Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The food "police"!

• 19-11-2014 1:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭

OK so it is day 3 of a Craft Fair.... selling well thankfully but getting tired now.... am over 70 and stamina is fading...

Every cent I take goes away and I take a flask and food and being a pensioner live well but simply so buying food in cafes is OUT.

There is a lovely couple from the Netherlands who make and sell crepes and waffles etc; they always bring me a cake when I am at that place... kindness in person.

Today! They bring me a crepe, filled with chocolate and strawberries, with a heaping of whipped cream on top... OH YUM! My kind of food and a total luxury.

SO I am just about to take that first delicious mouthful.. YOU know the feeling! Taste buds drooling.. when the guy on the next stall glares and glowers at MY TREAT and declares " SUGAR AND FAT!!!!" With huge contempt

He has read up on all this on the internet you see:( Believes that sugar is evil etc etc and cannot keep his views to himself..

I have no weight problems, apart from not being able to put it on or keep it on, and no cholesterol issues etc and in fact have a problem maintaining blood sugar levels.

AND I NEED A TREAT! That crepe renewed me and kept me working for a few more hours, Could just eat one now

The food police! Ay me! Otherwise he is the kindest and most helpful of men; always helps me load the car if we are at the same events etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Tell him to go read up on "Go f*ck yourself" on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

What?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

Is the op on the sherry?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Ah tell him mind his business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭frippy

Was he fat, or did he look formerly fat?
    The reformed are the worst offenders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭miezekatze

There's a guy like that where I work too. I rarely have pastries etc. for my breakfast, but on the rare occasion that I treat myself to one, I can be sure he'll be standing next to me telling me how unhealthy it is. I wish people would just mind their own business - everyone knows pastries/crepes/whatever aren't healthy, I don't need to be told this when I'm about to treat myself to one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Don't take this crepe creep's crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

frippy wrote: »
    Was he fat, or did he look formerly fat?
    The reformed are the worst offenders

Hasn't a pick on him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭swiftman

Is the old guy at the next stall ray D'Arcy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

What's the guy selling?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Graces7 wrote: »
    Hasn't a pick on him...

Like the Kerry coalminer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

What's the guy selling?

Hopefully some art made out of plants grown on small Scottish farms.

Then he'd be a croft crop craft crepe creep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

It was very bad during the college years, if I want to live off a Koka noodle sandwich for the day I will thank you very much.

I haven't touch that awful **** since graduation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I believe it's called taking the piss, he was probably just jealous. You should have slowly enjoyed it in front of his face and acted out an orgasim while doing so to show how good it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

when the guy on the next stall glares and glowers at MY TREAT and declares " SUGAR AND FAT!!!!" With huge contempt

This sounds like something in Seinfeld or Curb your Enthusiasm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Cormac... wrote: »
    This sounds like something in Seinfeld or Curb your Enthusiasm

Jewish?

Hasn't a pick on him...

Tell him that a life lived without an occasional luxury is a life only half-lived. Denying yourself the pleasure of something delicious the odd time is pointless, and at 70+ you've earned the right to stop and enjoy a treat.

Enjoy every last bite of your crepe, and the kindness that brings it to you. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

What a load of crepe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Jewish?

No, as in situational comedy that has some overly opinionated characters

But.....

"You Paid HOW MUCH for that crepe? What a putz!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I wouldn't take that crepe from anybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I Like Cake !

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

maybe he was passionate about food

i fcuking hate that phrase:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Fat Bollix you mean ?

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

i fcuking hate that phrase:mad:

Well said!

There was a lad standing for the local elections down my way who described himself on the junk mail he put in my letter-box as a 'passionate beef farmer'. I had visions of him running around the farm in his underpants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Candie wrote: »
    Tell him that a life lived without an occasional luxury is a life only half-lived. Denying yourself the pleasure of something delicious the odd time is pointless, and at 70+ you've earned the right to stop and enjoy a treat.

Enjoy every last bite of your crepe, and the kindness that brings it to you. :)

Oh I did! I totally agree with you and my delight when that crepe appeared was huge...Treats are grand...and rare... Just the food police seem to abound at markets.. they have read books like " Pure white and deadly" and have no sense of proportion. Would find greater health in a fruit filled crepe than eg a large raw grapefruit I was offered then!
    Once offered him a mince pie.. TOO SUGARY FOR ME... well fine all the more for me

I try to explain it is balance.. Deaf ears. Back at that same venue on 30th! Bring on the crepes! I gave the crepemakers home made jam ..