Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bought bullock but days Hefner on card?

• 29-10-2014 8:11am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭

Bought a bundle of bullocks yesterday. One is down as female on his card. Number is ok. Honest mistake on part of farmer and mart but is it a big job get it amended? Anyone else ever happen to? Says heifer by the way he's no playboy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Willfarman wrote: »
    Bought a bundle of bullocks yesterday. One is down as female on his card. Number is ok. Honest mistake on part of farmer and mart but is it a big job get it amended? Anyone else ever happen to? Says heifer by the way he's no playboy!

Form er94b. You can get it from vet or department

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Will that not ring alarm bells with the Dept?
    The animal has gone through one owner, one mart already and mistake not spotted. I never like to draw unwanted attention from the Dept. Could the Mart not handle this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

The animal has gone through one owner, one mart already and mistake not spotted. I never like to draw unwanted attention from the Dept. Could the Mart not handle this?

Form 94b never had any problems using it. If you're keeping the animal through to slaughter probably not worth the hassle of getting it changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

They told me to ring dept and get back to them if any problem. I agree with you 100%. That is what I'm afraid of!

Form 94b never had any problems using it. If you're keeping the animal through to slaughter probably not worth the hassle of getting it changed.

Would it not be a problem in the factory?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

I don't think a change of that nature will cause any problems. They must deal with hundreds every week.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

It is not the op's error

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

If you don't want to interact with department could you contact mart and have animal taken back ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Would it not be a problem in the factory?

Probably get heifers price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

_Brian wrote: »
    If you don't want to interact with department could you contact mart and have animal taken back ?

That's what id be doing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Any dealings I have had with the dept I have found them more than fair and very helpful if you go to them with an issue.might be different if they come to you with something but this is a very easy fix that happens all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Don't they sometimes do DNA testing to track animals past ? As in guy you bought off said it was a paper mistake but born off that cow .. They check DNA of both and either agree or disagree ? Don't know who pays and a couple of dna tests would be a few hundred !! I'd be inclined to give animal back till all sorted

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Markcheese wrote: »
    Don't they sometimes do DNA testing to track animals past ? As in guy you bought off said it was a paper mistake but born off that cow .. They check DNA of both and either agree or disagree ? Don't know who pays and a couple of dna tests would be a few hundred !! I'd be inclined to give animal back till all sorted
    that would 2 extra movements on the animals card, If i was op I would ring mart and see what they advise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

whelan2 wrote: »
    that would 2 extra movements on the animals card, If i was op I would ring mart and see what they advise

Had the same problem here.
    I Just rang the department they sent out a form and I sent it off with the card. Got new correct card back the following week. No problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I'm just trying to figure out how it got through the mart office....regardless of which software they're using (Infoscience or Newline) the lot numbers correspond to the sex of animals and it should throw up an error in the system. For example all bullocks may be gong through Ring 1 and all animals there would have to be male.

I'd be questioning how the animal got through. As said above it's no real hassle to change but it should go back through mart to the original seller to fix it.

Kovu wrote: »
    I'm just trying to figure out how it got through the mart office....regardless of which software they're using (Infoscience or Newline) the lot numbers correspond to the sex of animals and it should throw up an error in the system. For example all bullocks may be gong through Ring 1 and all animals there would have to be male.

I'd be questioning how the animal got through. As said above it's no real hassle to change but it should go back through mart to the original seller to fix it.

If the animal is in the op's herd now the previous owner won't be able to change the sex of the animal now

Kovu wrote: »

If it's the mart I'm thinking of that op bought at all cattle sold in one ring, in no perticular order, he said he bought a bunch of blks though, does that mean he bought a bunch as in 3 singles, 2 doubles and a bunch of five or? If this animal was in with other blks I'd be questioning how it didn't show up as being wrong-a heifer in a bunch of blks, maybe she was sold in a single lot either?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

True whelan!

Simx the cattle may all go through the one ring but different categories through different rings on the system.
    Bullocks could be ring 1/heifers- 2/springers- 3/wean bulls- 4/wean heifers- 5/dry cows- 6.

