Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Accutane Banned / Not Available In Ireland?

• 02-11-2014 10:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭

I've heard no one using accutane in ireland and my acne isnt so bad but it gets worse and worse when i do weights and increase my calorie intake and this causes the production of testosterone.
    So would anyone give me any information about it such as price etc.
    I'm 18 btw!

• Registered Users Posts: 316 ✭✭ROAAAR

It's not the best drug to be taking if you're doing weights to be honest. It has lots of side effects such as depression.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I've heard no one using accutane in ireland and my acne isnt so bad but it gets worse and worse when i do weights and increase my calorie intake and this causes the production of testosterone.
    I'm 18 btw!

You'd probably need a prescription.

Nodin wrote: »
    You'd probably need a prescription.

You need to be referred to a consultant by your GP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭9de5q7tsr8u2im

SnIpErX wrote: »
    You need to be referred to a consultant by your GP.

Which means i'd have to spend more money? :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

I'm 18 btw!

It was available here when I was prescribed it anyway, that was a fair while back though. It works. Had a slightly dry mouth as a side effect and nothing else that I am aware of. I was referred to a dermatologist by my GP to get it.

If you haven't gone through the menu of other avenues first, don't expect to get it just because you want or ask for it.

Correction, maybe it's been renamed, what I was prescribed was Roacutane.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I had horrible trouble with it. You will grow out of your acne by the time you jump through all the hoops to get it prescribed anyway.

Which means i'd have to spend more money? :/

Unless you have a medical card. It's called Roaccutane in this part of the world.
    Then you have to visit you're consoltant every two months because of the depression side effect. It cost me 120e just to see him and about 100e every month for the drugs. You also have to do blood tests which add more expense.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

You can get it via a consultant but it's a nasty enough drug and has lots of side effects. On the box is written "this will damage unborn babies".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Have to get check ups every 2 months and has been linked to depression and that. Roaccutane. Not worth it unless your acne is really bad/painful and you have a medical card imo.

Actually, I feel I wasn't strong enough in my last post.

Seriously, the side effects aren't worth it. Your skin gets really papery and fragile. You sunburn instantaneously. I got horrible, weeping welts that took months to clear up. And that was with a dermatologist. Avoid.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

As a sufferer of ance I got a prescription for the drug. It did the job for me as I had nasty cysts which I was delighted to get rid of. However it is important to note that everyone's body reacts differently and the main side affects are dry lips and dry skin (which is the purpose of the drug).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Actually, I feel I wasn't strong enough in my last post.

Seriously, the side effects aren't worth it. Your skin gets really papery and fragile. You sunburn instantaneously. I got horrible, weeping welts that took months to clear up. And that was with a dermatologist. Avoid.

If you are determined about going to go on it start in the winter anyways. My friend was on it during the summer and had to wear a hoody at all times to cover his skin.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

If you really have bad acne, go to your GP and ask for a prescription for Duac or DUAC. It's a cream that you put on your spots and the results will show in a few days. It's about E35 to buy in the chemist and can last you about 3-6 months depending how bad it is.

Note, it doesn't work on white/black heads, just the red zits.

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭bob50

i have taking it numerous times you need a prescripition from from a dermatoligst Its called Roacuatane here

You could get your gp to refer you to a dermatologist in the public hospitals it wouldnt cost you. only you would have to wait to see the consultant

Another way was if you were on holidays in Turkey you could buy over the counter there ive done it a few times when i was there.

I Think youd be better off getting an appointment here as they will monitor blood etc

Ah, over the counter in Turkey, what better way to acquire drugs that cause depression and fetal abnormalities? The "few naggins, be grand" approach.

Even the US has tight restrictions on it, and this from a country that allows TV ads for anti-depressants...

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭murphm45

As a lot of other posters said you can get it here but its pretty heavy hitting stuff so should be last resort. It's expensive and while it's in action it destroys your skin (I think I must have spent a fortune in moisturiser). Saying that it did clear up my acne (it was bad on my back and face).

If you go to your GP they'll sort you out with something milder first. For the life of me I can remember what it was but I got two courses of it before I eventually took the roaccutane (any other posters know what I might have been prescribed, I remember my gp saying I was a mild antibiotic?)

Edit: Google helped me out I think it might have been minocin (this worked when I was on it be came back when I stopped taking it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

jamo2oo9 wrote: »
    If you really have bad acne, go to your GP and ask for a prescription for Duac or DUAC. It's a cream that you put on your spots and the results will show in a few days. It's about E35 to buy in the chemist and can last you about 3-6 months depending how bad it is.

Note, it doesn't work on white/black heads, just the red zits.

I've been prescribed Duac 4 times now, because my contraceptive pill has left me with awful breakouts.

Tbh, I find Duac absolutely rubbish. Made zero difference, and i used it religiously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

murphm45 wrote: »
    As a lot of other posters said you can get it here but its pretty heavy hitting stuff so should be last resort. It's expensive and while it's in action it destroys your skin (I think I must have spent a fortune in moisturiser). Saying that it did clear up my acne (it was bad on my back and face).

If you go to your GP they'll sort you out with something milder first. For the life of me I can remember what it was but I got two courses of it before I eventually took the roaccutane (any other posters know what I might have been prescribed, I remember my gp saying I was a mild antibiotic?)

Probably Duac, it's an antibiotic gel

• Registered Users Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Noo

You have to be referred to a specialistby your GP and only they can give you the prescription, presumably because its such a serious drug.

I was on it, my bro was on it and even my dad got put on it....its very much available in ireland (as roaccutane).

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭murphm45

Probably Duac, it's an antibiotic gel

No, it was definitely tablets but I could be just the tablet version of it (I.e. It has the same active ingredient). Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭volchitsa

I've been prescribed Duac 4 times now, because my contraceptive pill has left me with awful breakouts.

Tbh, I find Duac absolutely rubbish. Made zero difference, and i used it religiously.
    Did you try Roaccutane?

A close friend of mine got it (not in RoI though) and it was absolutely brilliant. She'd tried everything, and her spots were the little cyst things someone else mentioned, so they were leaving scars.

The only thing was that she was put on the pill and had to have pregnancy tests every month, even though she didn't have a boyfriend at the time. She had to show the negative pregnancy test to the doc to get her renewal! The risks of fetal abnormality are so great apparently that they won't give it to women of child bearing age without contraceptive cover.

I wonder if the law banning abortion even for fetal abnormalities in Ireland makes it harder for women to be given it?

She did have dry skin by the way (and headaches I think) but the dermatologist told her that it wasn't true that it causes depression, it was that the acne causes depression. And sometimes the improvement wasn't fast enough for people who were already depressed.

Don't know how true that is, but that's what her doctor said.

Jesus lads. Ye should know by now that medical advice is absolutely not allowed.

OP, no one here is qualified to advise you on medical treatment. Speak to a suitably qualified medical doctor.