Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Capturing Our Capital

• 01-11-2014 3:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭

All I get from this video is;

Tracksuits.
    Homelessness.
    Destitution.
    Middle finger rudeness.
    Theft.

What does it say to you? I wonder what a similar video in other European cities would be like

Probably;

Affluence.
    Good Looks.
    Friendliness.
    Charm.
    Politeness.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,126 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Tracksuits.
    Homelessness.
    Destitution.
    Middle finger rudeness.
    Theft.

It wasn't all bad. Although there were some bad moments (and a lot of pigeons).

Good idea for a project though. just leave cameras around the place and pick them up later. Wonder what it would be like in temple bar on a Friday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Bored me senseless tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 37 amorphous

Ah thats a nice video

• Registered Users Posts: 507 ✭✭✭...__...

I dont know it does make you think i like how "normal" the people who took the photos are.
    While not skipping over the real issues around I wonder what the guy with the beard would say if he seen this would he be ashamed or was his gesture some form of revolutionary statement? All in all I think it was a good project shows a small scence of spirit in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Tracksuits.
    Homelessness.
    Destitution.
    Middle finger rudeness.
    Theft.

You didn't need this video to tell you that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Fairly balanced video, pretty accurate of day to day Dublin.

Not a complete shthole but not Paris/Abu Dhabi/Vegas either.

Somewhere in the middle, just above Glasgow and Gaza.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

That's 7 minutes of my life wasted. 7 minutes I can't afford to lose. Totally pointless.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

I thought that was a lovely video. Some really nice pics taken and showed what people are like - posers, drunks, ordinary joe soaps etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭Uncle Ruckus

The locations are pretty selective. It seems most of the footage was from the northside so it only shows half the story.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

Tracksuits.
    Homelessness.
    Destitution.
    Middle finger rudeness.
    Theft.
    Tracksuits as in people wareing tracksuit about 10. If you meant 'tracksuit' aka 'undesirables' maybe 3
    Homeless 3
    Destitution? Eh very subjective but same as homeless? 3
    Middle finger rudeness 3
    Theft didn't see any
    Happy people lots, nice cityscapes lots, happy group shots lots.

Fair play to the director for giving a balanced view of the city. Of course some will focus solely on the 'Outrageous' waring of the 'wrong' clothing and my owe my did my monocle ever fall when the young chap made a rude jesture.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 424 ✭✭Chunners

I liked it, it was a lot better that most of the videos you see posted on youtube about people getting the ****e kicked out of them on a Saturday night in Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Theft didn't see any

The guy stole the camera and yer one had to run after him to retrieve it. Wouldn't blame ya if you fell asleep and missed that bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,060 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Fairly balanced video, pretty accurate of day to day Dublin.

Not a complete shthole but not Paris/Abu Dhabi/Vegas either.

Somewhere in the middle, just above Glasgow and Gaza.

Have you ever been to Vegas? It's a gigantic shithole

Paris isn't all its cracked up to be either, outside of the touristy areas at least.

Never been to Abu Dhabi but it has its own very obvious problems too.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah, Dublin is the only capital city in the world with homeless people and drunks.

Go back to the Daily Mail, OP.

seamus wrote: »
    Yeah, Dublin is the only capital city in the world with homeless people and drunks.

Go back to the Daily Mail, OP.
    Go back to putting your head in the sand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 424 ✭✭Chunners

Go back to putting your head in the sand.

Well in all fairness he does have a point, Homelessness and drunkenness is not the sole domain of Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭dquinnan

Nice little video imo. Even the lads who nicked the camera were okay and gave it back to the lady fairly quick. Shame the OP is dead set on only seeing the negatives things.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Didn't watch
    Don't care

biko wrote: »
    Didn't watch
    Don't care

Didn't read your post, don't care.