Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

massey ferguson 6270 5465

• 23-11-2014 5:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭

Changing my 97 7740 and am thinking of a 6270 or a 5465 not much experience with them and am looking for as much information as I can get

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

5465 will be a newer model. the 6270 would be a bit heavier I would think. the 54 series would be the smaller model ranger. Id say the comparable to the 6270 is the 6465. both will have great resale values

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭cz527

f140 wrote: »
    5465 will be a newer model. the 6270 would be a bit heavier I would think. the 54 series would be the smaller model ranger. Id say the comparable to the 6270 is the 6465. both will have great resale values

But what are they like reliability and I'd be putting a loader on it

cz527 wrote: »
    But what are they like reliability and I'd be putting a loader on it

there both supposed to be excellent. the 5465 might be better with the loader as it has clutch less shift.

f140 wrote: »
    there both supposed to be excellent. the 5465 might be better with the loader as it has clutch less shift.

Both have dyna shift but the 5465 would have t shift in the later ones as far as I no but the ordinary gears wouldn't bother me if it would be reliable and dose the clutch and dyna have to be calibrated ever so often

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Both are 6 pot engines, the 5460 is a 4cyl and might be lighter on juice. Don't know much about either. Just throwing another option at ya

kay 9 wrote: »
    Both are 6 pot engines, the 5460 is a 4cyl and might be lighter on juice. Don't know much about either. Just throwing another option at ya

Tanks but I'm looking for a 6 pot not a 4 pot man

Both have dyna shift but the 5465 would have t shift in the later ones as far as I no but the ordinary gears wouldn't bother me if it would be reliable and dose the clutch and dyna have to be calibrated ever so often

couldn't answer that question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Yes...they aren't unknown for return concave washers to crack requiring gearbox to be opened to replace....always taught they are overpriced imo...don't get me wrong there nice to drive...if you are buying them get a visual inspection done on the brake disc as brake failure in these with the open center type hyd are colossal Money to repair

Ok very good information to no.what other make would every one recommend in the 115 120 hp range I always loved massey but wouldn't won't to get stuck with a bad yoke either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Had a 5465 here for 5 yrs. Super tractor, never a moments bother. Dyna 4 with "T" bar. Very comfortable on the road

I'd have thought it'd be a bit long for a loader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

We have a 6260 on a loader here, 6pot no turbo, great tractor, I prefare the 62 series to the 54 series, better tractor, stronger, all the cab interior is better too, harder plastic stinger than 54

micraX wrote: »
    We have a 6260 on a loader here, 6pot no turbo, great tractor, I prefare the 62 series to the 54 series, better tractor, stronger, all the cab interior is better too, harder plastic stinger than 54
    Yes the 62 does seem to be a stronger tractor and just as deere to buy as the newer 54 or 64 model's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭The Letheram

How about staying blue? I have spent a lot of time on a T6050 and have to say I found it a lovely place to be. Slightly stronger than you want at 126 horses but I am sure the 6030 would be a nice yoke too though I never drove one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Of the 2 definitly the 62 if their both clean. Especially if it has the power control yoke that you can set it to auto shift up the dyna at either 1700 or 2200 rpm. The dyna shift on the shuttle is still one of the handiest boxes I've ever driven, especially for bailing or loader work.

Main reason I'd go 6270 is that it's the bottom (6cyl) model in the range so the back end is far from under pressure, and they could take a fair bit of a turn up when they were in the 6290's. On the other hand the 54 would be closer to the top end of the power bracket for the back end, I'd say it could easily handle more but it'll still be closer to its limit

Zr105 wrote: »
    Of the 2 definitly the 62 if their both clean. Especially if it has the power control yoke that you can set it to auto shift up the dyna at either 1700 or 2200 rpm. The dyna shift on the shuttle is still one of the handiest boxes I've ever driven, especially for bailing or loader work.

Main reason I'd go 6270 is that it's the bottom (6cyl) model in the range so the back end is far from under pressure, and they could take a fair bit of a turn up when they were in the 6290's. On the other hand the 54 would be closer to the top end of the power bracket for the back end, I'd say it could easily handle more but it'll still be closer to its limit

I think I will be looking for a 6270 seems to be a better around tractor and best for my needs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Of all the gearboxes that I've used the Dyna6 is the most frustrating.
    The man that designed it should be shot with a ball of his own shyte!

Dyna4 is fine though.

Dawggone wrote: »

Of all the gearboxes that I've used the Dyna6 is the most frustrating.
    The man that designed it should be shot with a ball of his own shyte!

Dyna4 is fine though.

Was never even in the cab of a dyna6, drove a few 62's a bit, and took a 5470 for a spin round dealers yard one day, not a bad bus, the dial for the preselected gear drop seemed handy on it.