When they're balancing up at the end of the day it's easiest to have them all separated like that. Sorta hard to explain but it means that any animal with a bullock number has to be male or else it was sold through the wrong ring and the sheets shouldn't have balanced at the end of the day.

Springers/drys are the only ones usually with both male/female allowed through because of stock bulls & bull calves. But now I'm taking this off a bit off topic!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Justjens

Just contact the Dept, registered a heifer as a bull many moons ago and collected two punches before I realised my mistake as I was sorting cattle to kill. Contacted the Dept immediately and the only penalty was a reduction of two subs from my next cheque.

Would imagine the process would be a lot easier now, and it's no fault of yours OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

whelan2 wrote: »
    Form er94b. You can get it from vet or department

I registered one of my own calves incorrectly this year, ie registered as bull but should have been a heifer.

Will same form apply?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Happened to me years ago. Just went into department and explained it. There was no problem. Sorted there snd then.

Would report it to the mart though,

Dunedin wrote: »
    I registered one of my own calves incorrectly this year, ie registered as bull but should have been a heifer.

Will same form apply?
    yup, some ammendments to the data base also require a vets letter, so just read the form, also send wrong card with form

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Has any one had fall-out from correcting the sex of an animal, be it one of your own or a bought in one?

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

greysides wrote: »
    Has any one had fall-out from correcting the sex of an animal, be it one of your own or a bought in one?
    no , not yet. But some people seem to have an idea by correcting stuff or ordering tags you will have an inspection. I think its better to have the tags and have the cattle details right. Everyone-even me- makes mistakes and thats why the er94b is there

I've helped sort out many wrong sex cards. Some of them must have been bought in. I've never heard of any repercussions from it.

Adam Grant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Never had trouble here the depth are helpfull when its genuine mistake. We had 20 calves one yr that we forgot to register and didnt realise till spring. Got it sorted fine.
    Changed sex of animals numerous times on animals no problem

Everything goes through the same ring in no particular order. Bullock was on a bunch of 4. And first time out.
    Dept are sending me out the form. I wouldn't want return him at what he cost to honest!

Everything goes through the same ring in no particular order. Bullock was on a bunch of 4. And first time out.
    Dept are sending me out the form. I wouldn't want return him at what he cost to honest!

Haha he must of been for nothing :D any cows there?

simx wrote: »
    Haha he must of been for nothing :D any cows there?

There wasn't many cows in it. An ex parlour cow stiff on her feet 570kgs. €€380. fleshed well dried off cow 610 kgs 900. Few big Simmental charlolais cows brought around 1.80 a kg. small mart on account of the strike and whatever. You going to kk?

Sound like enough so, ya get many blks in it? I bet 'sideburns' bought all them good cows? Yeah will be there, Prob be big again, 1580 cattle there last week, you going?

I got 8. Yes your spot on. Mr a is a big asset for anyone showing good cows. Was planning to go get a look but looking like I will be getting sheds ready.

And mr. H giving a helping hand in the background, same story tomorrow and Friday :) oh ya could be time enough head in to Kk after dinner, 100 pens of blks there last week

You have talked me into it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

I'm trying to match up the names now with the monikers ye lads have put on them :pac::o

You have talked me into it!

"And Im not easily persuaded" your Prob saying :D

nashmach wrote: »
    I'm trying to match up the names now with the monikers ye lads have put on them :pac::o

Ah we haven't made it that difficult to work out :)

"And Im not easily persuaded" your Prob saying :D

Ha ha! :D

Ha ha! :D

You'll have George selling blks tomorrow, don't let him run on with himself too quick :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

no problem to get the card changed has to be done by the owner of the animal on the day not the previous owner,will not pull for inspection just a myth, as for having to return the two bullock subs untrue as the computer is not linked to that old scheme that ran over 10 years ago and was a paper system of application.as for having an animal from the old sub days would have shown up every year on the TB test as wrong sex and the vet would have informed at the test to correct the sex.

Was just in vets there now. An elderly farmer pulled up with a heifer in the trailer. Vet looked at heifer which had been registered a bull,wrote a note and filled in er94b!