Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ford ranger jeep

• 16-11-2014 6:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭

anyone have one and what do ye think of them.my pajero getting near end of the road and needs a bit of work.looking at an 07/08 model.theres a few on carzone near me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Mate has a 05 one and in fairness it hasn't given him any bother . Pretty spacious in the back seats compared to other crewcabs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

mahoney_j wrote: »
    anyone have one and what do ye think of them.my pajero getting near end of the road and needs a bit of work.looking at an 07/08 model.theres a few on carzone near me

Not as good as dmax or hilux. Very jeepy jeep. Would put the L 200 above it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

TUBBY wrote: »
    Not as good as dmax or hilux. Very jeepy jeep. Would put the L 200 above it too.

Won't be pulling much,tonne bag of lime and small box with 10 calves would be heaviest.just general farm work drawing around bags of meal etc.pajero is a Swb.extea seats handy too and safer as I have a small passenger to pick up now and again as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭GRASSorMUCK

Have an 08 plate that was on hire then was purchased as farm truck. Had 2 turbos in 170kmiles but that was it just seems to of every 70k miles with us and not a lack of maintenance..
    Good truck always thought back seats were tiny though being 6,2 might have something to do with that would be ok for kids /small people.
    After that it's a truck does the job it's wanted for
    Replaced with 13 plate on hire now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Farm truck died here lately. Nissan Navara new type.
    Drove the Ford and couldn't really fault it tbh, but I thought the Navara drove the best of all the crewcabs and I wasn't going to get another.

Said I'd treat myself to something more comfortable. But saying that I would have another Navara in the morning no bother. You just need a change now and again.

The higher HP Ranger can move a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Those rangers are bullet proof and ultra reliable machines. Every bit as good as the hilux in that regard. The only negative I'd have is the engine could do with more horses and a 6th gear or an od. The hilux are good but overpriced I think tbh but all to their own. Top gear really promoted them. Not many old ones left now

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

TUBBY wrote: »

Away cheaper than the dmax and hilux though. I don't own a ranger or l200 but have driven both and would pick the ranger any day. Rotten seating position in the l200 and hopeless lock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Volvoair

mahoney_j wrote: »

they have good reputation,maybe a tad underpowered for towing.not too expensive to buy either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

hilux all the way, all the local apes have them and the hiluxs are still in one piece so that is a good point

my mechanic thinks dmaxs are good but I think isuzus are a bit sluggish

lad I know had a ford ranger didn't keep it very long and never asked him why, I moved it out of the way one day and didn't really like it, even though i only drove it about 20 feet ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

hilux all the way, all the local apes have them and the hiluxs are still in one piece so that is a good point

my mechanic thinks dmaxs are good but I think isuzus are a bit sluggish

lad I know had a ford ranger didn't keep it very long and never asked him why, I moved it out of the way one day and didn't really like it, even though i only drove it about 20 feet ! :D

Are the new hiluxes as good as the older models I wonder ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Bullocks wrote: »
    Are the new hiluxes as good as the older models I wonder ?

Friend bought the new Hilux and it gave back axle and gearbox probs. He got rid before there was 14k miles on the clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

some lads calla jeep that's 12 years old the "new model"

I know a rep with a 2013 hilux and he does big miles, he likes it, just says it uses diesel but sure all jeeps use a good drop of diesel, depends on how hard you drive them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭The Letheram

Dawggone wrote: »
    Friend bought the new Hilux and it gave back axle and gearbox probs. He got rid before there was 14k miles on the clock.

Exact same problems with a mates one here too. Old models were super bit the new ones are trading on their older brothers reputation. The mate had a dmax before the hilux and abused it to a height every day. I saw him tow a six tonne digger with it several times and she went to 320k kms before he traded it against the hilux.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,216 ✭✭✭zetecescort

a friend used to say about the older Hiluxs - if they are good enough for the Taliban they're good enough for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 blockie

hi all just my opinion but done a lot of research on jeeps and from what I found out dmax seem to be the best all the rest seem to have different issues going on ;ie.gearbox /backaxle engine ingectors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

a friend used to say about the older Hiluxs - if they are good enough for the Taliban they're good enough for him

Lmao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Well I couldn't imagine they'd be driving Fords, Chevrolet or anything from that neck of the woods!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

05 DMAX here for the last 5 or 6 yrs and they are pretty much bullet proof alright. Full service once in all that time and a new set of tyres, nothing else. One drawback is that it's pretty heavy on juice, but I'm told that's the because of the way I drive it, nearly always v short trips. House to yard to field etc, so it's nearly always driven cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Have a 01 in Mazda guise, grand yoke.