Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Traffic disruption Nov1 - info where?

• 29-10-2014 04:26PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭

Anyone know where I can find accurate information about the disruption to traffic, roads closed, bus diversions in Dublin City Centre as a result of the Water Charges protests next Saturday 1st November? I have to travel in and out of town twice and need to plan ahead. Looked on aa roadwatch and garda websites and nothing there at all.
    Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,722 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

There is no such thing as 'accurate information' when it comes to these protests. Even when they're organised by a central body, it usually consist of people who regard co-operation with the cops as a betrayal of their core beliefs.

The whole purpose of those marches is to cause as much disruption as possible, thus they will not inform the Gardai, AA Roadwatch or Dublin Bus in advance where they intend to go.

I was watching AA roadwatch on Twitter on a Saturday a few weeks ago and it was pretty obvious that the march that was going on was completely rudderless because the mob simply went left and right and up and down with no obvious preplanned route. When the majority gave up and went home, the hard core yobs sat down on O'Connell St. so a few of them were arrested for failing to move on as instructed by the Gardai.

Good luck trying to predict when & where they will go on Nov 1st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Seesee wrote: »
    Anyone know where I can find accurate information about the disruption to traffic, roads closed, bus diversions in Dublin City Centre as a result of the Water Charges protests next Saturday 1st November? I have to travel in and out of town twice and need to plan ahead. Looked on aa roadwatch and garda websites and nothing there at all.
    Any ideas?

Are you on Twitter? The Guards Twitter account is good at posting real time updates and info about traffic delays and/or road closures. They do it for all reasons...weather, accidents etc etc & not just for protest marches. Their handle is @GardaTraffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,652 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Expect the worst disruption to be southbound from Parnell Square to Kildare Street. Depending on the amount of people that show up, this could extend into side streets.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Are you on Twitter? The Guards Twitter account is good at posting real time updates and info about traffic delays and/or road closures. They do it for all reasons...weather, accidents etc etc & not just for protest marches. Their handle is @GardaTraffic.

And while you're at it...

https://twitter.com/aaroadwatch self-explanatory
    https://twitter.com/dublinbusnews will tweet changes to Dublin Bus routes. I realise you're driving but these guys are getting live updates from bus drivers.
    https://twitter.com/LiveDrive is the Dublin Traffic control centre

and as recommended above ...

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic

One or all of them will keep you as up to date as is possible given the restraints described in my post above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭Seesee

Thanks, i had been in contact with the Garda Traffic on twitter and they expect to have some news on the march today. I had heard rumours that the truck drivers would also blockade on Saturday which would affect my planned diversion route away from the Water march. As one of you said, there will probably be little information given beforehand.
    I'm all in favour of people's right to protest but obviously it's a major pain in the a** when it affects other people's ability to get on with their day to day stuff.
    Thanks for help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

If you need to get around town on Saturday then get an account on DublinBikes as anything else will be just sitting in traffic.

Not possible I'm afraid, transporting a number of items. No info still on garda websites, dcc website, twitter still no information except from the gem of "use public transport" from DCC.
    I want info on time of protest in city centre, expected route, expected road closures etc. cannot believe this is so hard to get. Just shows the lack of planning.

All I can tell you is if you can do without going in it would be better.

For dublin bus last protest had knock on effect even out to Bray buses missing all stuck in town or trying to get out special to get back on track.

There was that many at the protest that where they walked had roads closed and rolling blocks all over the city.

Finally got some good information from AA roadwatch - the darlings of the car driver, demons of Dublin 'let's keep all car drivers out of the' City Council.

http://www.theaa.ie/AA/AA-Roadwatch/County-Traffic.aspx?AID=9

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭TheBandicoot

That's a mad route all together.

That will cause absolute chaos think spelt that right;)

Town and anywhere near will be affected with knock ons from traffic getting built up.

I am glad not going anywhere near.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,638 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Jayses the city center businesses will be hit hard on Saturday, I can't see too many shoppers wanting to venture in.

It will be crippling if these continue right up to Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭aliveandkicking

Just as a matter of interest what is wrong with DCC's "use public transport" advice? Anyone thinking of driving through town on Saturday afternoon would be insane. On http://right2water.ie/events it lists about 20 different protests taking place across Dublin on Saturday. All of these protests will converge on the city centre from all directions causing massive delays for anyone driving.

