Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Popping the Question?

• 18-11-2014 12:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭

So I’m thinking of doing the whole getting down on one knee thing soon and was wondering how others have gone about it.

Did you have it written out in hundred foot letters as you both flew overhead in a hot air balloon at sunrise sipping champagne?
    Or
    Did you wake up hung over fart roll over look at her bleary eyed and ask “So are you going to marry me or what?”

I’m looking to try and make it a special moment but not sure what to exactly to do. It’s one of those things that she will get asked about forever so I want to do it right and make it good but at the same time don’t want to be cheesy as hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,762 ✭✭✭FourFourRED

If I got down on one knee, I don't think I'd get back up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Ask her the question but get her to respond by tugging your lad once for yes or tugging it 100 times for no.

Either way it's a happy ending.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

That fecking USC is killing me, marry me so I can share your tax credits.

Guranteed to work OP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Nothing special really, we were just out for a walk and I decided I would ask then. We're both fairly shy and some people would be terribly embarrassed and overwhelmed by the big show-ey things or in a fancy restaurant/asking in front of others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Zits. Explode 'em or not.

That's the only Popping Question I'm interested in right now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

It all depends on your style op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Well I'd like to do something to make it memorable (not that just doing it wont be).

We are going to Paris soon and thought I might do it there.

Paris is too common these days, more exciting if you did it during mass on the second reading.

Doc wrote: »
    We are going to Paris soon and thought I might do it there.

They'll guess.

Best way to keep 'em on their toes is to bring 'em to Paris and then NOT propose.

They'll be so surprised when you wait until you've landed back in Ireland and pop the question down the back of the Aircoach on the way home.

AnonoBoy wrote: »

They'll be so surprised when you wait until you've landed back in Ireland and pop the question down the back of the Aircoach on the way home.

Or the Applegreen over coffee if they used a car to travel to and from airport.

Paris is too common these days, more exciting if you did it during mass on the second reading.

I was actually thinking that (not the mass part) but she has never been to Paris before. We live in Australia (shes Australian) and are stopping off in Paris for a couple of days before we go to Ireland for Christmas with my family.

Or the Applegreen over coffee if they used a car to travel to and from airport.

Someone's a romantic! ;)

I was actually thinking that (not the mass part) but she has never been to Paris before. We live in Australia (shes Australian) and are stopping off in Paris for a couple of days before we go to Ireland for Christmas with my family.

All jokes aside op, if she says no in Paris what happens then. I would rethink that strategy. Propose before you leave or wait till you come back from holidays.

I wouldn't be proposing if I wasn't sure she would say yes.

(Not being cocky just sure of our relationship)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Straylight

If it's at the stage where the OP is popping the question, I'd imagine he'd have a fair idea whether or not she'll say yes. I proposed to my wife in Rome, and it never even occurred to me that she'd say no as we'd already discussed getting married. Who's to say the OP and his girlfriend haven't already had that conversation?

Straylight wrote: »
    If it's at the stage where the OP is popping the question, I'd imagine he'd have a fair idea whether or not she'll say yes. I proposed to my wife in Rome, and it never even occurred to me that she'd say no as we'd already discussed getting married. Who's to say the OP and his girlfriend haven't already had that conversation?

Alrite calm down, if its a dead cert thats fine. Its not uncommon to hear the word no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Straylight

Alrite calm down, if its a dead cert thats fine. Its not uncommon to hear the word no.

I fail to see where I wasn't being calm. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Stinjy

I wouldn't do it in Paris.. But you say she's Australian and you're coming to Ireland for Xmas? I'd do it in Ireland! nothing too fancy I'd personally prefer it to be a private event nothing that caused a scene. But some people like the fuss of it so depends if she likes that sorta stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

I've always imagined if I were to propose to someone I'd do it on a beautiful arched bridge overlooking a river with the brightness of the moon reflecting onto the water below.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Clankatron

Macavity. wrote: »
    I've always imagined if I were to propose to someone I'd do it on a beautiful arched bridge overlooking a river with the brightness of the moon reflecting onto the water below.

And some fat lad pulling the wire off himself, watching ye from the bushes. Ah young love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Gordon Minard

Best of Luck with it OP . . .

Do you remember Miley popping the Question to Biddy years ago - it was great!

I think that she was expecting flowers and he gave her a bag of carrots . . . :-)

And then it became: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dIoQolt2IMQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

On top of a cliff. She will be afraid to say no as there might be a "downside".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I'd figure out a place that has sentimental value to her and do it there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭ALiasEX

Pop it on your penis so she will see it when she goes to give you head on the top of the eiffel tower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭wuffly

I suggest taking her to your favourite place at home (provided its nice ;) ) and popping the question there. Worked for me! Then you have special place that you are actually likely to visit again together. My OH brought me to one of his favourite hiking spots and popped the question there. so when we go home most years we try and get there for a hike. Its special when someone brings you to somewhere that's part of their history and wants you to be part of their future, if that makes sense. Also nice when its something new for both of you, so Paris might be the thing, it sounds lovely and you know her best so it might be just what she wants. Best of luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

My husbands proposal was kind of weird. We were staying at his mums weekend house in the rear end of Lincolnshire in the depths of Winter and we got tipsy in the local pub, one of those that's a 'local bar for local people' type places. Some how or other the subject of marriage came up and I was in the loo when it suddenly dawned on me that we'd just got engaged:eek:

