Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Casual Labour

• 17-11-2014 1:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭

How do ye lads account for casual labour in your books? For example every few weeks, I get a young lad to help me for half a day and throw him €10 an hour. Could be a different fella, depends on who is available. Not sure how to account for this in the books....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭sako 85

I've no real experience of this but id imagine most don't account for it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

sako 85 wrote: »
    I've no real experience of this but id imagine most don't account for it at all.

AFAIK you can pay €100 per week casual labour and claim it as an expense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

arctictree wrote: »
    How do ye lads account for casual labour in your books? For example every few weeks, I get a young lad to help me for half a day and throw him €10 an hour. Could be a different fella, depends on who is available. Not sure how to account for this in the books....

you should have him on payroll once its over €12.70 in any week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

AFAIK you can pay €100 per week casual labour and claim it as an expense.

So which is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

Ah here, give the lad 20 quid for herding a few sheep and holding the dosing gun and I have to put him on the payroll? Are you serious?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭viztopia

I think you will find lakill farm is correct ! no such thing as casual labour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

If you're right Mrs freedom is going to have some explaining to do to justify her letters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Buy them sweets! You can put that through de books! :p