Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where to buy back stolen goods?

• 24-11-2014 10:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭

Mods, feel free to move this is it is totally in the wrong place, but I couldn't see this going anywhere else.

My wife had her car broken into in the Dun Laoghaire area a few weeks back. We didn't report it to the cops as it seemed that nothing was taken apart from some clothing. However, we have now noticed that some very specific scientific equipment is missing, and may have been taken from the car.

Given that clothing was taken, I'm guessing this is an opportunistic crime, and that those involved are looking to sell whatever they take, not craven scientists targeting research equipment they can't get the grant money for. It would really be a pain to get this equipment again and it is needed badly for a project, so I am wondering if there is anywhere where this could be in the process of being flogged so I can have a sweep around to buy them back.

I'm not really interested in catching anyone, just want the items back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

I'd check the "black market"

Theres a special one setup just for very specific scientific equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Donedeal, gumtree, buy and sell, adverts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Talk to Larry Sellars. Lives in Radford - near the In and Out Burger. We can go out aftet the, what-have-ya...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,729 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Car boot sales? Id say you'd be lucky to find them tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

If it's not obvious what it was, or its value, it probably got dumped somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Well you've come to the right place. Sure we're always selling stolen gear here on AH.

Tell us what you're looking for exactly and we'll have a chat with a few of the boys, place an order like. D'ya want any fireworks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭rgunning

mfceiling wrote: »
    Donedeal, gumtree, buy and sell, adverts...

Had a look through them already, but no joy.... Thanks though - had forgotten to try gumtree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

Why would you not report the breakin to the guards? That sort of inaction and social apathy is just as bad, if not worse, than the breakin itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Why would you not report the breakin to the guards? That sort of inaction and social apathy is just as bad, if not worse, than the breakin itself.
    WTF? No, it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

You'd have to imagine that there's really only a very specific subset of the population interested in the sale of very stolen, very specific scientific equipment. Wherever evil geniuses hang out and swap world domination tips and tricks would be my guess?
    Apart from that - it was most likely just fúcked in a field or dark alley somewhere - but then sure, who wasn't? What were we talking about again?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

Yea, it is. How can you not see that just saying MEH, nothing much stolen, lets not actually do anything that might help with preventing this from happening again and possibly catching the criminals is not victimless apathy?

How can you not see that saying that's worse than actually doing the robbing is idiotic?

To be honest, I thought it would be a waste of time to tie up a pair of guards for an hour in search of what I thought was a few Penney's tops.

I do agree that as a victim of crime, that I am worse than a criminal, though. Fair point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Enquire with a few of the local heroin aficionados to spread the word there is a reward for your specific scientific equipment

be very careful of when and where the exchange happens if the gear is located

best of luck

Also, don't call it gear - say equipment!
    Ask them for gear you'll probably end up with something quite different!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Chocolate Lions

If you really want to see apathy that's when you call the gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

rgunning wrote: »
    Mods, feel free to move this is it is totally in the wrong place, but I couldn't see this going anywhere else.

My wife had her car broken into in the Dun Laoghaire area a few weeks back. We didn't report it to the cops as it seemed that nothing was taken apart from some clothing. However, we have now noticed that some very specific scientific equipment is missing, and may have been taken from the car.

Given that clothing was taken, I'm guessing this is an opportunistic crime, and that those involved are looking to sell whatever they take, not craven scientists targeting research equipment they can't get the grant money for. It would really be a pain to get this equipment again and it is needed badly for a project, so I am wondering if there is anywhere where this could be in the process of being flogged so I can have a sweep around to buy them back.

Could have been Gru!!!!

Seriously though, A lot of junkie rob things they think can make them money. Any markets or car boot sales anywhere would be a good bet, but it would be a long shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Recovered property could be with the Guards. But, they'll not know how to get it back to you as it's not reported stolen.

There's a heap of property AGS cannot return to their owners, because they don't know to whom the property belongs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,040 ✭✭✭paulbok

Is that you Walter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Is it of value, or perceived value ie electronic? If not, then I would check around the area that its was stolen as it was probably dumped. If it is of perceived value then set up alerts on the selling sites but chances of recovering are slim. Deffo go to the guards and let them know as it may come back as recovered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

If it's not obvious what it was, or its value, it probably got dumped somewhere.

This. I doubt your average scummer can tell their arse from their elbow, let alone scientific equipment from junk. If it can't be easily sold on or gotten rid of in cash 4 gold it'l be dumped or left in a corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

Do CEX buy in scientific equipment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Not a bad call, I happened to pass my local CEX on Saturday morning and it was skanger central outside waiting for it to open. If my house ever gets burgled again, I will be waiting outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Why not say what the equipment was specifically? Is it top secret? Or medium level secret?

sweetie wrote: »

Will give this a try, great idea.
    wyndham wrote: »
    Why not say what the equipment was specifically? Is it top secret? Or medium level secret?

Lol. Hardly, but if I told you, I would have to kill you - with boredom from having to listen to the background info on the project.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

This.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

This.

Silly and judgemental? I agree. But what can you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭Totofan99

Clara car boot sale maybe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

Silly and judgemental? I agree. But what can you do?

I think the guards have more of a chance of doing it safely.
    I don't agree with the rest of the quote.

I would never go hunting it down on my own though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Maybe the booty has inspired the thievers to start out on a new life of scientific discovery and they are now reformed and applying for an adult education course in Astro-physics? Every cloud and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

we have now noticed that some very specific scientific equipment is missing

Sex toys?
    We didn't report it to the cops

Makes sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Sex toys?

Until we're told exactly I'm going with Scientology auditing "science" equipment.

Although the sex toys would be less embarrassing to report.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

If it's an unlicensed particle accelerator who are you gonna call ?