Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wheres the positivity in After Hours ??

• 07-11-2014 1:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭

Looking down threw most of the threads on here the last few days and there's not a lot of topics that don't end in arguments or negativity.

Talking about some kind of harassment giving out about what the government is doing the weather is **** etc etc.

Is there anyone out there whos happy even just a little ? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Looking down threw most of the threads on here the last few days and there's not a lot of topics that don't end in arguments or negativity.

Talking about some kind of harassment giving out about what the government is doing the weather is **** etc etc.

What about the 'Monty the Penguin' thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

YOU WEREN'T THERE MAN. YOU DON'T UNDERSTAND!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I'm happier than pharrell on happy pills:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    What about the 'Monty the Penguin' thread?

Ill start taking the Christmas ads seriously when its December :p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Why don't you go and create a massive, massive negative charge. That will attract some positivity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Ill start taking the Christmas ads seriously when its December :p.

So we're all basically a miserable bunch of see you next Tuesdays.

Why don't you go and create a massive, massive negative charge. That will attract some positivity

Sounds like Ireland without the positivity at the end :p.

We aint got no time for your high falluting science round these parts. We're simple folk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Heaven knows I'm miserable now.

mikom wrote: »
    Heaven knows I'm miserable now.

Anyway....

I wonder what would have to happen for the whole front page of AH to be positive threads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

It was seized in a bloodless coup.

All smotherings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

That's one too many etc's and 'whos' is not a word.

Eh...but your username is interesting.

You see? We can be positive!

That's one too many etc's and 'whos' is not a word.

Eh...but your username is interesting.

You see? We can be positive!

Then someone says something to make you negative :pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

What would be the point of starting a thread on a topic we all agreed on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Morrissey really had **** hair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

What would be the point of starting a thread on a topic we all agreed on?

I think I got that job - I am the token happy guy :) Or at least that is an impression I might get from the "Is Life Good" thread we just had.

Strangely in an internet chat room that I help moderate recently I got berated for being too happy. I do not really go around telling people how happy I am - or how great I am - or how wonderful anything is. But it seems to come across sometimes.

And a faction of 4 or 5 users got together and complained to me about this. They said my being unhappy all the time was quite unpalatable (though they did not phrase it in such language - I am sure you know what chat room speak is like).

They essentially told me that having something NOT going right in my life - some pain or suffering or misery - makes people more "real" and more what people want to be around. And when someone is too happy it almost makes them feel bad about life and themselves - as if they are to feel inferior because of it.

They could not really lay out what they were trying to say clearly but I think I distilled it out anyway. They knew what they were trying to say but were not getting it across too well. But I wonder as a thought experiment if we had a forum here that was happy slappy joy joy - what would the content be like? Would it be readable or monstrously boring and twee?

To move it to the more deeply philosophical approach - It has been debated in the spheres that tend to debate such things - whether humans actually do need pain and suffering and turmoil and strife in order to strive and prosper to some degree. An idea that was adopted into some of the dialogue of The Matrix - where Agent Smith suggested that the machines - in an effort of compassion - had constructed a Matrix fully of joy and happiness and bliss and paradise - and it simply did not work. Humans destroyed it - themselves - or both. Our species simply did not function when happy.

The weather though - that one I have never understood. I have never classed weather as good or bad. I love it all. I quite love that old mantra that goes something like "There is no such thing as bad weather - just a bad choice of outfit to go out in it in". I go for a run every morning and I enjoy doing so as much in beaming sunshine - as I do in pelting rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,387 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Get thyself here if you want any of that positive sh!te:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1292

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Morrissey really had **** hair

He's also a fucking moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

You have the wrong forum, AH doesn't do positivity, we do humorous negativity

--LOS-- wrote: »

Pretty much ya :pac:

Basically the only time everyone agrees on something here i hate it :p.

Strangely in an internet chat room that I help moderate recently I got berated for being too happy. I do not really go around telling people how happy I am - or how great I am - or how wonderful anything is. But it seems to come across sometimes.

Don't you live with a giant harem of hot bisexual nymphomaniac models or some such?
    Chicken and egg my friend. Did the smile get the honeys or did the honeys cause the smile. We may never know!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,387 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Gallows humour. We're doomed, doomed I tells ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I think it all comes down to it being easier to whinge and moan and complain than to be positive and see the silver lining in everything.