Bonanza for suburban shopping centres, Dundrum will be jammers!

Might be worth tuning into Dublin City FM on 103.2, they normally do nonstop traffic reports during morning and evening rush hour Mon-Fri but might give updates on Saturday.

No problem with that advice from DCC. What I did have a problem with was that neither they nor the guards had info on what route the protest was taking. Even if you are using public transport you might want that information. 2 days before the event - nothing.

But they would have no information about planned routes. The protest organisers don't ring up the council or the gardaí and tell them the details of the route. The first either of them would know would be when the protestors put up the details on social media or websites.

I don't think you are correct. I think in order to hold a legal demonstration march in the city centre, you are obliged to notify the gardai of your plans to demonstrate and your planned route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,615 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

Generally what the Garda Siochana do in this situation is implement rolling road closures as the protests move through the city.

As these situations tend to be fairly fluid, they don't normally formally close roads for set periods of time.

I don't think you are correct. I think in order to hold a legal demonstration march in the city centre, you are obliged to notify the gardai of your plans to demonstrate and your planned route.

If that's the case I stand corrected. These multiple protests across the country only made the media today though. The socialist TDs were on the news with a map of the locations saying there are new locations being added all the time. If that's the case I don't think there is a lot of prior notification given to the Gardaí.

If that's the case I stand corrected.

You may resume your seat, there is no such requirement.
    These multiple protests across the country only made the media today though. The socialist TDs were on the news with a map of the locations saying there are new locations being added all the time. If that's the case I don't think there is a lot of prior notification given to the Gardaí.

There is no notification whatsoever being given to the Gardai in respect of next Saturday's protests, same as happens every Saturday, whether it's water charges, youth defence/woman's right to choose, property tax, some 'republican' commemoration (20-30 yobs blocking the street outside the GPO) or whatever.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Just as a matter of interest what is wrong with DCC's "use public transport" advice? Anyone thinking of driving through town on Saturday afternoon would be insane. On http://right2water.ie/events it lists about 20 different protests taking place across Dublin on Saturday. All of these protests will converge on the city centre from all directions causing massive delays for anyone driving.

If the main roads in the city such as Kildare St, Nassua St, College Gr, Westmoreland St, D'Olier St, O'Connel Br/St are blocked off for a significant amount of time, there will be little or no public transport facilitated by Dublin Bus, as the majority of routes go through these.

That's true alright. Won't be much of a Dublin Bus service through town. The Luas and Dart should stay running though. I haven't actually seen this advice from DCC anywhere apart from Seesee's post above. Where did this advice from DCC come from Seesee?

Twitter as below

Traffic Mgmt. Centre
    @DCCTraffic
    Due to large numbers expected at a protest march in the City Centre this Saturday we would advise using public transport.
    0 replies 0 retweets 0 favorites
    Reply Retweet Favorite
    More
    8:52 AM - 30 Oct 2014

Twitter as below

Traffic Mgmt. Centre
    @DCCTraffic
    Due to large numbers expected at a protest march in the City Centre this Saturday we would advise using public transport.
    0 replies 0 retweets 0 favorites
    Reply Retweet Favorite
    More
    8:52 AM - 30 Oct 2014

Cheers for that. Didn't realise DCC traffic had their own twitter. See they also replied to you with more details of expected routes too.

@DCCtraffic has 440 followers on Twitter and has tweeted 1,349 times

@LiveDrive has 10,500 followers and has tweeted 51,300 times.

Both are fed from the Dublin City traffic control centre but it's pretty obvious which is the real deal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,271 ✭✭✭Yggr of Asgard

It's not only the city center that is a mess, my local communist TD has organized a local protest which she has determined has to run from the local shopping center to the local palace of the county council from 1130 to 1300.

Unfortunately all public buses in these area are going through that main road so that will mean that no buses will go from our little town to anywhere from I would estimate 1000 to 1500.

Dublin Bus has not a single word about this on their homepage beside the standard "it is likely that there will be disruption and delays to bus services between the hours of 11am and 4pm. "

I mean it's clear to everybody that the buses won't go because her 186 confirmed participants (as per facebook) are enough to stop all traffic for that period of time.

