Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The ould fella knows best!!

• 08-11-2014 10:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭

Seen as a few have posted in chi chat about this. How many of you get on with the old man? We get on like a house on fire until we start talking about something meaningful. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

We get on well, i spend a fair aount of my time winding him up but as i got on a bit ive started to appreciate the effort he has put in for us. Growing up i woud have always said he was a contrary old f*k but its only now ive started to realise i was probably the root of a lot of his problems. he's more or less handed over the reins here but is always there to point out where im going wrong but its aalso great to see when hes happy with progress, nowadays im the one that has to stop him making the silly purchases. That saying " twice a boy, once a man" comes to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Feckthis wrote: »
    Seen as a few have posted in chi chat about this. How many of you get on with the old man? We get on like a house on fire until we start talking about something meaningful. :D

Same as that. He's happy out that I have an intrest in farming. But if sumthing meaningful cums up it's like the "ahh fcuk that, feelings and sh!t" ha works for us any way.

Notice latly everything is that will be grand for you now,
    Or you'll have a grand set up when that's done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

I try my best but he drives me nuts, he's one of the worst men ive ever witnessed around stock.. if you told him to left he'd go right and it would be my fault for not telling him to go left!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭Charliebull

I sympathise with mine, if I was anything like my young lad:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Bodacious wrote: »
    I try my best but he drives me nuts, he's one of the worst men ive ever witnessed around stock.. if you told him to left he'd go right and it would be my fault for not telling him to go left!!

Very similar here with the FIL. only if ya suggest anything your questioning his authority and get the head taken off ya.

Unfortunately its be seen and not heard around the main yard most of the time but he does have his good days too in fairness :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Mine is hard to tell much to but alot of what he said makes sense as I'm getting older . And as he is getting older he is listening to more I have to say .
    Where would you be without them really ! Like a few of ye when it comes to moving cattle he is brutal , I think that might be just getting older and impatient though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

We were only talking about this last night. I'm working with him day in and day out for more than 20 years now. He never dictated to me when I came home things were discussed and my way was often adopted. He had the final say then all that's changed is I'd have the final say now. He's still as open to new ideas now as he was when he was my age and no more than he dismissed me as a kid am I going to try to ignore his input now.

He's one of the hardiest men I've ever known. The last job he did with me before having major, a six hour operation, prostate cancer surgery was covering the wholecrop pit in early August and the day we took the tyres off the front of it a month ago he was driving the loader. As long as he wants to work and have a say he's welcome but I certainly wouldn't begrudge him his retirement either if that's what he chooses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Ah sure were always arguing about what way we want it done but 5 min later its forgotten and were talking about something else.
    Horse of a man im a lazy fcuker in comparison he wants to do as much as we can ourselves which is the way its always been done and how he saved money.
    Atm were both arguing weather young stock stay here for winter or go to out farm.
    Aslong as its not costing him extra money he's happy to let me off to muck around with what ever brainwave I try to implement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Have to say I've best/worst here, have both father & FIL around.
    They are handy at times for stacking or advice, but together they get on too well with you should do this & that.
    So I ensure when I'm helping them I repay the complements.
    Funny thing is thing is they come away from each others farms with praise for each other, confidentially things that took me a while to convince each to do, but what would I know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭welton john

Old lad here can be hard work at times.I find a bit of inception is the only job.Just plant a seed of an idea and let them think its their own!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Old lad here can be hard work at times.I find a bit of inception is the only job.Just plant a seed of an idea and let them think its their as his own!

