Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda line up

• 19-11-2014 6:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭

So I was stopped on the street by 2 detectives and asked to be in a line up. A quiet day so I agreed. Basically 3 of us lads of mixed ages 25 to 50ish stood in a cell and then the cops brought in some skanger and removed his handcuffs and locked us in
    Then 2 mins later the slot on the door opened and someone looked in for a minute. There was tears and she sounded upset and she said she thought it was the guy next to me- the wrong guy who looked absolutely nothing like the yob that previously had the cuffs on.
    Cop put cuffs back on the skanger guy and gave each of us €25. The guy that'was picked out by the girl left too but was told not. To worry about it.

Weird experience really. How could she pick some 30 years older, fatter and 6 inches taller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

How could she pick some 30 years older, fatter and 6 inches taller.

Just shows how unreliable eye witness testimony is as evidence I suppose.

25 quid though, nice little earner.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 162 ✭✭costadeldole

So I was stopped on the street by 2 detectives and asked to be in a line up. A quiet day so I agreed. Basically 3 of us lads of mixed ages 25 to 50ish stood in a cell and then the cops brought in some skanger and removed his handcuffs and locked us in
    Then 2 mins later the slot on the door opened and someone looked in for a minute. There was tears and she sounded upset and she said she thought it was the guy next to me- the wrong guy who looked absolutely nothing like the yob that previously had the cuffs on.
    Cop put cuffs back on the skanger guy and gave each of us €25. The guy that'was picked out by the girl left too but was told not. To worry about it.

Weird experience really. How could she pick some 30 years older, fatter and 6 inches taller.

She obviously chose the wrong man deliberately. It was no mistake.
    Nice little earner for you though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Didn't think they did police line-ups in Ireland. Was the person behind one way glass or could you see her? Must be fairly distressing if an assailant was able to look a victim in the eye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Worked near the Bridewell years ago and occasionally they came looking for lads to take part in line ups. Did 2 or 3 of them and I remember that the witness used come into the room and walk up and down the line. Maybe it's too dangerous for that now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

ollaetta wrote: »
    Worked near the Bridewell years ago and occasionally they came looking for lads to take part in line ups. Did 2 or 3 of them and I remember that the witness used come into the room and walk up and down the line. Maybe it's too dangerous for that now.

You'd imagine the criminal would already know what the victim looked like though.

Why bother hiding them. Unless of course they attacked them or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

That happened me about 10 years ago everyone who was asked to be in the line up was over 6ft the one guy who wasn't asked was about 5ft nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

They will have seen each other already anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Putinovsky

Well it wouldn't just be victims, it would be witnesses as well and then victims might be too afraid to single out their assailant when the assailant is looking at them irrespective of the garda presence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I done that 3 times and was picked but obviously wasn't me.
    But I never got fcuking paid.
    Garda owes me 75 quid so. !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

She obviously chose the wrong man deliberately. It was no mistake.

Umm, why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭donutheadhomer

Well I did think it was weird coz he gave me the cash out of his wallet

Fuhrer wrote: »
    You'd imagine the criminal would already know what the victim looked like though.

Why bother hiding them. Unless of course they attacked them or something.

Not sure what crime they did now but criminal or any of us could not see her. Sort of like the postman looking in your letterbox. All I could see was her eyes. The yob looked very worried and she still picked the wrong guy. Think she did it ddliberetly as there was such s difference in age/stature etc

Cormac... wrote: »
    Umm, why?

Makes me think witness evidence is useless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Did you pay tax on that 25 quid, you scrounger?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

That's the risk. If you get picked out you don't get the cash.

It's like a really lowbrow gameshow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

Put handcuffs on a skanger, and all of a sudden he's guilty :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

€25? Lucky you!

Did you pay tax on that 25 quid, you scrounger?

Yes in the form of vat and excise on the pints I drank with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Put handcuffs on a skanger, and all of a sudden he's guilty :rolleyes:

Chanes are he was already guilty without the cuffs.

Frynge wrote: »
    Chanes are he was already guilty without the cuffs.

Well I've found the guys name out and on the most recent court report he has 70 previous convictiond

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Well I've found the guys name out and on the most recent court report he has 70 previous convictiond

So that would make him automatically guilty of this one, good work detective .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

realies wrote: »
    So that would make him automatically guilty of this one, good work detective .

I've lots of buckets of tar but only one brush.