do any course but taught myself - with the help of the internet and advice from others. Start slowly, wear safety gear and only work for a few mins until you get more confident and knowledgeable. Read the manual thoroughly.

I always try have someone around when I'm sawing, just in case and I only work for about 20mins and then take a break: my attention starts slipping after this time and accidents with a saw can be deadly.

Agree. Self-taught here and learned from watching other lads.
    Take your time, don't rush, a chainsaw is much faster than a saw no matter how slowly you go!

My main motto is if you are sweating while working chainsaw, you're going too fast.
    Take a break, slow down, think about what you're doing.
    Best of luck and safe sawing.

Here is how not to cut a tree down anyway.

The words stupid and dangerous are in my head but failing to find words for this madness plus his other hero videos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭St. Leibowitz

Here is how not to cut a tree down anyway.

The words stupid and dangerous are in my head but failing to find words for this madness plus his other hero videos.

Jebus. The blunt chain really didn't help. Sort of a "let's see home many safe practices I can ignore in one video" attempt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

Some of the manuals provide some very good information. Husqvarna has always provided very good training and safety information as have Stihl and the chain manufacturer Oregon.

Some basics here http://www.stihl.co.nz/p/media/download/uk-en/STIHL_Chain_Saw_Safety_Manual.pdf

Also if you are looking at youtube look for the stuff posted by the chainsaw and chain manufactureres themselves as there info is good.

Jebus. The blunt chain really didn't help. Sort of a "let's see home many safe practices I can ignore in one video" attempt.

Have a look at his other ones too :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Reindeer

Never use a ladder. Ever. But that video begs the question, why would you even need one in the woods?

Reindeer wrote: »
    Never use a ladder. Ever. But that video begs the question, why would you even need one in the woods?

I reckon they used a ladder to combat the incline of the terrain. Maybe not but that person is so clueless any thing is possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Have a look at his other ones too :pac:

Some time last year I came across this moron. The issue I have with his attempts is that somebody somewhere might think it's acceptable to behave like that with a saw, or indeed other instruments he attempts to use.
    That's a wider problem I see with the Youtube generation, It seems to me that quite a lot of people can tell the difference between a chancer and an expert. In fact some of the "expert" I see post vids on Youtube, themselves have a reasonable grasp of the subject matter at hand, reasonable at best.

I'm thinking of becoming an expert myself. A smartphone and an accent is all I need it seems:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Melodeon

He hangs out over in the Survivalism & Self Sufficiency forum here on Boards.ie.
    Here's a current thread that may be of interest:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=93397496

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Reindeer

Melodeon wrote: »
    He hangs out over in the Survivalism & Self Sufficiency forum here on Boards.ie.
    Here's a current thread that may be of interest:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=93397496

That thread is closed, and rightfully so. No one needs to hear his stupidity. It is only a matter of time before he finds himself in A&E.

Reindeer wrote: »
    It is only a matter of time before he finds himself in A&E.

Its the people who might end up in A&E i feel for after watching his videos thinking they are educating themselves.