Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any lads out there who prefer erotica to visual porn?

• 05-12-2014 4:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭

And vice versa, any ladies who prefer the visual to the imagination?

I ask only because the stereotype seems to be that porn is for lads and erotica is for women. Personally I've always found erotica to be far more stimulating and I'm essentially wondering if I'm an anomaly among lads, or if this is relatively common?

Likewise, I know from first hand experience that any claim that women in general tend not to watch porn is complete bollocks, but it does seem to be generally accepted that women are more likely to go for stories. Or as a subset perhaps, porn that actually has a decent and elaborate plot line as opposed to "Hey, I'm here to fix your fridge ;););)" bollocks. But are any of ye more likely to go for the visual?

In the middle of writing some erotica myself at the moment and it's just randomly occurred to me that all of the erotica which ends up in the main stream tends to be written by women, so just wondering am I shooting blanks (pun very intended) ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Literotica can be pretty good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

In the middle of writing some erotica myself at the moment

Ah now Patrick. You know very well you're not being let away with skipping over that. Excerpt please.

(and most erotic fiction is written by men using female pen names btw, not by women.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

The book is always better than the movie like...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Erotica? Is that the modern way of saying I was buying Playboy for the articles?

Besides i would like to see someone describe the love between a man, woman and a dwarf with a box of Black Magic in an erotic fashion!!

PGTFO

Oh wait..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

That you Shatter!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

I have 'Choose Your Own Adventure...Porn' books, good fun. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

frag420 wrote: »
    Erotica? Is that the modern way of saying I was buying Playboy for the articles?

Besides i would like to see someone describe the love between a man, woman and a dwarf with a box of Black Magic in an erotic fashion!!
    As the vertially challenged Romeo brought her Raspberry Heaven, the strong muscular Casanova gently buttered her heaving bosom with Caramel Caresses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I know a few lads who go in for the smutty stories, one in particular who's a pretty decent writer of it (Yes, I have read some of his stuff.)

Personally, I'm halfway between typical porn and erotica. I watch porn, but I prefer something with a decent story, romance, or a sexy build up. Someone just horsin' it in to a young wan is incredibly boring and doesn't do the business at all. I have a very low sex drive though, so I rarely could be bothered hunting down decent porn. And the fact it can be so hard to find reduces my viewing even more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Ruu wrote: »

For one in the brown, Turn to page 32

For three in the pink, Turn to page 25

For the entire fist, Turn to page 54

*Turns to page 54*

A tree-goblin appears, steals the lube and escapes out the window. Your mistress no longer wants you to do it, complains of having a headache and decides to go to sleep.

You die of blueballs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

Ruu wrote: »

'But I didnt order a pizza!'

Turn to page 180

'The End'

no wait go back go back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

strobe wrote: »
    Ah now Patrick. You know very well you're not being let away with skipping over that. Excerpt please.

It'd have to be so heavily redacted for the purposed of AH that it would be more or less unintelligible, rather like a CIA report. ;)
    (and most erotic fiction is written by men using female pen names btw, not by women.)

Seriously? This is genuinely news to me, always assumed that the stereotype of erotica essentially being written generally by women and generally read far more by women was true to an extent...

Duggy747 wrote: »
    For one in the brown, Turn to page 32

For three in the pink, Turn to page 25

For the entire fist, Turn to page 54

*Turns to page 54*

A tree-goblin appears, steals the lube and escapes out the window. Your mistress no longer wants you to do it, complains of having a headache and decides to go to sleep.

You die of blueballs.

Paints quite a picture, doesn't he? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,503 ✭✭✭Sinister Kid

I need to get my fridge fixed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

In the middle of writing some erotica myself at the moment and it's just randomly occurred to me that all of the erotica which ends up in the main stream tends to be written by women, so just wondering am I shooting blanks (pun very intended) ;)
    The people need to read this.