That's how our wives handle is and our mothers handled our fathers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

Ah sure were always arguing about what way we want it done but 5 min later its forgotten and were talking about something else.
    Horse of a man im a lazy fcuker in comparison he wants to do as much as we can ourselves which is the way its always been done and how he saved money.
    Atm were both arguing weather young stock stay here for winter or go to out farm.
    Aslong as its not costing him extra money he's happy to let me off to muck around with what ever brainwave I try to implement

Same here GG, could argue and call each other every name under the sun :D.. We would be back talking seconds later, not a boder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭Charliebull

:D:D, and it takes a wise man to know that and run with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

When I was younger always thought the father was a tough cranky man. But as years went on he mellowed allot. Very good to me with farm. Let me take over a few years ago. Always there to help out and keep an eye on things during week when I'm working. Would be lost without him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

:D:D, and it takes a wise man to know that and run with it

'Happy wife - happy life.' :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Ah yes but that seed can cause us to do something that they didn't want at all, "stupid men - can do nothing right"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Feckthis wrote: »
    Same here GG, could argue and call each other every name under the sun :D.. We would be back talking seconds later, not a boder.

Same here too, get on the grandest until we have to do something together. Normally rise a row when we are doing a job together and when it's done it's all forgotten about :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Me and dad used to break horses together, the two of us used to get on the finest until i started to get my own ideas about how things should be done etc. So he left me off on my own for a few years. Now were definitely a team again. Hed listen to me and i suppose id listen to everything he'd say too. Even though I'm away id say wed speak at least 4/5 times a week. Id often try n do the worst of the jobs to be done when i get my weekend off so that he's not strangled when I'm away. Last weekend there was himself, myself and my 3 yr old son chopping timber for the day. He's a lot better at answering the "but why grandad" questions than i am at the "but why daddy" questions which is definitely a plus. He reckons himself isn't half as annoying as i was at that age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Same here too, get on the grandest until we have to do something together. Normally rise a row when we are doing a job together and when it's done it's all forgotten about :rolleyes:

myself and the old fella got on grand so long as we had work to do.

Rows started when we had nothing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

What father and son doesn't have rows. Sometimes he'd be giving out that I did the totally wrong thing and if I did the opposite that would be wrong too.
    Other times I have made a bad mistake and he f@#ed the head of me for it but 2 minutes later its how can we fix it now it's done.
    It was funny earlier in the summer dad made the very mistake driving the tractor id made last year. At the time it was a case of how was I not watching. This year he did the same thing. I said nothing but he said I suppose you're happy.
    The thing is we'd say things to each other as family we wouldn't say at work. There's times in the day job id feel like going through a colleague for a shortcut but it's best to hold my tounge but with dad id tell him.
    At the end of the day most of the time we get on well it's when things go wrong we take it out on each other and then go in for the tae together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

It's great being a Daddies girl :D I can do no wrong.

Ah no, we get on the finest most of the time, but when we fall out it's very quiet in the house. Luckily that only happens rarely these days.
    Like today when he told me he injected a cow with 20cc of Betamox LA.......a 500kg cow. And himself wondering why she was still lame when he injected her on Friday afternoon. And no follow up dose given to her. I was literally handed the bottle earlier and told to 'do her'.

To correct dosage was even written on the bottle given to him in the vets!!

Kovu wrote: »
    It's great being a Daddies girl :D I can do no wrong.

Ah no, we get on the finest most of the time, but when we fall out it's very quiet in the house. Luckily that only happens rarely these days.
    Like today when he told me he injected a cow with 20cc of Betamox LA.......a 500kg cow. And himself wondering why she was still lame when he injected her on Friday after noon. And no follow up dose given to her. I was literally handed the bottle earlier and told to 'do her'.

To correct dosage was even written on the bottle given to him in the vets!!
    I did something similar last yr but with a fluke dose. Didn't read bottle and gave triple the dose and these few weeks away from calving father giving out stink for a week and me praying that they didn't throw calves or die from the over dose.
    There still alive anyway

As far as I know (and greysides will be able to qualify or not) most modern doses allow for a high margin of error.

I remember about 20 years ago the oul lad bought weanlings off the back of a lorry. They were riddled with lice and ringworm. Anyways to treat them for lice he gave them ticavan ( probably not right spelling) not being good at the reading he gave way over recommended dose!

Parents were away the next day and when l went to herd them they were panned out in the shed. Rang vet and thankfully he was able to give them an antidote. Ticavan poisoning he called it.

Muckit wrote: »
    As far as I know (and greysides will be able to qualify or not) most modern doses allow for a high margin of error.

