Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Green cert - distance edu course

• 27-11-2014 10:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭

Anyone here doing the green cert online/distance education course this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Yeah think there's a few of us starting in the various centres whenever they kick off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭wildcatares22

we had day 1 in Mullingar today. lots of books, should be an interesting course.

Ah rite! First day is not for another 2 weeks down in kildalton,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭leoch

How long does it last

leoch wrote: »
    How long does it last

About 18 months i think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Yes I started last night. Are you doing yours in Longford? I hear ye have exams after Christmas

Sorry just saw you are doing it in Mullingar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 dermey97

Information night in ballyhaise last night for January start. Seems good but you have to be available for roughly 1 Friday a month for practicals.... Boss will love that.

Yes I started last night. Are you doing yours in Longford? I hear ye have exams after Christmas

Yep, we have day 2 tomorrow Friday. Also have 2 or 3 exams. So far it's just reading and filling out documents for safety and daily diary stuff. Hard getting back into the whole study thing but seems to be the way forward.

dermey97 wrote: »
    Information night in ballyhaise last night for January start. Seems good but you have to be available for roughly 1 Friday a month for practicals.... Boss will love that.

Are ye doing it at night time. We are 9 to 5.

Yep, we have day 2 tomorrow Friday. Also have 2 or 3 exams. So far it's just reading and filling out documents for safety and daily diary stuff. Hard getting back into the whole study thing but seems to be the way forward.

I'm doing mine in Mountbellew, nothing will get going until January but maybe it's because there are 120 doing it there and it's taking longer to make a timetable. What optional modules do you have?

Dairy beef tillage sheep, think that was it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Since everyone here seems to be starting or started tis properly to late for me at this stage. When was this advertised lads and when did ye apply?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

dermey97 wrote: »
    Ballyhaise, that brings back memories :)

I think the closing date was in July. I know it was advertised on the Teagasc website which was where I saw it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Do you need to do 3 months experience with a farmer with the online course or can you do it on the home farm?

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Since everyone here seems to be starting or started tis properly to late for me at this stage. When was this advertised lads and when did ye apply?

Good while back now, think the applications were in around July, think you'll have to wait till next year, they have waiting lists for most of the colleges, even just from people that didn't get the college closest to them and want to change if a place comes available

The home farm for keeping the farm diary etc for 6 months. There will be farm visits and practical days at the college too.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Do you need to do 3 months experience with a farmer with the online course or can you do it on the home farm?

No it's just you have to keep a diary and work on the home farm, it's designed that you could do it while working a job. But you'd need a fairly understanding boss, need a day off every 3weeks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

Zr105 wrote: »
    No it's just you have to keep a diary and work on the home farm, it's designed that you could do it while working a job. But you'd need a fairly understanding boss, need a day off every 3weeks...

feck that, had to beg for one day off over xmas...
    time to do the sums....
    quit the job and do the green cert, to avoid an inheritance tax bill - will one loss outweigh the other!!

feck that, had to beg for one day off over xmas...
    time to do the sums....
    quit the job and do the green cert, to avoid an inheritance tax bill - will one loss outweigh the other!!

Works out at 28days between now and July 2016, but you have all the dates in advance. Still it'd be a bit of an ask alright, and would leave you with no days off for holidays or getting extra jobs done at home if you were working full time alright.

Working on farm so it's handy enough anyways, I've my 4 years in college done so no way I'd be going back to sit another 2 years full time... Had enough of that craic, even though I'd say the green cert course would be a bit easier done with the amount of practical bits.

There's more to it than just the inheritance tax tho to, qualifies you for the young farmer scheme and the likes, and no doubt will be put as a stipulation on various other bits and pieces over the next couple of years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Irishmale

When they said distance they were not joking. doing it in Gurteen, 2.5 hours drive. When i asked about moving they said not so much. great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭FarmerDougal

Irishmale wrote: »
    When they said distance they were not joking. doing it in Gurteen, 2.5 hours drive. When i asked about moving they said not so much. great

I got gurteen 2 hr drive but they switched me to local town after a few calls

ill try again so. Thanks FarmerDougal for the heads up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Works out at 28days between now and July 2016, but you have all the dates in advance. Still it'd be a bit of an ask alright, and would leave you with no days off for holidays or getting extra jobs done at home if you were working full time alright.

Working on farm so it's handy enough anyways, I've my 4 years in college done so no way I'd be going back to sit another 2 years full time... Had enough of that craic, even though I'd say the green cert course would be a bit easier done with the amount of practical bits.

There's more to it than just the inheritance tax tho to, qualifies you for the young farmer scheme and the likes, and no doubt will be put as a stipulation on various other bits and pieces over the next couple of years...

The full time course isn't that taxing, September to February then two weeks in may and second year is alot less. And if you were missing a few days it's no big deal as long as your there for certain days for practical assessments.

C0N0R wrote: »
    The full time course isn't that taxing, September to February then two weeks in may and second year is alot less. And if you were missing a few days it's no big deal as long as your there for certain days for practical assessments.

Yeah but then you also have the placement to do ontop of that, and September to feb would add up to a lot more than 28days Id guess?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Yeah but then you also have the placement to do ontop of that, and September to feb would add up to a lot more than 28days Id guess?

Over 23 have no placement. Your right it is a lot more than 28 days but if you happen to be in between jobs or something it's a handy way of doing it, and as said you don't have to be there five days a week either.

C0N0R wrote: »
    Over 23 have no placement. Your right it is a lot more than 28 days but if you happen to be in between jobs or something it's a handy way of doing it, and as said you don't have to be there five days a week either.

Yeah wouldn't be to bad that way alright if you had the time to do it. They were offering a course through local office there last year, rang up about it and they said yeah one night a week sept-March or something like that, was failing to say that that was for 3years until I asked for the second time... That would be fair drawn out now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 dermey97

Are ye doing it at night time. We are 9 to 5.

No it's one Friday a month 9am to 5pm.

anybody get on to that cost control planner thing yet. am havin fierce trouble getting the head around all that number crunching stuff.

Anyone heard anything from gurteen yet? Has the email with groups etc been sent out yet?

anybody get on to that cost control planner thing yet. am havin fierce trouble getting the head around all that number crunching stuff.

Had my first day today so just got all the books. Not liking the look of that farm accounts book.