Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Log book

• 20-11-2014 10:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭

Does anyone know a rough time frame of how long it takes for a log book to arrive?

Bought a car on the 10th and the previous owner sent the log book off straight away. When should I expect to get it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Took about 2 weeks for me there recently.

You can put in your reg here and it will tell you if they are processing it:

https://www.motortax.ie/PSE/start.do;jsessionid=0aa0114830d8f53ebc0982914e938b869bd2d8d20cf4.e38PaNaSbhuOay0MaN4Le0?page=welcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭dobman88

bazz26 wrote: »
    Took about 2 weeks for me there recently.

You can put in your reg here and it will tell you if they are processing it:

https://www.motortax.ie/PSE/start.do;jsessionid=0aa0114830d8f53ebc0982914e938b869bd2d8d20cf4.e38PaNaSbhuOay0MaN4Le0?page=welcome

Thanks for that. The date in my op is wrong. I actually bought it on the 10th. I checked the site and it says the most recent vehicle reg cert was issued on the 12th.

If I don't have it by Monday would it be worth ringing them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

No point ringing it can be slow.

Use to take 4 to 5 weeks

No point ringing it can be slow.

Use to take 4 to 5 weeks

Yeah I know that. I just want to get it sorted asap. This is my first car and I have it insured and everything already so just want to sort the tax. I'm 26 so waited long enough for my own car :)

dobman88 wrote: »
    Yeah I know that. I just want to get it sorted asap. This is my first car and I have it insured and everything already so just want to sort the tax. I'm 26 so waited long enough for my own car :)

You can tax online even without book once in your name as it is from your post.

Go online motortax.ie and request pin.

Tax job done then;)

You can tax online even without book once in your name as it is from your post.

Go online motortax.ie and request pin.

Tax job done then;)

I was gonna do all that but was told it's better to go to the tac office for the first time and renew it online after. I'm new to all this so didn't question it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Who actually told you that ?????? :rolleyes:

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    Who actually told you that ?????? :rolleyes:

Does that matter? I am new to this and just want to get on the road. I know plenty of lads who would be chancing it driving without tax but I'm trying to do things properly so unless you have something to say that may help.........

Well, if you just want to get on the road why don't you go online, get a PIN and Tax it online.....despite what someone told you.
    Have you requested a PIN nimber yet ? You can do it anytime, 24 hours a day.

Well, if you just want to get on the road why don't you go online, get a PIN and Tax it online.....despite what someone told you.
    Have you requested a PIN nimber yet ? You can do it anytime, 24 hours a day.

No I haven't done anything online, apart from enter my reg number in the above link to see that the car was regiregistered to my address.

What I was told to do, by a trusted source who sounds wrong by what you're saying, is wait for the log book to come and actually go to the tax office because it's my first time registering a car and I can do it all online when I renew it.

But you think I'll be grand to just tax it online and have the disc sent out?

Of course you'll be fine doing it online. That's what it's there for.
    First of all it'll be taxed immediately, and secondly the system will only let you do it if the changeover has been done properly.....i.e. you will be able to confirm that you are the new registered owner.
    Your VLC is probably sitting in the 'outpile' somewhere in Shannon, and may not be actually posted for another few days....or it may arrive in the morning.
    But at least if you tax the car now it's one less headache in your life.

I sold a car to a family member, sent of paperwork and they had new logbook 2 days later!

Cheers for that :(

Of course you'll be fine doing it online. That's what it's there for.
    First of all it'll be taxed immediately, and secondly the system will only let you do it if the changeover has been done properly.....i.e. you will be able to confirm that you are the new registered owner.
    Your VLC is probably sitting in the 'outpile' somewhere in Shannon, and may not be actually posted for another few days....or it may arrive in the morning.
    But at least if you tax the car now it's one less headache in your life.

Thanks. And I assume they email you or something so I can show the gards if I get stopped before I get the disc? Will wait until tomorrow and if the log book doesn't turn up I'll do the online thing tomorrow evening.

Thanks for the help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Shannon are really quick sending out tax discs.
    Once is the best way IMO

Op don't understand why anyone would tell you to waste hours going to the trouble of going to the motor tax office that is just nuts.

As I said before go online request pin or if book arrived pin would be with it.

You can print the receipt of tax paid and when doing online you will cut out any hassle.

Tax disc sent out to you very quick.

Thanks guys for the help. Like I said, I'm new to all this and didn't question the man who tild me. I'll see if the log book has arrived with a pin when I get home from work and if not I'll just request one.

Thanks again.

You will not get a PIN with the new logbook. You only get a PIN in the post with the motor tax renewal reminder form. As the tax has already expired you will not receive a renewal reminder so you either need to request a new PIN to tax it online or go to the trouble of going into the motor tax office and taxing it in person.

Still no sign of the log book when I got home this eve so I took the advice from here and just taxed it. I have no idea what my guy was smoking but I'm happy to have it taxed now. Printed the page off to show Garda if I get stopped and hopefully have the disc by Wednesday or Thursday.

Thanks for the help here. Yer not a bad bunch!

You'll have the disc fairly promptly, usually only takes 2 to 3 working days.

bazz26 wrote: »
    You'll have the disc fairly promptly, usually only takes 2 to 3 working days.

Yeah I spotted that on the confirmation page. I'll probably have it before the log book :rolleyes:

Got the disc today. Still no log book. Lol. Thanks guys for the advice here. On my merry way on the road now.

Another question. Do I need the log book to get an nct? Not due til next May. Just wondering.

dobman88 wrote: »
    Got the disc today. Still no log book. Lol. Thanks guys for the advice here. On my merry way on the road now.

Another question. Do I need the log book to get an nct? Not due til next May. Just wondering.

Yes but some don't look.

You should have it well before that, also you can do the NCT 90days early so you have a year and 3 months.

Yes but some don't look.

You should have it well before that, also you can do the NCT 90days early so you have a year and 3 months.

Yeah I know about the 90 days. Need to just fix a cv joint in the right drivers tyre and put it through hopefully Feb or March.