There is a lot of erotica written by men, they tend to use female pen names. Same to a certain extent with "chick lit". You might see the reverse in sci-fi novels, with women using male pen names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Some literotica I wrote, complete with link to visual, for those of you who might be into that kind of thing:

She gave his little piece a small nudge with her finger and, smiling, whispered something in French under her breath. He had almost crossed a line, pressing forward like that, but his awkward eagerness was cute and, besides, she did so badly want to play with him. Had done for quite some time, in fact. So she responded in kind, accepting the challenge, pressing back up against him. It was not her first time, but she was still terribly inexperienced, and probably only confident enough to play with him thanks to the alcohol. Without it she may well have been too conscious of making a fool of herself to get even this far.
    His piece leapt a little, focused on her centre now, and she smiled in anticipation. As the knight progressed, she reflected that this was not an altogether unpleasant way to spend an evening - and if he was endowed with half as much talent as he assured her, then she might well learn something to boot. For the moment, though, she would stall him, protecting her centre and eventually allowing her to do a little attacking of her own, emboldened as she was. After all, while she suspected he would end up on top before too long, there was no point in letting him gain the advantage too early.
    Nonplussed, he took the opportunity to work himself into a dominant position so as to be better placed to strike when the time eventually came, as it surely would. He was aiming for an Italian opening, but she thwarted his plans, instead angling for a much more passive position where he would have to work hard to gain any control of her centre. Or at least, that is what he assumed she was doing - she really had no clue and was, at any rate, too distracted to pay much attention or formulate any kind of strategy. In any case, he did not mind.
    Once more, his piece leapt, its attentions fixed again upon her centre. And she, for her part, admiring its equine nobility, rushed her previous intentions and moved in for the kill, pinning her opponent so that he could not wield his piece without some difficulty. This was alright with him - he knew that she would overextend herself before long and leave herself wide open for his invasion.
    Pleasantly surprised at the change, he made a small advance along her flank, silently posing the question as to how she wished to proceed. She hesitated now, because women are fickle like that, or else just like to **** with a guy's head, and held her bishop uncertainly in her hand, like the twelve-inch cock of that Tunisian youth who'd broken her bed in Ibiza. Things were getting really hard now. In the end, instead of taking his horselike piece and giving herself up, she retreated coyly, while still attempting to keep her opponent pinned in case he should get any ideas that did not agree with hers.
    Suddenly, though, he made a surprising snatch at some little material she had, leaving his lady completely exposed. The gambit paid off - she squealed with delight as she accepted and eagerly grasped his powerful piece, holding it and regarding it closely before slipping into emphatically into the box, a triumphant and mischievous grin now on her face. He smiled too - it was exactly what he had expected from his inexperienced opponent, and while she was on top now, he knew that it would not last long. He let her savour her moment.
    She gave a small and displeased gasp, however, when he replied with a sneaky attack on her rear, slipping in past her defences, and she found herself forced forward as he wielded his piece with devastating effect.
    She suddenly felt very vulnerable, as indeed she was, and while she could not see exactly what he was up to she sensed their game was reaching a climax, and it was not hers.
    Then he was all over her, the "stallion" just charging in and finishing off unopposed. And so it was over and done, and she was left mated, but thoroughly unsatisfied. Next time, she suspected, she would be better off just playing with herself.

Visual here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Well in real life it's an attractive face and body that gets me going and not a woman's lingual dexterity so why would it be any different in relation to porn?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

I think a lot of what people like about porn in words (brain doesn't want to think about what it's actually called) can be portrayed in film/porn.

I see what's to like about it in writing but I would prefer visuals. But then my concentration for the written word would never have been that good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

How wonderful it was – wonderful and surprising – to be attracted to a guy, to want sex. Diane found, once she was naked with him, that there were things she really liked in his performance, including, foremost, that he was relentlessly, acutely, even obsessively servile. It was fine with Ed to spend a half-hour massaging her feet and squeezing her ankles, followed by nearly equal devoted caressing of her shins and calves; next, moving up, he gave substantial attention to her knees and thighs, and when, in her massage trance, she hoped and believed that his hands would surely go where they would do the most good, Ed didn’t go there, he flipped her over instead and massaged, kneaded, stretched, rubbed, pinched, flicked, feathered, licked, kissed, and gently bit her shoulders, neck, back, and butt. ... It triggered memories with the uncanny force of déjà vu, and what she thought of, as Ed slaved away, was a boy from her village who had fingered her adroitly in a greenhouse thick with green tomatoes.In the shower, Ed stood with his hands at the back of his head, like someone just arrested, while she abused him with a bar of soap. After a while he shut his eyes, and Diane, wielding her fingernails now and starting at his face, helped him out with two practiced hands, one squeezing the family jewels, the other vigorous with the soap-and-warm-water treatment. It didn’t take long for the beautiful and perfect Ed King to ejaculate for the fifth time in twelve hours, while looking like Roman public-bath statuary. Then they rinsed, dried, dressed, and went to an expensive restaurant for lunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Did you learn nothing from the 50 shades phenomenon? Also, it's all in the details, if the description is good in a book you don't need to see it because it's already in your head.
    BTW, not a lad only seeing it was directed toward the males, sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dayum

I speak for 99.9% of the male sex on planet Earth when I say that I could not give two pints of piss about the dialogue. All I want to see is serious wreckage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

NSFW unless you have headphones.

