Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hit and Run (Car Damage) -and MIBI

• 17-11-2014 2:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭

Sad to be starting one of these threads but some cnut hit my pride and joy and legged it, wing is absolutely mangled im an fooking livid right now. Left outside a mates house overnight

I have a theory and may identify the culprit later when there car returns late - anyone ever have any joy with MIBI - done the preliminary and made contact with the Gardaí

Words can't describe how pissed off I am right now

E47D4960E587492C9A3933BA117FA06C-0000370971-0003695673-01024L-1D2016987AC9448390A3A32AC2271553.jpg

F871BC4AA6E04E9199497FB9C82BE0B1-0000370971-0003695672-01024L-5CE747C0929F4CC599B95CA43FD55369.jpg

3F8521AE251742A0A7FA39ACF3EF717C-0000370971-0003695671-01024L-DC3BBB154D6641FCB3FE4FCE92F51E90.jpg

E22B368F5CC644AA8DDB7486244917A6-0000370971-0003695670-01024L-AC36C6D714394C64963F86FADD264AA7.jpg

545DCFE563E047079633B600D5608DA5-0000370971-0003695669-01024L-ADC549F6C15546919A81539DFA28561E.jpg

50FF5962ACCF430991AFE6892A67486A-0000370971-0003695668-01024L-128238207945464AB13BA473E4909865.jpg

EACFBA7A039D4139ABA4782535D284DF-0000370971-0003695667-01024L-B506077709CC403D9FE0D50A2FF49F95.jpg

7F5936F34E8A445A98EB9F51B96D343F-0000370971-0003695666-01024L-9DFAE709B21D410FBF3ECF00ABA4E8FF.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Rang MIBI - nothing can be done without a reg no - FFS

Hopefully you can identify the fecker to did it. They certainly knew that they had whacked you.

My bucket list car that and all :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,886 ✭✭✭✭bear1

It must have been a fair whack. Hopefully it is someone local and you can get to the bottom of it.
    Have you looked around to see if there are any cctv cameras?
    If it's in a built up area I'd go door to door and ask if anyone saw something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

FromMIBI website

It is not always possible to claim compensation for vehicle or property damage under the MIBI compensation scheme.  Where the offending vehicle is not identified there is no provision in the 1988 or the 2004 MIBI Agreements to recover losses for vehicle or property damage.  The 2009 MIBI Agreement (Clause 7) introduced compensation for vehicle or property damage against an unidentified vehicle where there are significant personal injuries arising from the same accident.  In certain circumstances an excess may apply to vehicle/property damage claims. 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Whomever did this should have quite a bit of your paint on their car, shouldn't be too difficult to identify. Making them to admit it, however, might prove more difficult :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 mickmurphy18

I'll never understand why people just drive off . it's the reason we pay insurance . i know it affects your premium but the same person would be fuming if someone drove off after hitting their car . . repair shops have alot to answer for also . my neighbour crashed into me and had to go through her insurance while getting it repaired i got the other panel repaired for cash (my own fault).cost quarter of the price as it wasnt the simple fact of letting an insurance company know heres the bill no questions asked !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Beadyeye

I'll never understand why people just drive off . it's the reason we pay insurance .

Unfortunately because they don't have insurance and never will, chancing scum

Cheers lads - MIBIs a non-runner. Biding my time until his neighbour comes back but I suspect it was the house across the road that did it reversing out - its all I have to go on at the moment

328680.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Breffnigolfer

With a name like eringobragh you should n't have a problem rustling up a few mates to sort this out?

LOL -**** happens its only a hunch I have could be someone passing through for all I know. I'll go down the diplomatic route for now :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭Panrich

It looks like the hit was fairly high up.

Panrich wrote: »
    It looks like the hit was fairly high up.

its a low car i matched it with the bumper on my friends car so it would be an average sized car that did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭walus

The dent and marks seem to suggest a perpendicular hit. I was in exact same position a couple years ago. The girl across the road from me reversed back into my car. I was away on business trip but when I came back I called the guards and explained my theory as to who hit my car. They agreed it was feasible and we all went to knock at the door of where she lived. Quick conversation and 350 of her euros later the car got fixed. Good luck.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

Yeh similar happened to me, I lived in apartment complex at the time, came out and my car had been hit hard enough and nothing to show for it. Came home later and noticed a car with a matching "scratch". I didn't give him a chance to deny it, left him a note with my number and asked if he wanted to cover the cost himself or go through his insurance. He went through his insurance.