So I will have to walk down to the country council with my rotten eggs that I will throw at her for blocking the main traffic and being such a pain.

Dublin Bus notice about the protests:

Planned Protests Saturday November 1st 2014

Published on Friday, October 31, 2014

Dublin Bus wishes to advise customers that due to the protests planned to take place at a large number of locations across the city tomorrow (Saturday 1st November) it is likely that there will be disruption and delays to bus services between the hours of 11am and 4pm. Every effort will be made to maintain a full service throughout the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭vickers209

http://right2water.ie/events

List of local demonstrations...so far

Carlow, Carlow, 2pm Liberty Tree, Facebook event page.

Cavan, 2pm beside Argos on the Dublin Road

Cavan, 2pm, Market Square

Clare, Ennis, O'Connell Monument 2pm. Facebook event page.

Clare, Shannon, Shannon Town CTR Carpark (behind Kincora).

Cork, Bandon, 12pm Main Bridge.

Cork, Clonakilty, 1pm Astna Square

Cork, Cork City, 2pm, Library, Grand Parade.

Cork, Fermoy, 2pm Chapel Square.

Cork, Mallow, 2pm, assemble at the west end of Mallow.

Cork, Youghal, Barry's Lane, 1pm.

Donegal, Ballyshannon, Saturday 2pm

Donegal, Letterkenny, 2pm, Mr Chippy Roundabout

Donegal, Lifford, 2pm, Bottom of Croahan Heights

Dublin, Artane, 11am, Our Lady of Conselation Car Park.

Dublin, Dublin 15, Blanchardstown, various community demonstrations convening at the Blanchardstown town centre at 1pm. Facebook event page.

Dublin, Ballyfermot, 1pm Civic Centre, Facebook event page.

Dublin, Blanchardstown, Bank of Ireland, Blanchardstown Village, 1pm. Facebook page.

Dublin, Cabra, 12pm Cabra Bingo Hall.

Dublin, Cabra, 2pm, Naomh Fionnbarra GAA Club.

Dublin, Dublin Central, Phibsboro, St Peter's Church , 1pm.

Dublin, Clondalkin, 2.30pm from County Council.

Dublin, Coolock, Stall Northside Shopping Centre.

Dublin, Crumlin, 1pm Crumlin Shopping Centre.

Dublin, Donaghmede/Kilbarrack, 11:30am, Donaghmede Shopping Centre.

Dublin, Donnybrook, 1pm, Beechill.

Dublin, Donnycarney, Stall at Donnycarney Church.

Dublin, Drimnagh, 1pm Galtymore Shops.

Dublin, Dun Laoghaire, 1pm Glasthule Dart. Facebook event page.

Dublin, Dundrum, 2pm, Dundrum Luas Bridge

Dublin, Finglas, 11.30am Cappagh House / 1pm outside Bank of Ireland Finglas Village,

Dublin, Greenhills (D12), Greenhills Church, 1:30pm.

Dublin, Harolds Cross, 1pm.

Dublin, Lucan, 2pm, Lucan Community Centre.

Dublin, North Inner City, 12 noon, Meet at Five Lamps, North Strand.

Dublin, Pearse Street, 1pm, Erne St Post Office

Dublin, Rialto, 12:30pm, Ardee St/Cork St.

Dublin, Ringsend, 12:30 Ringsend Library. Facebook event page.

Dublin, Stoneybatter, 12pm, Tesco Car Park, Prussia Street.

Dublin, Tallaght, 11am Dominican St. Mary's Priory Tallaght. Facebook event page.

Dublin, Walkinstown, 1:30pm, Lidl, Walkinstown Avenue.

Dublin, York Street, Dublin 2 at 1pm

Fingal, Swords, 11.30am Pavilions March to Fingal Co.Co. Facebook event page.

Galway, Ballinasloe, Library Car Park, 4pm.

Galway, Galway, 1pm Spanish Arch. Facebook event page.

Kerry, Tralee, 1pm Horan Centre.

Kildare, Athy, 1.45 The Arches, Athy. Facebook event page.

Kildare, Celbridge, 12pm Rally Castletown Gates. Facebook event page.

Kildare, Leixlip, Rally meeting point Leixlip Fire Station 2pm. Facebook event page.

Kildare, Maynooth, 1pm, The Square.

Kildare, Naas, 1:30pm The Courthouse. Facebook event page.

Kildare, Newbridge, 2pm Ballymany shops, Newbridge. Facebook event page.

Kilkenny, 1:30pm, Assemble at the train station. Facebook event page.

Laois, Portarlington, 2pm, Carpark of School across from St Michael's Church.

Laois, Laois County Hall Car Park, 2pm.

Leitrim, Carrick-on-Shannon, 1pm, Tesco Car Park.

Limerick, Limerick City, 2pm Bedford Row.

Limerick, 1:45pm, various meeting points including:

Treaty Stone, Clancy Strand
    Punches Cross, O'Connell Ave
    Claughaun GAA Club, Childers Road
    Westbury Shopping Centre, by Tesco (meet 1pm for this one)

Longford, Longford, Battery Road

Louth, Ardee, 2pm Catholic Church. Facebook event page.

Louth, Drogheda, 2pm O'Rahallaigh's GAA club to Shop Street.

Louth, Dundalk, 2pm Fairgreen. Facebook event page.

Meath, Navan, 2pm Fair Green.

Meath, Kells, Rally starting at 2pm at Fair Green Kells.

Meath, Ashbourne, Arkle Statue 2pm.

Meath, Duleek, Duleek Village 12 noon.

Mayo, Ballina, 1:30pm, Diamonds Carpark.

Mayo, Castlebar, 1pm, Market Square.

Monaghan, Monaghan, 2pm, Courthouse

Offaly, Birr, 2pm, Old Post Office, Emmet Square.

Offally, Edenderry, 1:30pm, Dunnes Stores Car Park

Offally, Tullamore, 2pm, GAA Arden Road.

Roscommon, Boyle, 1:30pm Royal Hotel Carpark.

Roscommon, Roscommon Town, 2pm The Mart.

Sligo, Sligo, 2pm GPO Sligo. Facebook event page.

Tipperary, Carrick-on-suir, 3pm, Castlefield

Tipperary, Cashel, 1:45pm, The Plaza, Main Street.

Tipperary, Nenagh, 2pm, Railway Square.

Tipperary, Roscrea, 3pm, Tesco Carpark.

Tipperary, Tipperary Town, 3:45pm, Redmund Square.

Waterford, Portlaw, 12 noon, Main Village.

Waterford, Waterford City, Ballybricken Hill 2pm.

Westmeath, Athlone, 2pm, St Peters Church.

Westmeath, Mullingar, 2pm, Penneys Car Park.

Wexford, The Quay, New Ross, 2pm. Facebook event page.

Wexford, Enniscorthy, 2pm, Fairgreen, Enniscorthy.

Wexford, Gorey, 2pm, Gorey Community School Car Park. Facebook event page.

Wexford, Wexford Town, 2pm, Riverbank Hotel. Facebook event page.

Wicklow, Blessington, 12pm, Aldi Car Park.

Wicklow, Bray, 2pm Three assembly points: Lidl, Dell Boghall Rd. or St Fergals Church. Facebook event page.

Wicklow, Greystones, 2pm from Civic Offices Mill Rd. Facebook event page.

Wicklow, Wicklow, 12.30 Wicklow County Council. Facebook event page.

Wicklow, Arklow, Fr. Murphy Monument, Parade Ground 1.45pm. Facebook event page.

If you know of any other local demonstrations organised under the Right2Water umbrella group, please email right2waterirl@gmail.com with details including: The organiser, time, location and if a Facebook event page has been set up, please include it.

I think with that number of protests it is impossible for Dublin Bus to accurately predict what disruption there will be - I think best course of action is not to travel between 12 and 6 if you can help it at all.

coylemj wrote: »
    @DCCtraffic has 440 followers on Twitter and has tweeted 1,349 times

@LiveDrive has 10,500 followers and has tweeted 51,300 times.

Both are fed from the Dublin City traffic control centre but it's pretty obvious which is the real deal...

I was wondering why there would be two different twitter accounts fed from the same source but today there wasn't anything from the @LiveDrive account but @dcctraffic were tweeting updates about the protest march closures. It looks like the Live Drive account is used when the radio guys are are on the air during the weekday rush hours but if something is happening outside of those hours the dcctraffic account is used.