I just found the gears on the shuttle lever were a great job when your looking round over your right shoulder rather than having to stretch forward to them

Was never even in the cab of a dyna6, drove a few 62's a bit, and took a 5470 for a spin round dealers yard one day, not a bad bus, the dial for the preselected gear drop seemed handy on it.

I just found the gears on the shuttle lever were a great job when your looking round over your right shoulder rather than having to stretch forward to them

You can also change gear with shuttle lever, handy when on phone:)

open or closed hydraulics and what is the difrence with both il be putting a loader on it if that makes a difrence

I read a big long explanation on the difference only recently but I couldn't tell ya the difference tbh, only thing I can think of is that they require a slightly different valve chest for the loader I think,

Only major thing would be if your hooking it up to the likes of a fusion that it would really be an issue, as I think one works easier/better than the other but I couldn't tell you which is which

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭dh1985

I read a big long explanation on the difference only recently but I couldn't tell ya the difference tbh, only thing I can think of is that they require a slightly different valve chest for the loader I think,

Only major thing would be if your hooking it up to the likes of a fusion that it would really be an issue, as I think one works easier/better than the other but I couldn't tell you which is which

With an open system the pump is constantly pumping oil even when the valves are closed and its just recirculating back to tank. With the closed systems they detect when valves are closed and dont be continously pumping oil to tank but the energy may be stored via an accumulator. I think the closed system is supposed to be a more modern and expensive set up. But I am open to correction on all of the above

You can also change gear with shuttle lever, handy when on phone:)

True. But T-bar gearchange is OPPOSITE when in reverse on Dyna6. What a genius bit of engineering !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

True. But T-bar gearchange is OPPOSITE when in reverse on Dyna6. What a genius bit of engineering !

That's fcukin vexes me too. Esp when drawing bales to trailer in field and want to to go into next box ye would automatically think that by pulling T bar back you go into the next box.
    No ye fcukin don't straight down into first box.
    Only thing I hate about the tractor oh and taking off if your loading muck or straw or anything and ye let your foot off clutch to quick she'll take herself out of gear

That's fcukin vexes me too. Esp when drawing bales to trailer in field and want to to go into next box ye would automatically think that by pulling T bar back you go into the next box.
    Only thing I hate about the tractor oh and taking off if your loading muck or straw or anything and ye let your foot off clutch to quick she'll take herself out of gear

You might need to recalibrate that Gg.

Thought that too set the shuttle for into ingage slowly bit better but still does it the odd time.
    Would they need to be recalibrated Evert 1k hrs
    700 up on her since may

Thought that too set the shuttle for into ingage slowly bit better but still does it the odd time.
    Would they need to be recalibrated Evert 1k hrs
    700 up on her since may

I only have experience of the 6499 and 6480 and if clutch gets any bit sharp I recal the box. Only takes about 10 mins but the difference is huge.

Go into menu on left hand screen and you can change all those settings.

Had tractor in for service and a small job to suspension yesterday. Got a walk through computer. He told me it was now active I asked why it had been turned off and his reply was "your a dairy farmer". He kinda hit the nail on the head.

Go into menu on left hand screen and you can change all those settings.

Had tractor in for service and a small job to suspension yesterday. Got a walk through computer. He told me it was now active I asked why it had been turned off and his reply was "your a dairy farmer". He kinda hit the nail on the head.

Ye I found the shuttle settings in that still not great IMO
    She'll prob get a service in new yr I'll look into it then.
    How's yours going?

Ye I found the shuttle settings in that still not great IMO
    She'll prob get a service in new yr I'll look into it then.
    How's yours going?

Parked in shed till springers need to move after Xmas them slurry. Available for hire ATM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

dh1985 wrote: »
    With an open system the pump is constantly pumping oil even when the valves are closed and its just recirculating back to tank. With the closed systems they detect when valves are closed and dont be continously pumping oil to tank but the energy may be stored via an accumulator. I think the closed system is supposed to be a more modern and expensive set up. But I am open to correction on all of the above

Afaik you are nearly right...open system is the more expensive...as you will nearly always have a variable displacement pump and a charge pump aswell usually

They are the better imo...you always have oil and better flow rates at lower rpm!!

You would tend to see them more on the likes of track machinery ....were the need for smoother/quicker hydraulics is more obvious...they give smoother/quicker response etc when working the hydraulics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭dh1985

Afaik you are nearly right...open system is the more expensive...as you will nearly always have a variable displacement pump and a charge pump aswell usually

They are the better imo...you always have oil and better flow rates at lower rpm!!

You would tend to see them more on the likes of track machinery ....were the need for smoother/quicker hydraulics is more obvious...they give smoother/quicker response etc when working the hydraulics

I think you are getting your wires crossed tom. The open center systems require just a constant displacement pump whilst the closed sytem requires the variable flow pump and accumulator. I believe that the closed system has better control as there will be a back pressure present at all times with the closed centre valve whilst the open centre will take time to build pressure to complete its task due to the fact the oil is just circulating constantly.