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    The people need to read this.

They can read it when it's finished, but they'll have to find it and my pseudonym first ;)
    Don't think AHers would like it much to be honest, it revolves around a relatively niche fetish which was brought up in a thread a few months back and to my surprise, the majority of posters had never even heard of the concept, never mind explored it. :p
    There is a lot of erotica written by men, they tend to use female pen names. Same to a certain extent with "chick lit". You might see the reverse in sci-fi novels, with women using male pen names.

Why would anyone bother? Are gender stereotypes really that badly ingrained that people would decide whether or not to read a story based on the gender of the author? O_o

I mean it's often said for instance that JK Rowling, as a woman, has somehow tapped far more intimately into the minds, relationships, emotions etc of teenage lads than most authors have, and having been a huge HP fan as a teenager I'd have to agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Personally I've always found erotica to be far more stimulating...
    I know from first hand experience

*chuckle*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

No. I don't like fake porn or fake porn stories. Yes it takes me a while to find a good video,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I'm a woman and I can't say I prefer one over the other.

However, my husband and I write, publish and sell quite a lot of erotica. It's a business. You might think it's mostly written by women but my husband always uses a female pen name. The books get better sales that way. We also know quite a few other male erotica authors and they all publish under female names too. The vast majority of reviews or mail we get is from men too.

My latest novel is called 'Fifty Shades of Blueballs'.

Ironically enough, that'd be an appropriate enough name for what I'm working on ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Wonder if it's similar to my "Fifty Sheds of Hay" - geared towards the rural community...?

Novella wrote: »

However, my husband and I write, publish and sell quite a lot of erotica. It's a business. You might think it's mostly written by women but my husband always uses a female pen name. The books get better sales that way. We also know quite a few other male erotica authors and they all publish under female names too. The vast majority of reviews or mail we get is from men too.

Missed this one the first time around, but why is it that female pen names get more sales? Is there a stereotype that men can't write sexily? :p (Would seem to be moot if it's such common knowledge that most alleged female authors are actually men - this was brand new info to me though so who knows)

Probably depends a bit on the genre as well I'd say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭emy50

Literotica can be pretty good.

its a great site - lots of categories

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

Porn is porn no? Different types for sure, but pornography is ultimately just depiction of sex and sexual activities isn't it?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Two Tone wrote: »
    Porn is porn no? Different types for sure, but pornography is ultimately just depiction of sex and sexual activities isn't it?

Well, the -graph bit suggests otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

Mid 20's woman here - I like both depends on my mood. If I'm really in the mood I like visual porn. No fake bull**** stories though, amateur videos.

Erotica is more for just if im relaxed at night. I just checked out literotica and a line from one of the high rated stories was this...

"God, I'm so close Shannon. Suck me off, please."

NO. Just no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Well as Bill Maher said, there's no such thing as mutual fantasies between men and women. A mutual fantasy would involve a handsome man approaching a woman on a horse, taking her out to the forest, gently laying her down on a bed of roses and then cuming on her face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

i wouldmt say i prefer one over the other tbh. videos are nice and quick though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I'd rather see the P in the V, not the ABC.......... if you catch my drift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

Female - started with literotica for most of my teens, now a bit of visual - a fair 50/50 divide but going back to written for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Joey Jo-Jo Junior

I don't know if I'd say I'd prefer it but I do like reading from literotica every now and then. I'm not much porn watcher either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Novella wrote: »

How do you manage to sell erotic fiction in a world where the likes of literotica exists?

I'm genuinely curious as to how one goes about making a living at this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Sleepy wrote: »
    How do you manage to sell erotic fiction in a world where the likes of literotica exists?

I'm genuinely curious as to how one goes about making a living at this!

It's mostly done on Amazon. And people prefer the ease of downloading books from Amazon. Plus established romance/erotica authors sell on there, and people really buy into their brand/penname.

Also, there's trends to different sites. Amazon will have a certain kind of story, while the free websites will have a different type. Some build up an audience on the free sites then move to selling on the paid sites. Generally though Amazon is just easier.

There's also a thing on Amazon (with Prime or a different subscription) where any book signed up for the service could be downloaded and read for free, once you had paid the sub. At first the authors got a standard payout of about $1.40, no matter how long the book was. This was great for erotica writers, whose stories tended to be between 7,500 and 12,500 words long. For anyone who read more than 10% of their book they were getting the standard payout. I knew people who were publishing one of those a day. I knew one guy who was writing for three months, had about 100 short stories published and was pulling in between $1,000 and $2,000 a month after he had established himself. Amazon changed it though so now you only get paid for the amount of pages read (although there's huge problems with that as well.)

There's also a big difference between erotic fiction and romance, and then there's the halfway house between those two with erotic romance. Erotic fiction is purely about sex, romance is about romance, but there's almost always sex scenes (although there is sweet romance which has a "fade to black,) and again erotic romance is about sex but where the sex is based on romantic attraction rather than a lustful attraction.

It's an interesting world. Quite difficult to become successful in unless you are very dedicated. I gave it a go. Over about six months I published maybe, 120,000 words worth of stuff, maybe more. I made beer money but not much else. I wasn't trying to target the market like other people do. If you're looking to make quick money you really have to cash in on trends, and be good at spotting new trends. I was just writing stuff I found interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

I'm female and would much prefer literotica to porn. So I guess I fit the stereotype! I find it much more immersive and engaging.

I ask only because the stereotype seems to be that porn is for lads and erotica is for women. Personally I've always found erotica to be far more stimulating and I'm essentially wondering if I'm an anomaly among lads, or if this is relatively common?

I would be somewhat similar. I do not particularly enjoy porn alone. To steal an analogy from another boards user - porn is like going to a restaurant - enjoying the menu - then being brought the food - and in that moment having it taken away and you go home unfed.

I watch porn on occasion with the girlfriends and that is many times more enjoyable. But we do not tend to watch the stereotypical mass produced porn. As you say a story line helps. But actually we prefer things like Abby Winters where you really get to know the amateurs in it better than you would in other porn. With the interview and play style they do. Just the intimacy and atmosphere of the interview parts of the video tend to be as erotic as anything after the clothes start to come off.

But like you - there are things I find much more erotic that porn. Even just talking about sex is better than porn. And sometimes at my house parties we all end up in a sex chat talking about things like fantasies and things we have done or want to do and so on. And just that level of intimacy with other people - of just opening up about intimate sexual details - is 1000 times more erotic than any porn I have watched.

Literature erotica however I have not had much experience with but perhaps I have been unfortunate in that the stuff I have read - was pretty awfully written. So perhaps I just need to read something better done.
    Likewise, I know from first hand experience that any claim that women in general tend not to watch porn is complete bollocks, but it does seem to be generally accepted that women are more likely to go for stories.

Yea the girls are _usually_ the ones to suggest it in my house rather than me. They enjoy it more than I do on the occasional times we do use it.

But also from talking to the girls in house parties and the like I have learned well that not only are they every bit as into sex and porn and the like as the guys - usually their fantasies and desires and ideas are a lot more intricate and deeply thought out and erotic.

For example in one game of truth and dare we all ended up explaining the one erotic fantasy we each have that we have never done yet. The guys were pretty stereotypical things you could probably guess. Threesomes and the like. Usually things that take between 3 and 10 words to even describe.

The girls however had much more intricate and deeply considered things going on in their head. Some of them even sent the eye brows back to the back of my head. And the fantasies that came out of my partners I would never have guessed at. Quite eye opening. And usually it takes ages just to describe the ideas that have. None of the three words answers the guys came out with. So I can see why maybe textual porn might be more appealing.

We have been periodically writing something too. The script of a porn we keep joking us and our friends will video for real sometime. Who knows if we ever will :) But writing it and casting people in it has been wonderfully erotic and intimate.

The entire script is a medieval political drama with a lot of plots and back stabbing and conspiracies. Think Game of Thrones without the magic and dragons and monsters. More the political side of it. Plots and subplots and the like.

But yes - the text we have written is certainly more erotic alone - even without putting it to film - than most "mainstream" porn I have ever seen.

And I love when our friends read over new drafts and the like given they know generally who would be cast as who if we ever did it. So we get some great laughs ("There is no way I am letting him do that to me - but I will do it to him!!!" was the last comment we got on a recent draft) - as well as great ideas - from them too. But we do get a lot of good giggles out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

I take off my robe and wizard hat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭764dak

Sometimes it is titillating to read the titles and descriptions of movies.