Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

mediocre musician in Laois, wants to meet other mediocre musicians to play music with

• 30-11-2014 11:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

i'm a mid thirties bloke who used to play a lot of music years ago. I would love to get back into it. The idea of this post is just to see if there are other lads / girls out there who love music, who dont really get to play anymore, but wanna hook up occasionally and play some tunes!! I wouldn't be worried if a band sprung out of it or not.

my main instrument is keyboards, but i can play some Rhythm guitar, Bodhran, banjo, mandolin etc.. also limited drums. a bit of everything really. Ive done a bit of basic recording and mixing too. I can share some tracks!!

If anyone's interest let me know!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,748 ✭✭✭✭maccored

im in much the same boat, though Im in my 40s and based in carlow. play bass mainly, though I can play a bit of everything. no vocals. wouldnt mind some kind of covers band doing alternative 80s/90s stuff . I have a van and a PA and a place to rehearse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 markA1981

Hey guys im in a fairly similar situation as you . Im a guitar , harmonica player from carlow and used to play in bands , finding it difficult to put a band together . Im mid thirties and interests are clapton , stones etc and anything before 1990 . Id be interested in playing again .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 edward.dunne

hey lads!!

sorry for not getting back, work manic before Christmas! sounds like the makings of something! 1.5 guitars, harmonica, base and keys? ;)

do you guys want to arrange something in the next few weeks so! I have young kids, so weekends are typically manic. but a weekday evening, say monday or tues would be workable.

any thoughts on location? i'm in Mountrath.

ed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭topcatcbr

Hi Ed. I'm Dave. I'm in portarlington. I play guitar and limited vocals. I'd love to get together sometime. I away for a couple of months but will be back early Feb if your interested.

I reckon wheres the handiest place to jam, would be the ideal location. I have a shed in Carlow with a kit, amps etc etc. Playing at this at Christmas if anyone is around for a chat - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=93305272&postcount=135

Well ed , I have young kids too mid week would be grand I live in graiguecullen co. Laois or carlow sure its all the same . Sounds like the makings of something keep in touch . Mark

This was us playing in kilkenny about 7 years ago sorry about the shorts its was a warm day . Thats me on the harps.
    Www.youtube.com/thebluesline ( call me the breeze )

hey lads. love the blues Mark. heres some tracks. I cant post links cos i'm a new user.

blues one -

soundcloud.com/edwardlaois/off-the-wall

a few other ones

soundcloud.com/edwardlaois

I did the vocals on one or two (which is not my thing really). I mostly did Keyboards, Guitar, Bodhran & Whistle on another.

most are quite old and recorded in a bedroom!! ;)

ed

Hi ed sounds good . If you get Maccored on board I dont think it would be too hard to find a drummer. What sort of a set list would you be thinking of. Pm me a list of 10 songs and if Maccored could send you 10 songs and vice versa with me sure we would know where were headed for a jam. Ill pm you my phone number .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Velbon

Hi Ed,
    Similar story to you guys, looking for like-minded musos just for the craic.. used to semi-pro play the circuit in the UK back in the day..wedding bands and the like..Rock bands also.
    Have a decent enough kit still (Yamaha 8000 series/ Zildjian Cymbals) can also provide lead/backing harmony vocals. Haven't played in a while, but sure, a bit like falling off a bike!
    In my early 50's...based in Newbridge..no problem travelling to rehearse/jam when working schedule allows.
    Let me know if you're interested.

markA1981 wrote: »
    Hi ed sounds good . If you get Maccored on board I dont think it would be too hard to find a drummer. What sort of a set list would you be thinking of. Pm me a list of 10 songs and if Maccored could send you 10 songs and vice versa with me sure we would know where were headed for a jam. Ill pm you my phone number .

i sent on a PM with 10 suggestions. This is a recording I was doing in this time ten years ago - https://soundcloud.com/79cortinaz/electrichym?in=79cortinaz/sets/2fm-session .

hey man, yeah cool, send me a pm with yer email & phone and we can send a message around if somethings happening.
    Velbon wrote: »
    Hi Ed,
    Similar story to you guys, looking for like-minded musos just for the craic.. used to semi-pro play the circuit in the UK back in the day..wedding bands and the like..Rock bands also.
    Have a decent enough kit still (Yamaha 8000 series/ Zildjian Cymbals) can also provide lead/backing harmony vocals. Haven't played in a while, but sure, a bit like falling off a bike!
    In my early 50's...based in Newbridge..no problem travelling to rehearse/jam when working schedule allows.
    Let me know if you're interested.

base player now required!!

having a soft jam before Christmas, but itll be the new year before we get going properly!!

ed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 fatass

Anyone still looking for a band? I'm looking for a singer in the Laois area if anyone is still interested?