I actually think more people in this country are in fact happy with lot than would ever admit it. It seems to be the done thing nowadays to have an -oh-woe-is-us attitude and I feel that people are afraid to admit they actually are in a good place in their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Puppies are pretty adorable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

somebody is on the sauce early

Chicken and egg my friend. Did the smile get the honeys or did the honeys cause the smile. We may never know!:D

I - I mean what I want to say is - I mean - errrr WHAT?

I do want to keep Bees and make my own honey - if that has any relevance :) Time and space is an issue though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 424 ✭✭Chunners

I've found that if you avoid any thread with "Water", "unemployed" or any persons name whatsoever (especially if it is a politician or if you have to google them to find out who the **** they are) in the title then it's not that bad, of course the downside to this is that the pool of threads left to participate in is cut by 90%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

We're all going to die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Pretty much ya :pac:

Basically the only time everyone agrees on something here i hate it :p.

just stop having unpopular opinions, the cheek of ye :P
    Birneybau wrote: »
    Gallows humour. We're doomed, doomed I tells ya.

I blame Ireland and irishness, what ye think?

just stop having unpopular opinions, the cheek of ye :P

I blame Ireland and irishness, what ye think?

Never! Ha :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I dont know. I had my downs in life lately and AH was a great help. There is a lot of assholes or just "trying to be funny" jerks, but when **** hit the fan, you can really get some kind words and help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭rtron

I think after Hours is the worst place to ask questions like this or indeed ask or discuss anything.
    Most poster do not give answers about the topic at hand.
    If anything its a place to make jokes about the topic or stick in puns (usually related to sex) on the topic.

So OP You are correct.

Not like anyone will read this because this post will just get swamped in the type of post mentioned above.

Gosh do I sound negative?
    Will anyone ever read this post this far?

Tune in to the next posts to find out :-)
    I should have went out
    RANT Over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Here

+ivity

Karl Stein wrote: »
    We're all going to die.

But not today. Not today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,485 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I'd .. break ...out ... if ...I ...won ...the ..lotto... alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

If I want happy I log off. Here, it's a bar room brawl: come on you miserable gits if you think you're miserable enough!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

This delusional desire for perpetual positivity is probably the most absurd aspect of modern madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

The addled addiction to alliteration is classical conservatism conflated with antique allusions and a yearning for yesteryear where faith, father and fecundity were the very acme of Irish intellect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

I'm as happy as a pig in ****e.

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

There is indeed. I'm as happy as a Rizla-paper, rolled up outside the luxurious herb enticing aroma encased inside. Bliss. With of course a few really chilled cans of spudweiser. :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

People dumping threads in AH that should be posted elsewhere is alot of the problem.

I think after-hours (from looking at it for years) is a communication-hub for all ages of which is good. You have young/middle age, and older folk, and it is in my opinion a good mixture of all ages to learn from each-other in all aspects of conversation once it is in a reasonable context formality.

It can also be a release from heavy posters to just pop in and get a laugh. It's all good when moderated professionally. Just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I'm going to fall in love !

There's positivity for ya.

21/25

I've fallen in love with Ireland, again. What a country... Here's positivity for you.

And who can leave out Mars...The chances of anything coming from Mars, are a million to one he said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Fcuk yis. How's that for positivity. ;)

Narky Bastard.

Here is some positivity for one and all tonight. I just sat with my 4 year old daughter tonight and we watched the amaryllis on my table bloom under an artificial light.

In a world of flashing lights - hollywood movies - commercials - and subjective nonsense - to see a wide eyed 4 year old girl enthralled for just over an hour watching the amaryllis petals bloom before her very eyes - it felt like my heart blooming and wilting every 5 minutes over that hour. With Toys'r'us halls full of all kinds of kitch - that the simplest of natures processes could enthral one so young for so long was a real joy.

Any parents out there get yourself some amaryllis and some text on it - and a few things like Venus Fly Trap Grow Kits. There is a whole world of positivity and joy just lying there waiting to bud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Johngoose

Something to cheer you all up:
    What do pelicans and Irish Water have in common?

They can both stick their bills up their arses!