Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

PSYCHOLOGY versus PSYCHIATRY (through Medicine) - university course/career?

Options
  • 15-11-2014 2:04pm
    Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭

Hi all, I am currently a 6th year student sitting the Leaving Cert in 2015.

At present I am debating about whether to psychology (Trinity is my first choice) or medicine (NUIG is my preference). My passion lies within caring for people with mental health issues, and I feel like if I do go down the medical route the only job that would suit me would be that of a psychiatrist. I am immensely interested in people, behaviour, personality and the mind, more so than for example the respiratory system. I know that is a huge thing to say but I honestly can't see myself as a GP or consultant of some other form.