Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

800 max gaming computer. possible?

• 17-11-2014 1:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭

My son wants to get something with i5, 8 gig ram, 2 gig graphics card, 15 or 17 inch screen, hd screen. I think that covers all the bases.

I got a lenovo last year with similar spec for around 700 euro but can't see anything close to it now for the same price. Anyone able to help? Thanks lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

On that budget you really ought look at a desktop not a laptop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

ED E wrote: »
    On that budget you really ought look at a desktop not a laptop.

Thanks Ed, he already has a desk top. This is for college too. What's the best I can get for my budget, even if it's not strictly a gaming machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

http://www.pcspecialist.co.uk/notebooks/cosmosII/

15" screen,
    I5 dual core, 2.7GH'z
    8GB RAM
    Nvidia Geforce 840M

Total: €803 (plus postage €830)

Drop the RAM to 2GB and it will cose €760 including postage.

(I feel like some pcspecialist advertiser lately lol, but they're great! )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Don't drop the ram, a gaming machine with 2GB ram is totally useless.

This is 750 delivered and a pretty nice laptop.

Pretty much the same spec as the pcspecialist one but almost 100 euro cheaper.

You can get cheaper gaming laptops but usually something has to give to fit into budget, so you end up with either strong cpu+weak card, or weak cpu+strong card.

Don't drop the ram, a gaming machine with 2GB ram is totally useless.

This is 750 delivered and a pretty nice laptop.

Pretty much the same spec as the pcspecialist one but almost 100 euro cheaper.

You can get cheaper gaming laptops but usually something has to give to fit into budget, so you end up with either strong cpu+weak card, or weak cpu+strong card.

well, I was considering it a temporary drop, he can then buy it as an upgrade at a later time.

true, true...i copped that. but i found a keeper. a friends gonna buy it through their job so i can save the vat. probably

http://www.dell.com/ie/p/inspiron-15-7537/pd?oc=cn75317&model_id=inspiron-15-7537

coming to me at 7 odd hundred euro. its decent value at that price.

emo72 wrote: »
    true, true...i copped that. but i found a keeper. a friends gonna buy it through their job so i can save the vat. probably

http://www.dell.com/ie/p/inspiron-15-7537/pd?oc=cn75317&model_id=inspiron-15-7537

handy, decent deal.

Just be aware that it's a ULV processor, it's not a 'true' i7 - it's a 2Ghz Dual Core, so it would be slower than either of the other laptops mentioned.

thought there was something about the Dells, gotta to start googling cpu series numbers before commenting :o

It's still very decent and if the OP can get it for 700, it's a great machine, processor will still be grand for vast majority of games. Just that the processor in the PcSpecialist/Gigabyte models is faster.

FFS, buying laptops is a fecking nightmare. trying to differentiate processors by their names......you need a fecking masters degree to decypher this ****.

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057336696/1/#post93260133

What do you guys think of this one? I haven't ordered the other one yet. 8 gig instead of 16 and a nicer case?

The other Dell you were looking at is much better.

Thanks for replying. Just needed someone to confirm it for me.

emo72 wrote: »

I used a public sector discount code I found online. Paid 620 for this. You public sector guys have the best deals going for yous!