Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxi drivers.

• 23-11-2014 3:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41

This has to be lands end when it comes to a choice of career. In the door tonight early because I couldn't stick another second of it. I've done 9 years of Taxi driving weekend nights dealing with the dregs of humanity, there has to be more to life.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Ye busy tonight? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

A taxi driver moaning, now there's something you don't see every day. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Matta Harri

I've got the best laughs and most insightful advice from taxi drivers. And a more than average ride.

Ye rock, keep at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,437 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

This has to be lands end when it comes to a choice of career. In the door tonight early because I couldn't stick another second of it. I've done 9 years of Taxi driving weekend nights dealing with the dregs of humanity, there has to be more to life.....

Was it raining out there tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Busy tonight?

What time ya on to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Must be a ****ty job at times. But I bet there are good moments too.
    Maybe those good moments outweigh the bad?
    In depth rather than frequency.
    I hope.
    Respect to you anyway, you have a tough job and you have done it for 9 years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Conversations with cabbbies.

Me - Are ya busy?

Taxi driver (TD) - Nah, shíte.

Me - Are ya on now for the night? (No point in asking you that now OP ya lazy git)

TD - Till whenever.

Me - Dirty oul weather.

TD - Yeah, shíte, whatever. Fuckin government.

Me - How much does that come to?

TD - Grunts something unfathomable and points at meter.

Me - WHAT ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Personally I don't like taxi drivers mainly because of the poor mouth you always get outta them.
    But saying that, I imagine the sort of things they see would be messed up. Especially when working nights and the amount of pissed up people who get in the car.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Taxi drivers are a bit like Dublin Airport staff and Islamic extremists. Vaguely criticise one of them, however constructively or mildly, and the entire lot of them take it as a personal insult to generations of their families. Hyper sensitive.

Fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

People whinge about taxi drivers a lot, but I've rarely had a bad one.

The worst was possibly when I came out of "an after hours private party" and had to get a taxi because I had a clue where I was (slightly "worse for wear"). He spent the journey back to where I was staying telling me about how the church nearby does a good mass, and was that where I was headed. More arkward than anything else.

Other than that, I have a chat, or sit in silence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Where do you operate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Or even hear everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I've got the best laughs and most insightful advice from taxi drivers. And a more than average ride.

Ooh-er.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Taxi Driver "What way would you like me to go?"

Charlie19 "Eh.. The quickest, the cheapest". Come on now, you've done this before.

I have to say, It not all drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Drummer1967

Must be a ****ty job at times. But I bet there are good moments too.
    Maybe those good moments outweigh the bad?
    In depth rather than frequency.
    I hope.
    Respect to you anyway, you have a tough job and you have done it for 9 years.

There are very few Taxi drivers born, for most of us we are in this through circumstance rather than choice,I've had my fill of it now.It might be ok for those retired on good pensions to potter about for some extra cash.. but if its your only source of income....Forget it

Well moaning is not restricted to Taxi drivers,I loose money every week sitting outside peoples houses after the fare is paid listening to their problems and opinions on everything...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Never really had much trouble with taxi drivers, met some really nice ones too who I always try to get again. Only really had two bad experiences. One was a taxi driver who wouldn't stop on the way to get money out, he just locked the doors and kept driving, saying that he had a family to feed (even though only one girl was getting out and it was to get money to pay him in the first place). The second time was a guy who thought we were all ridiculously drunk for some reason, after a night out. Unfortunately for him, I don't drink but still had to end up screaming at him to stop as he had gone temporarily deaf going past the road to where we were living, and his foot had gotten temporarily heavy. Then when we were out, I paid for three of the girls and another girl paid for herself. However, he had the cheek to turn the taxi around and stop us to say we didn't give him enough, holding out what we had supposedly given him. There were only two 50c in his hand, and I had given him four which was the first give away, the second was the fact I was sober and knew what I gave him and seen the other girl pay him. When I told him such, he flew off up the road without another word...

Again, they were the only two really bad ones. The rest, I've never had problems with. I think it's always a good idea to find a taxi driver you can trust though.

There are still a lot of scumbags driving Taxis.I was punched in the face by another driver about two years ago on a rank,so I know all about it.It's easier now to track down Rogue driver all you need is the roof sign number, you don't need his ID or the car reg as all drivers now have to register and link themselves to the roof sign. An app is now available for most phones called Driver check by typing in the car reg or roof sign you will get all the drivers details plus a photo of him/her..And then simply press report.

There are still a lot of scumbags driving Taxis.I was punched in the face by another driver about two years ago on a rank,so I know all about it.It's easier now to track a down Rogue driver all you need is the roof sign number, you don't need his ID or the car reg as all drivers now have to register and link themselves to the roof sign. An app is now available for most phones called Driver check by typing in the car reg or roof sign you will get all the drivers details plus a photo of him/her..And then simply press report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

I got a taxi yesterday back from the aviva. Small bit of banter about the rugby and relaxing drive in a clean car. Great customer service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Woukd you be better off doing stuff like airport and shopping centre runs? If I had to deal with some of the Saturday night crowd myself I'd probably end up running over some cnut.

I'm going to try doing days for a while the night work is not good for the soul or my drinking habbits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Mostly positive experiences with taxi drivers apart from one guy.

Got a taxi with a friend from whitehall road.

Hop in and ask to go to o connell street. Taxi Driver was clueless as to where this was. Now at this stage he had begun to drive.

He asked that we direct him. I have no problem doing so if it is not a well known area etc.

I asked him how he didnt know where o connell street was, the main street of the capital! Cue excuses and then been told he didnt speak good english.

So I told him to f off and I got out of the taxi at whitehall garda station, not paying a cent.

Proper order.He obviously was illegal in the first place so the insurance on the Taxi would be zero if the clown injured you in an accident.
    I gave up working in Dublin because of these idiots