Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New to PC gaming does this spec sound any good?

• 02-12-2014 9:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭

Hi would really appreciate any advice here, my 15 yr old would love a Pc for Christmas, single mother so I'm on a budget plus I have absolutely no idea re specs etc. Seen this one for around €450, no screen, keyboard or mouse. Would it be any use? Another probably silly question, he has a 32" TV in his room he doesn't use, can you hook pcs to TV or would graphics be crap?

This Desktop Gaming PC is amazingly fast! It features the powerful new AMD Athlon II X4 750K Quad Core Processor / CPU, running at up to a lightning 4.00 GHz. Match this with a massive 8GB of 1333 MHz RAM and you'll get performance you've only dreamed of before. You'll be the envy of all your friends when you can play all the latest games using the power of the AMD Radeon R7 240 which includes a huge 2GB of gaming memory.

Specification:

Model - Fast Powerful Quad Core Gaming Pc
    Case - CiT Venom Mesh Gaming Case with Blue LED Fan

Motherboard Gigabyte F2A55M-HD2, Micro ATX, VGA/DVI, HDMI
    - HD Audio
    - 1x PCI Express x16, 1x PCI Express x1, 1x PCI
    - 4x back USB 2.0 ports, 2x front USB 2.0 ports

Power Supply - 500W

Processor - AMD Athlon II X4 750K 3.40 GHz (4.00 GHz Turbo) Quad Core

RAM Memory - 8 GB, 1600 Mhz

Graphic Card - AMD Radeon R7 240 2GB

Sound Card - No

Wireless Card - No

Hard Drive - 1TB SATA3 6Gbps

SSD Drive- No

Optical Drive - 24x DVD/CD Rewriter

Operating System - Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit

Warranty - 2 Years (Parts and Labour)

ALL COMPUTERS ARE BRAND NEW!!!

PC coming with Windows 7 Home Premium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭Redriddick

To be honest i think you would be far better building one.I know from your previous thread that you would need someone to build it for you.If you post up your location some of the lads will help or if I'm near I will do it for you.
    The 32" tv would be fine for him and you would get a keyboard and mouse for feck all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭Sparkles78

Redriddick wrote: »
    To be honest i think you would be far better building one.I know from your previous thread that you would need someone to build it for you.If you post up your location some of the lads will help or if I'm near I will do it for you.
    The 32" tv would be fine for him and you would get a keyboard and mouse for feck all.

I'm in North Co dublin. He's said the TV would be too big & would prefer a monitor. He's very fussy about the mouse though, wants a silent one?

I still think the tv would be Ok even as a stopgap for awhile.
    There are deals some times on the gaming mouse,will keep an eye out.
    I am of no use to you though as I'm down the country but hopefully some of the other lads will be along and might help!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Sparkles78 wrote: »
    I'm in North Co dublin. He's said the TV would be too big & would prefer a monitor. He's very fussy about the mouse though, wants a silent one?

Wants a silent mouse? A little confusing.

Don't get that pc yet sparkles might be able to help. And does the monitor have to be new considering its an xmass present.

Wants a silent mouse? A little confusing.

Don't get that pc yet sparkles might be able to help. And does the monitor have to be new considering its an xmass present.

Silent as in the clicking noise ☺ no doesn't have to be new.

Fair play Sterling!!!

Do you have an idea of what games does he plan on playing? Any in particular.

I can have a guess and say minecraft battlefield, the new GTA v that be coming out probably the witcher 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭meepins

. Seen this one for around €450, no screen, keyboard or mouse. Would it be any use?
    I wouldn't think so.
    The power supply for example is probably some cheap thing that could be a problem. You can do better by picking your own components.

This build I think is much better value at hardwareversand.de
    They can put it together if you need for a charge (30 euro I believe)
    They deliver at a flat rate.
    Prices here have the geizhals.de discount applied
    http://imgur.com/40ASxYr

VV7N451RUU discount code for 20 euro off orders of 400 euro+

The PC can connect to the telly via a HDMI cable if it has one.
    If you want I can fit a monitor in the build and look at cutting back in places, or if you just don't want to spend as much as 400 euro.

Do you have an idea of what games does he plan on playing? Any in particular.

I can have a guess and say minecraft battlefield, the new GTA v that be coming out probably the witcher 3.

Minecraft, not sure what else, he used to play GTA on Xbox.

I can give you a monitor. Will look up best options for pc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

if you need help with the build, im regualrly in north dublin, can have it together in a few hours if you want, gratis of course!

Have to say I'm well impressed with all the guys here for helping out.If I was in Dublin I would be helping out too.
    Fair play lads!!!!!

I came to this forum last Christmas looking for guidance and the guys specced me a build, told me which sites to you, explained how to get a discount and troubleshooted with me. I'm now upgrading and the only reason I know how is because the guys here took the time to explain to me.

Essentially, I want to help someone the same way I was helped when I began.

The posters in this forum should be proud of all the knowledge and help that they offer

Redriddick wrote: »
    Have to say I'm well impressed with all the guys here for helping out.If I was in Dublin I would be helping out too.
    Fair play lads!!!!!

Guys just want to say that I am really overwhelmed with the advice and specs that I have gotten off this forum.

My next dilemma is deciding which spec to go with (think I have 3 to chose from) and whether or not to get hardwareversand to build the pc or take up someones offer to help ;)

Essentially I want to order it tomorrow at the latest :confused:

Another silly question, where in the build can I tell if its wireless or not as I would need it to be? Thanks :confused:

you will need to order a wireless card which will add to the build but they are relatively inexpensive.

https://www.hardwareversand.de/en/PCI-Express/49559/ASUS+PCE-N15.article

Thats the one i have and it works perfectly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

For the price difference, you're much better off with homeplugs. They'll give your son a much better experience with online games.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-TL-PA251KIT-Multi-Streaming-Powerline-Starter/dp/B005KTM2G6/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1417705838&sr=8-2&keywords=homeplugs

Guys what if some of the parts I need aren't in stock? Can I change them for a different part or do I have to start from scratch? I'm sure its no problem changing the tower but what if the motherboard is out of stock, will any other motherboard do? :confused:

No, you need specific motherboards, they come with different sockets for the processors. When I get onto the PC later I will have a look for one that fits.

Serephucus is right in what he says, I never think of them as I have no need for them

what build have you decided on? i ordered gear from harwareversand that was out of stock and it took a month to come back in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus