Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate - which parts are based on true story

• 29-10-2014 7:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭

I watched a few episodes of Love/Hate. Its better than I thought it'd be, the storyline and characters are all realistic but they still keep it entertaining. I'm guessing the storyline is based on a true story (that hotel bust scenario happened years ago, I can't remember the details). The part about Johnboy losing the plot and staring at the monitor all night to see if a ghost would come by, did that actually happen or did they just throw that in for the craic? Something proper weird happened me a few months ago so I wouldn't be surprised if that happened. Not the least bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Moved from Dublin City to Television

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

The bit where Fran lost a tooth, people lose teeth all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Its all fantasy. Irish people do not take drugs. We are virgins dancing at crossroads. I blame the Brits for this slur upon our good character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭TheBlock

The Junkie Jesus Freaks...they're real. I'm one of the head honcho's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭BogMonkey

I blame them for St Pat bringing Catholicism over and deluding good people such as yourself into thinking drugs and sex are bad. Back in the old days we'd be having drug fuelled orgies at the cross roads and we wouldn't need to confession and repent for our sins cuz the Gods are all for that sorta thing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 nidgeweaseal

BogMonkey wrote: »
    I watched a few episodes of Love/Hate. Its better than I thought it'd be, the storyline and characters are all realistic but they still keep it entertaining. I'm guessing the storyline is based on a true story (that hotel bust scenario happened years ago, I can't remember the details). The part about Johnboy losing the plot and staring at the monitor all night to see if a ghost would come by, did that actually happen or did they just throw that in for the craic? Something proper weird happened me a few months ago so I wouldn't be surprised if that happened. Not the least bit.

The part where hughie shoots himself and all the lads getting caught in the hotel with the drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭BogMonkey

Nice one Nidgers, thanks for clearing that up for me. Had a feeling that part was true too. Hughie the bleedin muppit. I have a feeling the ghost in the monitor part is true aswell.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

TheBlock wrote: »
    The Junkie Jesus Freaks...they're real. I'm one of the head honcho's.

Based on Victory Outreach Church surely? A boards.ie search will tell you all you need to know about them.

above-2.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Bootsy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter