Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road Rage Assault

• 30-10-2014 7:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭

Today I was the victim of a road rage assault. I was cycling along Warrington Place on the cycle lane on my Dublin Bike when i ran a red light.

A taxi driver totally over-reacted and started beeping his horn at me and shouting obscenities at me even though I had cleared the junction before he had even moved from the the traffic light.

I gave the guy the two fingers and he chased after me in his taxi through two junctions. He mounted the cycle lane twice before he pulled out in font of me and knocked me off my bike and started kicking and punching me.

Obviously I'm in shock after all of this. I got the guys plate and reported it to the police. There are four witnesses to the assault.

The cops took my statement and brought the guy in for questioning. I have some bruising to my body. I have to fly out foreign early in the morning so I can't visit the hospital like I've been asked to do.

I'm not sure what to do next. I got pics of the guy in the Garda Station. Scummy lowlife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Take some selfies of the bruising if you can't get to the hospital.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

William F wrote: »
    i ran a red light.

gave the guy the two fingers

not sure what to do next.

Modify your behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Today I was the victim of a road rage assault. I was cycling along Warrington Place on the cycle lane on my Dublin Bike when i ran a red light.

A taxi driver totally over-reacted and started beeping his horn at me and shouting obscenities at me even though I had cleared the junction before he had even moved from the the traffic light.

I gave the guy the two fingers and he chased after me in his taxi through two junctions. He mounted the cycle lane twice before he pulled out in font of me and knocked me off my bike and started kicking and punching me.

Obviously I'm in shock after all of this. I got the guys plate and reported it to the police. There are four witnesses to the assault.

The cops took my statement and brought the guy in for questioning. I have some bruising to my body. I have to fly out foreign early in the morning so I can't visit the hospital like I've been asked to do.

I'm not sure what to do next. I got pics of the guy in the Garda Station. Scummy lowlife.

You broke a red light, you then proceeded to give the guy 2 fingers. Not saying the taxi driver was right but not saying you are totally innocent either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

You ran a red light. Would you be posting here if the taxi had hit you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

All anybody wants is a bit of respect!
    A wee wave and gesture of apology would have stopped this nightmare ahead of you!?

You broke a red light, you then proceeded to give the guy 2 fingers. Not saying the taxi driver was right but not saying you are totally innocent either.

So physical assault is now an appropriate response for violations of the rules of the road?

Looking forward to the garda beatdown squads that will pull motorists from their cars, throw them on the ground and proceed to punch and kick them for minor road traffic offences such as running red or amber lights, being 10kph over the limit, talking on mobile phones etc.

Perhaps the punishment can be scaled to fit the crime. An additional kick in the face for every 5kph over the speed limit for example.

Yes. This is an excellent idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

So physical assault is now an appropriate response for violations of the rules of the road?

Looking forward to the garda beatdown squads that will pull motorists from their cars, throw them on the ground and proceed to punch and kick them for minor road traffic offences such as running red or amber lights, being 10kph over the limit, talking on mobile phones etc.

Perhaps the punishment can be scaled to fit the crime. An additional kick in the face for every 5kph over the speed limit for example.

2bxkqc.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭William F

This is a picture of the scum bag who brutally assaulted me.

Well said. I like to know what the punishment for assault should be.

When your finished with that Strawman could you come over to my house and build one for me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

I would suggest you remove the pic op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

... I have to fly out foreign early in the morning so I can't visit the hospital like I've been asked to do.

Find the time to receive medical assistance. If you won't go to A&E, then go to your out-of-hours Doctor surgery this evening / tonight, details here.
    It could just be bruising, but it's best to be sure it is not something more serious.

When your finished with that Strawman could you come over to my house and build one for me?

Are you saying the taxi man was justified in physically assaulting someone for running a red light?

And yes I was obviously exaggerating to make a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭ckeego

Modify your behaviour.

How can you Double thank this??

Fcuked off, sick and tired of that type of cycling-if you want to cycle like a NY courier, well pi$$ off to NY and do it there

I honestly thought when I started the commute cycle to the city from Wicklow that it would be the motorists that I would be most at risk from--it's the other cyclists at times that you need to watch out for...:mad:

All said, having seen that type of rage from motorists, 2 wrongs don't make a right-being assaulted like that is just wrong..You really don't know who you are dealing with sometimes in those situations

Are you saying the taxi man was justified in physically assaulting someone for running a red light?

If you want to know what I'm saying, you can read my post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭peckerhead

Tzardine wrote: »

Exaggerate much? Please show.me where i said the taxi driver was right and the assault was appropriate. At the end of the day the op.broke a red light and it was his illegal.actions that started this chain of events.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Jesus....the response's here are incredible.
    OK so the guy ran a red light and gave a two fingered wave.
    But then he was seriously assaulted.
    If the Taximan returned the gesture then fair enough.
    But he went out of his way to give the op a beating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

At the end of the day the op.broke a red light and it was his illegal.actions that started this chain of events.

I'm always amazed at the prevalence of this particular kind of stupidity. Whoever started a chain of events is responsible for everything that follows? I can only assume that this has been given absolutely no thought whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

You ran a red which in itself is wrong. And two fingered an obvious psycho ( which in itself is not illegal) who decided to mete out his own street justice. The last time I checked the guards were the enforcers of the law - not taxi men.

The fact that you broke a red light and provoked the taxi driver I would imagine would in no way absolve him of his actions. He assaulted you. The fact you have witnesses to this (who I assume gave a written statement to the guards) further increases the chances of charges being brought, I would imagine. It'll be up to you if you want to pursue but would be nice to see this oaf taught a lesson.

Either way let it be a lesson. There's a lot of unhinged nutcases on the road - better of to ignore them in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭ckeego

niceonetom wrote: »
    I'm always amazed at the prevalence of this particular kind of stupidity. Whoever started a chain of events is responsible for everything that follows? I can only assume that this has been given absolutely no thought whatsoever.

Ah, sure who would be responsible for that??

People not taking responsibility for their actions and the consequences of same is one of the prime reasons this country is in a deep hole for the last decade-give that some thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

bcmf wrote: »
    Jesus....the response's here are incredible.
    OK so the guy ran a red light and gave a two fingered wave.
    But then he was seriously assaulted.
    If the Taximan returned the gesture then fair enough.
    But he went out of his way to give the op a beating.

Because he initiated it by giving the fingers. In no way is what the taxi driver did right but road rage requires 2 people. If you break a law don't make it worst by getting agro when someone points it out, because as the OP has unfortunately found out there are a lot of nutters on the road.

niceonetom wrote: »

Nice personal.attack there.

Of course op is at least partially responsible, he first broke the red light, then instead of just giving a wave of the hand in a sorry about that gesture he decided instead to give the universal **** you instead. Again am not condoning the taxi driver for what he did but has anyone thought about what may have led him to lose it? Maybe this is not the first meeting of a cyclist breaking the law he has had today, for all you know he could have just missed another one a few minutes ago and was pissed off at people who.think the laws of the road don't apply to them as op does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Nice personal.attack there.

Of course op is at least partially responsible, he first broke the red light, then instead of just giving a wave of the hand in a sorry about that gesture he decided instead to give the universal **** you instead. Again am not condoning the taxi driver for what he did but has anyone thought about what may have led him to lose it? Maybe this is not the first meeting of a cyclist breaking the law he has had today, for all you know he could have just missed another one a few minutes ago and was pissed off at people who.think the laws of the road don't apply to them as op does.

Ah right. So he had a few close calls and decides to pummel the next one he comes across. Guy has no place in a civilised society - giving a rude hand gesture in no way deserves a beating. But as I said there are a lot of unhinged nutters out there.

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Ah right. So he had a few close calls and decides to pummel the next one he comes across. Guy has no place in a civilised society - giving a rude hand gesture in no way deserves a beating. But as I said there are a lot of unhinged nutters out there.

I agree there are many, as i said though op is in no way innocent in all of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Tzardine wrote: »

Or post a picture of your bike,so we know to be prepared for your bad cycling and manners.

Dublin/coke bike, not even his.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,895 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

jaysus, someone break out the pitchforks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

the obvious solution to stop twonky taxi drivers beating up muppet cyclist who have zero manners and couldn't give a sh1t about their own or others safety on the road is to just do away with dublin tanks

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Locked pending review.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I'd like to remind people to please not post names, pictures, reg plates or any other identifying information in relation to allegations of this nature.

This information should be provided to the Guards and not published here.

I'm leaving this thread locked. OP has received all the advice they're going to get and I can't see any good in reopening the discussion.

Thank you.