I remember about 20 years ago the oul lad bought weanlings off the back of a lorry. They were riddled with lice and ringworm. Anyways to treat them for lice he gave them ticavan ( probably not right spelling) not being good at the reading he gave way over recommended dose!

Parents were away the next day and when l went to herd them they were panned out in the shed. Rang vet and thankfully he was able to give them an antidote. Ticavan poisoning he called it.
    What else would ye expect from a dose with thr word cavan in it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Was it Tixol?

You know you could be right. It was so long ago. Only a young lad at the time. It was for cattle, pigs and dogs as l recall. Twas fairly toxic stuff. Cattle were flat out panting. They survived though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Seaba

Dad transferred the farm into my name 13 years approx but he still 'controls' it. He did it to get a better pension.
    He is nearly 79 and is as fit as a fiddle. The envy of all the other farmers in the village.
    I work Monday to Friday 9-5 approx so without him I'd be possibly working part time or getting rid of the sucklers and going into dry cattle for a while.

We get on very good. We used to argue, not bad at all, but a bit. Mostly around the 'best' way to do things. He did it his way for 50 years approx and was not for changing. As someone mentioned earlier, you plant a seed in his mind and in about 2-3 years he comes around to your way of thinking, and even then he believes it was his idea in the first place - hilarious!
    Recently I have decided to 'sacrifice' many of my ideas for the greater good. Arguing, fighting etc would not be good for him, or me.
    Farming is his life and without he would go mad - not the way you want you fathers final years to be. So I let it off knowing that I have a job, wife, lovely kids etc and some day I'll get a craic at the farming on my terms for 20 years approx - and if my lads come near me before I am 70, please God, telling me what to do, I'll tell them where to go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Not flukiver unfortunately. They can go blind - learned that the hard way :(
    Strange side-effect when you think about it - to permanently lose their sight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

What else would ye expect from a dose with thr word cavan in it :D

Ah here! I'm listening :)

Cavanjack wrote: »
    Ah here! I'm listening :)

Ahhhhhh......ummmmmm.......cavan :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Ahhhhhh......ummmmmm.......cavan :D

Wimp :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

To misquote Mark Twain, but- When I was seventeen I was ashamed by how stupid my father was,But when I was twenty one I was amazed by how much he had learned in three years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Only time I fell out with boss or brothers was covering silage pits.

Many years ago we had him shouting from the loader as he dumped every bit of dung from the place on the plastic with us slaves spreading it. On the ground at the back was our neighbour roaring at us to do this and that. Well my next brother got so sick of it he let fly with a sprong of dung down on top of neighbour.

To listen to him explode was priceless and no way of getting st us on the pit. Boss used get do worked up a pit covering that my mother used to persuade him to go away at silage time. I'd say she was worried about his heart and our mental health.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭GRASSorMUCK

Seaba wrote: »
    Recently I have decided to 'sacrifice' many of my ideas for the greater good. Arguing, fighting etc would not be good for him, or me.
    Farming is his life and without he would go mad - not the way you want you fathers final years to be. So I let it off knowing that I have a job, wife, lovely kids etc and some day I'll get a craic at the farming on my terms for 20 years approx - and if my lads come near me before I am 70, please God, telling me what to do, I'll tell them where to go!
    This reminds me of something I was told once. A farmers son spend their best years working like a slave the same way for as long as they remember always having ideas but never acting due to the elusion of 'one day this will all be yours, son you can do what you want then' ,so it's worth the grind. So when things move on, after spending the previous 50 years dreaming of having control of the cheque book they have but now have become set in their ways 'cos that's how the jobs always been done and will be done.' If they're fortunate to have someone who wants to carry on it's rinse - repeat for the next 20 odd years and doesn't do anyone any good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

My father died when I was sixteen and for many years I reckoned that he didnt acheive much in farming terms, now though when I have own children I think we turned out ok so what more do you want.battled with my mother in the years after that until I took over at 26 but looking back now we did fine too.my mother passed away at the beginning of the year and all ill say is they are not perfect and you are not either and the old fighting is all part of life.