Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

having to work late every weekend

Options
  • 29-11-2014 4:44am
    Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭

hi all i recently started a job working in a small shop. I've been working there now for over 2 months. the shop relys on me and one other lad to cover the evening shifts through out the week, while the manager and another girl cover the mornings/days. the shop stays open until 10pm mon-sun and i usually get away by 10.30pm after every thing has been done and home by 11.
    since i have started ive worked every thurs-sun usually 8 hours or more each day until 10 o'clock finish and this does not look likely to change. the other lad is only required to work mon-weds until ten o clock, as he has said he won't work weekends and only wants 3 days per week. i dont mind working weekends dont get me wrong but its the fact that its every weekend without fail stuck in the shop until late that is starting to get to me. im only 24 and enjoy heading out the odd weekend and having a bit of a social life.
    Im thinking about approaching the boss and saying to him i think its unfair that only i shud be made work every weekend to unsociable hours while the other lad only works mon-weds which i think would be pretty handy. they have went through 3 emplyees before me that have had to work the same which i can now see why. i cant see myself sticking the job much longer, the odd saturday or Sunday swapped with the other lads mon tues or weds wud be lovely so thats what i am thinking about asking the boss whether he takes me on or not.