Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minimum wage in Ireland is €35,000 per year according to Enda Kenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I assume he meant average industrial wage. As much as I hate Kenny, I'm not going to crucify him for making a slip of the tongue on the news. There's plenty of actual sh*te you can be mad at him about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Oh Enda, so blissfully unaware up in your ivory tower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

'a single worker on a minimum wage of €35,000 a year....'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

'a single worker on a minimum wage of €35,000 a year....'

Yes he said it, no its not correct. He meant the AIW. Everyone knows hes not fit to make unscripted remarks. At least hes not a drunkard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Yes he said it, no its not correct. He meant the AIW. Everyone knows hes not fit to make unscripted remarks. At least hes not a drunkard.

I don't know about that, didn't he get langers at a function before and start telling jokes in which Patrice Lumumba was referred to as a "n*gger"?

I've seen Kenny speak a couple of times unscripted and he was always poor enough. He has the charisma of a ****-sock. I saw Bertie before as well, and as much as a langer he is, he does have a charm in person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,734 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Slip of the tongue.

Really a nothing issue.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

At least a drunkard would have that excuse.

Obama thinks there are 57 states in America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

He didn't say 'a single worker on the minimum wage of €35,000....'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,181 ✭✭✭DenMan

He did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

yes he did. well infact it was more like 'on de minimum wage of 35,000'

but yea, stupid slip of the tongue by a known fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Ahern was the teflon Taoiseach, Enda is the wooden Taoiseach. You're in trouble when your wax work looks more life like than you do, probably has a better personality too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Maybe he means the average worker on the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Hang him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

DenMan wrote: »
    On the 9pm news on RTE last night! It's not even half that you tool!!!

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=804735976239922

Well a tad over half of that. 8.65 ph, 39hr 52 weeks = €17542.2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭Deenie123

Slip of the tongue? Nah, more like a Freudian slip. Obviously doesn't believe how little some people are living off. Would explain why they think people actually have hundreds of euro to pay for water - something already paid for in taxes "ringfenced" for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Lads, how many of you seriously believe that the Taoiseach doesn't know what the minimum wage is? More fool those who actually believe that.

He meant average industrial wage and it's a non issue really FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

amazing really, the most powerful job in the country, and u dont need to do an interview or have qualifications...
    Berties accountancy qualification was even called into question...says it all really..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Yes he said it, no its not correct. He meant the AIW. Everyone knows hes not fit to make unscripted remarks.

I'm Ron Burgendy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,050 ✭✭✭nokia69

is 35K still the average wage, that was the number used during the property banking bubble

has it not dropped since then

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Don Kedick

How is this awful gobsh1te our Taoiseach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭Ravenid

If he honestly believed that was the Min Wage it would explain a lot of things.

"Sure why are they moaning about €240 water Charges. A dishwasher earns more than enough through the min wage scheme."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Thats a bloody disgrace. We badly need a Taosieach that can empathize with and relate to the working class citizens. What we do not need from another Taoiseach is somebody who has been perched in Dail Eireann for decades and cannot relate to the hardships of everyday life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Irishcrx wrote: »
    Lads, how many of you seriously believe that the Taoiseach doesn't know what the minimum wage is? More fool those who actually believe that.

He meant average industrial wage and it's a non issue really FFS.

A normal teashock maybe...but with Kenny you cant be sure...one thing is...he (and seemingly most of the government) sure as hell don't give a **** about people on the minimum wage/social welfare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

I blame Joan Burton for this. As Minister for Social Protection she should be keeping Enda fully informed of what the minimum wage is instead of feeding him LIES to embarrass him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I would give greater gravitas to the words uttered by a turnip, than anything coming out of mouth of Enda Kenny.

Turnip/Enda...whats the difference?..one is dull, sour, ugly to look at and bland.........the other is a vegetable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

chrysagon wrote: »
    Turnip/Enda...whats the difference?..one is dull, sour, ugly to look at and bland.........the other is a vegetable!

Both are loved by Mayo folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

chrysagon wrote: »
    Turnip/Enda...whats the difference?

Well in terms of intelligence, ability, personality and charisma, the turnip does have an advantage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

I didn't see the interview, but did he say a single worker on €35k per annum?

If he meant (in his own head) two partners (husband and wife) working on the minimum wage, it'd be close to €35k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

smcgiff wrote: »
    I didn't see the interview, but did he say a single worker on €35k per annum?

If he meant (in his own head) two partners (husband and wife) working on the minimum wage, it'd be close to €35k.

Or maybe he meant "the minimum wage at which point people are going to contemplate voting for Fine Gael".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭ShowMeTheCash

At least he's not running the country... Oh wait!

Talking turnips you say, where could I acquire such an item?

In politics, stupidity is not a handicap.”
    ― Napoleon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Most people on minimum wage don't get 39hrs a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

Can I have that in writing to my employer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

Its obvious he meant average.

yipeeeee wrote: »

Ahh I see... He meant average! That's it all sorted then.
    Everyone let's close this thread... He meant average :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

FTA69 wrote: »
    I assume he meant average industrial wage. As much as I hate Kenny, I'm not going to crucify him for making a slip of the tongue on the news. There's plenty of actual sh*te you can be mad at him about.

Sorry but I expect the leader of the country to have some sort of grasp of the facts when it comes to addressing the nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

human being misspeaks shocker

Riskymove wrote: »
    human being misspeaks shocker

miss peaks I have seen all her movies :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

yipeeeee wrote: »

Still should've used median.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

I'm pretty sure he knows more of minimum and average wages than anybody here, even with google at most our fingertips. Casual slip up of words that of course is going to lead to him being crucified over because of his unpopular status at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Faux Outrage:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

He wants to increase minmum wage to 35k. He needs the votes :)