Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you had enough partners?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭sheesh

Ah jesus I'm fecked so! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Earl Turner

Good to know. Not so good if you're homosexual though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

It's the ejaculations that reduce the risk, not the sex. A **** a day keeps the doctor away - from your arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Balls.

How does your willy know the difference between shagging twenty people once and one person twenty times?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 Colossal Phallus

It's the ejaculations that reduce the risk, not the sex. A **** a day keeps the doctor away - from your arse.

That's is only speculation. There isn't any proof of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

* Not an excuse to cheat on your partners
    ** Not an excuse to use escorts
    *** Does it have the same affect on homosexual men?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,060 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

It is the first study to suggest the number of female partners is what matters, rather than the amount of sex, or even masturbation.

The study would disagree with you, it says number of female partners rather than ejaculations.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 Colossal Phallus

Balls.

How does your willy know the difference between shagging twenty people once and one person twenty times?

Maybe it's a psychological effect which effects your physiology. Maybe the frustration of sex with only a few women has harmful effects on the body. Maybe some other correlating factor is the causative agent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

Balls.

Who's ever shagged the same women 20 times?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,597 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

I'd assume these are just coincidental statistics that the Daily Mail tried to relate for a story.

The number of deaths by drowning rises during the summer.

So does the number of Ice Cream sales.

Therefore Ice Cream causes people to drown. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

Cut the risk of cancer by exposing yourself to the risk of STD/Is...well I'll be f**ked, literally.

Maybe it's a psychological effect which effects your physiology. Maybe the frustration of sex with only a few women has harmful effects on the body. Maybe some other correlating factor is the causative agent.

That's what I was thinking. It's certainly a great feeling seducing a woman. Doing this to many different women is certainly good for the ego and may have positive effects on the body.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,210 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Would like to see the actual study. Headline says partners, but the hypotheses proposed by the researches relate more to ejaculation as opposed to specifically sex with different women. Could be the daily mail sensationalising things.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

That's what I was thinking. It's certainly a great feeling seducing a woman. Doing this to many different women is certainly good for the ego and may have positive effects on the body.
    Let us know if you ever find out.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Here's the link to what seems to be the original article:
    Highlights

Association between sexual activity and prostate cancer risk was examined.

Having had >20 female sexual partners associated with decreased prostate cancer risk.

Having had >20 male sexual partners were suggestive of greater prostate cancer risk.

Self-identification as a homosexual was suggestive of greater prostate cancer risk.

No association found between sexually transmitted infections and prostate cancer.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

There could be a small grain of truth in this - some studies have shown that people who are arseholes live longer than others - it boils down to the inner confidence, no desire to please others, don't worry about others - this can essentially help them to live longer as they don't feel stress about anything - they believe they are amazing, nothing can go wrong (no self-doubt, enormous self-belief)

Falling into this category could be the cliched "Player" - the guy who likes to use and dispose of multiple partners (the "Hump 'Em and Dump 'Em approach if you will) - so yeah, could be some truth in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Balls.

Oh he knows ;)

Pretty sure that auld brain chap tells him whats been happening :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Oh he knows ;)

Pretty sure that auld brain chap tells him whats been happening :pac:

Yes but The Robin Williams theory on the lack of blood supply negates that

• Registered Users Posts: 607 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

There could be a small grain of truth in this - some studies have shown that people who are arseholes live longer than others - it boils down to the inner confidence, no desire to please others, don't worry about others - this can essentially help them to live longer as they don't feel stress about anything - they believe they are amazing, nothing can go wrong (no self-doubt, enormous self-belief)

That and the fact that ye can't kill a bad yoke

• Registered Users Posts: 10,060 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

slashed their risk by 28%
    Just made a list.... I qualify for the 28% risk reduction :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Face-to-face interviews in the interviewees' homes asking interviewees about sexual history and STIs?

I think this one can safely be taken with a pinch of salt.

It does admit the sensitivity to horse**** responses:
    "Sensitivity analyses evaluated the potential impact on risk estimates of having a third person (usually the spouse) present during the interview, having a proxy respondent, and gender of the interviewer. For the analyses, these variables were included separately in the logistic regression models presented in Table 2, Table 3 and Table 4."
    - but (and it could be just me missing it - neither stats nor medical journals are my thing) I can't see where Tables 2,3, and 4 make any reference to the bias?

edit: Seems they do mention it later
    "Social desirability bias and concerns about confidentiality may lead some interview respondents to censor their responses to questions pertaining to sexual issues [45]. Further, interviewer gender may potentially influence subjects’ responses [46]. However, the distributions of responses regarding sexual activity in our study did not vary when adjusted for interviewer gender, by whether the subject was interviewed alone or not, or by whether a proxy or the subject responded to the questionnaire. For example, the protective effect of having had more than 20 female sexual partners on the risk of PCa remained and the point-estimates were essentially the same when models were adjusted for the aforementioned variables (OR 0.73 (95% CI 0.56–0.94); OR 0.81 (95% CI 0.62–1.06); OR 0.72 (95% CI 0.56–0.94), respectively). In addition, interviewers believed the majority (96%) of respondents provided ‘truthful’ or ‘probably truthful’ answers to the questions pertaining to sexual behavior."

That said, if I were conducting an interview and hoping to "prove" something statistically from it, I wouldn't be very inclined to admit that I thought my interviewees were lying through their teeth.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Nice.

Now I can add another reason to my list when I ask that fine thing to bed me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 113 ✭✭BrokenHero

No wonder Hefner is alive and well. The bastard.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 489 ✭✭Sclosages

Women sleep around and they get cervical cancer. Men sleep around and they become immune to prostate cancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

smurfjed wrote: »
    The study would disagree with you, it says number of female partners rather than ejaculations.

The study didn't study ****.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,041 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Balls.

Or 20 handjobs in a massage parlour? Or 20 sheep on a farmyard? or 20... ok you get the idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭Sprog 4

Balls.

Variations in vaginal mucus viscosity of course.

Sclosages wrote: »
    Women sleep around and they get cervical cancer. Men sleep around and they become immune to prostate cancer.

Good to be a man.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,517 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

The number of deaths by drowning rises during the summer.

So does the number of Ice Cream sales.

Therefore Ice Cream causes people to drown. :p

Hmm... Last week I bought an ice cream. Then it started raining. I think you could be on to something here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Sprog 4 wrote: »
    Variations in vaginal mucus viscosity of course.

I love the "of course" bit, as if variations in vaginal mucus viscosity is something that everyone would be familiar with. :pac: