Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin men who ‘stomped’ on head of victim let off way to lightly

• 03-12-2014 3:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

Another outrageous story with our justice system failing miserably to bring any sort of justice. I see these stories get posted her a lot so said i'd throw it up. Let the hatred and ranting commence!

http://www.irishtimes.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Big Wex fan

I can never understand why anyone who does this is not charged with attempted murder. It's simple, what else could it be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

" and said it all kicked off because of tension on the dance floor."

Sounds like a song lyric written by a Northern English indie band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

anncoates wrote: »
    " and said it all kicked off because of tension on the dance floor."

Sounds like a song lyrics written by a Northern English indie band.

...murder on the dance floor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

o1s1n wrote: »
    ...murder on the dance floor?

Tension

it's ok, your man is VERY sorry and may even pay a few bob and "wouldn't like it to affect the victim". who has been out of work for a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

Something needs to be done about the lack of Garda presence in Temple Bar, and also about these judges that keep giving suspended "sentences". The knacker with six previous convictions - what are the bets that most if not all of these were suspended? The way things are going it will take either somebody getting killed, or the son or daughter of one of these judges being attacked before these violent animals start getting put away.

Of course, if the two of them were selling dodgy garlic instead of stamping on people's heads, they'd be behind bars right now. :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

No idea what kind of mindset you have to be in to be with a group of people and all be kicking someone while they're on the ground, clearly defeated. Being drunk is no excuse because if it was then why the fuk would they choose to continue to drink if it makes them like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭ROAAAR

What's really worrying is that despite seeing the impact of such an attack he still stomped on the victims head. Couldn't that imply that he's likely to repeat such an attack again as it clearly wasn't enough to stop him. I imagine he is closer to his friend that the victim.
    There needs to be zero tolerance on such an attack. I don't care if you're a "respectable character" or had no previous convictions or how much cocaine you took. If you kick stomp on a persons head you NEED to be rehabilitated proficiently before being allowed to return to society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

I can never understand why anyone who does this is not charged with attempted murder. It's simple, what else could it be?

The fact that your man suffered sever damage a blood clot and a year out of work is testament to that. When you punch someone in the face your either protecting yourself or expressing your anger towards someone(not saying its right but it happens) When you kick/stomp on someones head while they lay helpless on the curb it cannot be justified by ANYTHING.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

It wasn't premeditated so that's okay. Apparently beating someone to within an inch of their life is prefectly acceptable as long as it isn't planned in advance.

When did we in Ireland start saying "stomp" instead of "stamp"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

I blame Austin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

"Stomp" is that really shítty drum band. I'd rather get stamped on the head than listen to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Richardson told gardaí he had spent around €100 on drink that night and had taken a small amount of cocaine.

Cannabis again.
    Time to bust a few more grows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭qt3.14

Can you take a civil case against someone who assaults you? 7k total is a joke if it's supposed to alleviate damage done even to the victims wallet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

The victim later admitted to gardaí­ that he “threw a few punches, because I thought I would get a beating if I didn’t protect myself”.

Why the f**king Hell is it "admitted"? "Sorry about that, Judge. I actually did try to defend myself. It was clearly my fault".

Garda Donnelly agreed with Justin McQuade BL, defending Lambe, that he was both co-operative and honest with gardaí­ and demonstrated genuine remorse from the outset.
    Lambe told the court he was disgraced and disappointed by his behaviour. He said he had witnessed himself how a head injury can impact on someone, because his friend had been through a similar experience.
    “I would not like it to affect him mentally, but I was happy to hear he had physically recovered,” Lambe said.

This sounds like something you'd see in a comedy. "I'm glad he can't work. Glad he still needs medication and all because that means he recovered".

And the best part is he can remember spending 100 euro, doing cocaine but can't remember the attack fight (since gang attacks are fights now) properly. I generally remember if I see a fight on a night out far more than I remember the amount of money I spent..

Ah well, the Irish Justice System, a paradise for scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

Since Romper Stomper I'd guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭johnty56

It really does send out the message that it is ok to stamp on someones head as they are prone on the ground.

That is what is worrying about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Vic_08

qt3.14 wrote: »
    Can you take a civil case against someone who assaults you? 7k total is a joke if it's supposed to alleviate damage done even to the victims wallet!

People daily get 5-6 figure sums out of insurance companies for personal injury claims from minor RTCs so yes you can take a civil case.

I'll go out on a limb here and suggest that in this case while the victim would be able to take a case, win it and probably get a substantial sum awarded the chances of actually receiving any of it would be very small.