RESULT: My hunch was correct other party admitted liability - ****in ate her but hopefully it'll be put right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Result:-) had my fingers crossed for you since the mr2.ie thread earlier

The offending pics

7C25589F341C439E86A709C596F3128E-0000370971-0003695797-01024L-A1D79B480E2B4508AA0FE9071B5F4257.jpg

2388084657404C0AA13288F3F5327FE6-0000370971-0003695796-01024L-29DB63FC5BCB402B904C25E9969E415D.jpg

1B0152974EA04666AA1606A37162D033-0000370971-0003695795-01024L-01CBD69B83E5447B9A546C0AA26924BE.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Would I be right in saying this isn't the first time she's backed into stuff?
    The corner of that car (Honda Jazz?) is ripped to ****e..

Would I be right in saying this isn't the first time she's backed into stuff?
    The corner of that car (Honda Jazz?) is ripped to ****e..

Yep other side is ****e as well.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Nice to see you got a result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

Glad you got sorted , theres nothing worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

Want to come over to my place and do some detective work? Similar incident with my wing mirror

mine was pretty conclusive - infact I checked my dashcam earlier to how the carwas parked in that driveway.

What a cow though to hit it and not even come and say it. That would grind me more than the actual incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭walus

Imagine how many other vehicles did she hit and got away with it...
    Glad you got this one sorted OP.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

I forgot to say that I'm glad you f'd her out of it. May make her thing twice (somehow doubt it) the next time.

Good catch! Glad to see it some karma every now and then. Judging by her car's condition, she is a relentless tipper...how can you do that in the sardine box that's a Jazz is lost on me.

Also, very nice bald tires on that Honda. Does she have an L plate as well?

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    Good catch! Glad to see it some karma every now and then. Judging by her car's condition, she is a relentless tipper...how can you do that in the sardine box that's a Jazz is lost on me.

Also, very nice bald tires on that Honda. Does she have an L plate as well?

Now now, it's a N plate :p I think she'd need a bunch of warnings all over her car.

bear1 wrote: »
    Now now, it's a N plate :p I think she'd need a bunch of warnings all over her car.

Lol, which means that at least she holds a license! Who gave it to her beats me, but still :D

She blamed the son for the other dings - just back from carcraft wing would be very hard to save in its current state without the use of some filler which is an unacceptable repair IMO

So they are going to quote me for a used and new wing and blending panels, etc

Also - should I notify my insurance company yet? It ain't gonna be cheap by the sounds of thing :eek:

She blamed the son for the other dings - just back from carcraft wing would be very hard to save in its current state without the use of some filler which is an unacceptable repair IMO

So they are going to quote me for a used and new wing and blending panels, etc

Also - should I notify my insurance company yet? It ain't gonna be cheap by the sounds of thing :eek:

Re the insurance bit, you've two options IMO. Either you get her to sign a "contract" that she will pay all costs or you go through her insurance.
    If she didn't bother telling you immediately about the damage then I'd be going for option 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

bear1 wrote: »
    Re the insurance bit, you've two options IMO. Either you get her to sign a "contract" that she will pay all costs or you go through her insurance.
    If she didn't bother telling you immediately about the damage then I'd be going for option 2.

Option 2 all the way....she already tried to get away with it. Goodwill is out the window now! Let her insurance settle it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭mondeo

She may say feck off when the car is fixed lol. Option 2 yes for sure!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Beadyeye wrote: »
    Unfortunately because they don't have insurance and never will, chancing scum

I witnessed a hit and run. The woman ruined two doors on a nice, but older model merc and pissed off. I followed her and wrote her a note, something along the lines of;

"Hi, I witnessed you hitting the Black Mercedes and leaving the scene of the accient in Clontarf village today. Just thought I would let you know that I am going to report you to the Gardai and leave your information with the Mercedes owner. Have a nice day."

I waited for the merc driver and explained what happened. She thanked me and said that the car is being scrapped against a new car in a week or so. She didn't mind the damage but was still a little annoyed. I am not sure if she followed up, but I went to the Gardai anyway. They said that the owner of the merc had to make the complaint and until that happens, they cannot do anything.

I don't really agree with this though, that woman who committed a hit and run will know that it's ok to do this again.

Last week a large vehicle hit my car and left a nasty scratch and dent on the rear right wing (2008 Ford Focus). I am looking to sell the car in about 6-9 months and this will cause a problem :(. I suspect it was one of the bin lorries that enter our street. It's a tight squeeze and the bin lorrie reverses down the street. Very hard to prove though. A real pain in the ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

I'm looking forward to seeing your MR2 all polished up after it's been fixed OP.

Make sure your panel beater gives the whole car a good buff.

Preliminary quote - * drumroll *

€1098 which includes a new wing direct from Toyota.

....really should have left a note love :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Is it going through insurance? You'd want to be careful it doesn't get written off at that rate. Whats it's value, 1.5 - 2k? Absolutely love the car and i know the great work you've put into it. Just playing devils advocate.

Not sure presenting her the bill later - €625 cash or €350 to repair the existing wing which will involve filler so No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

What did you go for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Old thread.
    Please start a fresh one.