I wasn't entirely sure that we had so I had to ask him if we'd just got engaged:o The 2 mile walk back to the house in the freezing cold air sobered us up and he got down on one knee when we got back to the house. One piece of advice I would give you is about the ring. It might be worth just getting a cheap token ring and letting her choose her own engagement ring, if you're getting one. A lot of women love their engagement ring because of what it represents, but don't actually 'like' it.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Got engaged in September. So for me it was a 3 phase plan that I named in my head Operation Say Yes (don't laugh).
    Phase 1 was ask the Dad for permission. Went swimmingly and was a great feeling putting a smile on an old mans face. He opened up the whiskey and had a glass.
    Phase 2 was getting the ring. Decided to get a cheap enough token ring and let herself pick the actual one at a later date. Went into Swarovski and got a decent for 90.00.
    Phase 3 the actual proposing bit. So I pondered should I do it on our week long sun holiday or hold out a few more weeks till her birthday. Decided to bite the bullet and do it on hols. So on day 2 we went to the beach. Was a bit riff-raffy but the further you walked down the coast there was a rocky area with some secluded areas that most tourists/locals didn't walk down to. Decided this would be the place.
    So second last day we go back to the beach. Get there, walk beyond the riff-raff part and low and behold the tide was in and blocked off the rockier area I wanted to get to. No way was I gonna propose on a crowded beach with loads of people around.
    I sit around looking at every wave hoping the tide would go out. It goes out enough eventually to let us get to the part I needed to get to. So we find a nice place to lay down but she then starts moaning about a headache and generally in a bad mood. Not the romantic feeling I wanted. As the hours drag on I feel I should revert to plan b and wait for her birthday.
    But anyway her mood improves and we chat more. Cant remember how it came up but she starts teasing me saying I'll never ever propose. I replay saying 'ah sure if I did you'd probably say no anyway'. She jumps in saying of course she would say yes.
    See what I did there, got her to say yes before even asking her.
    So that was the moment, rip out the ring and the rest is history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭Hoop66

My attempt to ask the wife didn't go quite to plan.

We went down to Cork for the weekend. First, we're watching telly in the room before going down to dinner and sonya (also my wife's name) in Eastenders' boyfriend proposes to her "Sonya, will you marry me", "Ooh!" says herself. Then, at dinner which is where I had planned to ask her, she starts going on about "not getting any younger". I bottled it, got pissed and asked her when we were back in the room, both lashed clinging on to each other for support.

Still...11 and a half years and two kids later, we're doing alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

FourFourFM wrote: »
    If I got down on one knee, I don't think I'd get back up!

That's what Paul McCartney said when discussing his sex life with Heather Mills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Place ring around knife in kitchen.
    Tell woman 'make me sammich woman!'.
    If woman goes to kitchen and makes you sammich, she'll find ring.
    You say 'marry me woman'.
    She say yes.
    You happy.
    You have wife-to-be + sammich.

The end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 NashD

My OH did the whole bring me to Paris and waited until we came home to propose. Everyone was texting us in Paris to see if we had gotten engaged etc - kinda took the shine out of the weekend. But delighted he waited until we were home to propose.
    Try and propose before you leave for Paris as Paris will be extra romantic then. See if you can get the airport to ask her for you via an announcement ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

I was going to suggest the Pont des Arts bridge in Paris, the one with the love locks, but A) it might be a bit common/obvious, and B) I think it's collapsed under the weight of the locks...whatever you do, have fun, and congratulations in advance :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Colonel_McCoy

:)Doing it in NYC in Feb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Hide the ring in her vagina a slice of cake and wait for her to find it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭donutheadhomer

So I’m thinking of doing the whole getting down on one knee thing soon and was wondering how others have gone about it.

Did you have it written out in hundred foot letters as you both flew overhead in a hot air balloon at sunrise sipping champagne?
    Or
    Did you wake up hung over fart roll over look at her bleary eyed and ask “So are you going to marry me or what?”

I’m looking to try and make it a special moment but not sure what to exactly to do. It’s one of those things that she will get asked about forever so I want to do it right and make it good but at the same time don’t want to be cheesy as hell.
    I would suggest watching some porn movies first. Doing it on one kne could make you lose your balance and you could bite down very hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,112 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Macavity. wrote: »

Almost how it was for me, but 'twas moonlight on the sea, and we were at the foot of a cliff. And she said yes! :cool:

Paris? ... honestly, I think that's pretty corny, and on the Pont des Arts with that culture-wrecking fake padlock tradition ... ? :confused: I might be a bloke, but I can't think of anything more insincere than a proposal made in a place surrounded by a heap of tat that you know will be cut off and melted down in a few months' time.

Presumably she's Australian and your Irish, and you're sure she's going to say yes, so make it personal and take her somewhere in Ireland that means a lot to you - even if that's the Aircoach!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Keep her keen by being mean and proposing by text.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

i would definitely wait until you get home to ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭shalalala

I always thought at home in bed would be the most romantic way. With breakfast or something. Nothing flashy, just the two of you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Do it the old fashioned way, wait until she's preggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Brilliant!!!!! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

Almost how it was for me, but 'twas moonlight on the sea, and we were at the foot of a cliff. And she said yes! :cool:

Paris? ... honestly, I think that's pretty corny, and on the Pont des Arts with that culture-wrecking fake padlock tradition ... ? :confused: I might be a bloke, but I can't think of anything more insincere than a proposal made in a place surrounded by a heap of tat that you know will be cut off and melted down in a few months' time.

Presumably she's Australian and your Irish, and you're sure she's going to say yes, so make it personal and take her somewhere in Ireland that means a lot to you - even if that's the Aircoach!

It clearly works for a lot of people, that's why I suggested it. It goes with the whole visiting Paris thing. For a lot of people that is the height of romance. Only the O. P knows his future wife well enough to know how, where and when to propose to make it more personal and special, if that's what he wants to do.