Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UL courses?

Options
  • 25-11-2014 12:37am
    Registered Users Posts: 10

I'm a 6th year student and I have no clue what course to do next year. I have it kind of narrowed down to a science or maths or engineering.
    Does anyone know what these courses are like?
    the Bachelor of science in mathematical sciences
    The bachelor of science in Financial mathematics
    The Bachelor of science in Economics and Mathematical Sciences
    Biomedical Engineering
    science Choice

Any recommendations or information will be greatly appreciated :)

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

Science or engineering courses are not to be chosen for the sake of doing something in college. They are hard and require a lot of work and if you're not 100 % interested in them you'll have a hard time.

For engineering you need to be good at maths. Ideally you should be at B or A level in higher level leaving cert maths, and there because you understand it rather than because you've learned off the solutions. If you're not at that level, you'll have to put in a lot of work to get through.

I don't know enough about the mathematical courses to comment on them but I'd suspect a high level of mathematical ability would be needed also.

Before going any further, you need to sit down and think about what you're good at, and what kind of career you'd like to have. The course directors for all the courses are listed on the UL website: they're usually happy to answer queries on the courses.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9