Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

40% grant !!!

• 27-10-2014 9:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44

Very interested in getting scales this winter and mention to get a couple anti backing bars. Are these covered in grant ?? Brilliant if they are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Bicki85 wrote: »
    Very interested in getting scales this winter and mention to get a couple anti backing bars. Are these covered in grant ?? Brilliant if they are

I'm nearly sure they are, there is a thread on here about it that has good detail on what's eligible. Farm safety grants or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭billy100

Your scales isn't I think, bars I think yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Scales is included in the grant, anti backing bar is not. Filled out the form last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Charliebull

Cavanjack wrote: »
    Scales is included in the grant, anti backing bar is not. Filled out the form last night.

Where did you get the form jack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Where did you get the form jack

A link was posted here not long back, and it was like Jack said.
    Maybe a mod could link to it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

What do ye use the scales for mostly ? Are many weanlin producers using them ?
    Strange that a scales is included in a farm safety scheme and not an antibacking bar

Bullocks wrote: »
    What do ye use the scales for mostly ? Are many weanlin producers using them ?
    Strange that a scales is included in a farm safety scheme and not an antibacking bar

Thay be used for measuring your kind

You could weigh my kind of weanlins on a bathroom scales most of the time !

No, I meant bullocks

Any crack, did you find a bride that time in Thailand

No, I meant bullocks

Any crack, did you find a bride that time in Thailand

I did but she has to be squeezed first before I bring her home to the parents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

That's because to my cynical mind the primary purpose of the scheme wasn't farmer safety. It was dreamt up to help engineering firms get big business and the gov cream back the tax. Ridiculous that you have to spend such a large amount to be eligible. I'd apply for grant if could get an anti backing bar.

I bought a helmet for the chainsaw today. Not covered by grant. I still thought it cheaper than a hospital visit and a mangled head. I've all the gear now, pants, boots, gloves. None of it or chainsaw training is covered by grant. I could hear 3 other neighbours working chainsaws today and l know for a fact, not one of them with an ounce of safety gear between them. Be lucky if they were wearing eyemuffs!

I won't be applying for the 'safety' grant as it doesnt cover anything l need at the moment.

Muckit wrote: »
    That's because to my cynical mind the primary purpose of the scheme wasn't farmer safety. It was dreamt up to help engineering firms get big business and the gov cream back the tax. Ridiculous that you have to spend such a large amount to be eligible. I'd apply for grant if could get an anti backing bar.

I bought a helmet for the chainsaw today. Not covered by grant. I still thought it cheaper than a hospital visit and a mangled head. I've all the gear now, pants, boots, gloves. None of it or chainsaw training is covered by grant. I could hear 3 other neighbours working chainsaws today and l know for a fact, not one of them with an ounce of safety gear between them. Be lucky if they were wearing eyemuffs!

I won't be applying for the 'safety' grant as it doesnt cover anything l need at the moment.
    I'd be thinking along the same lines , I wouldn't mind if the prices don't go up when the grants come on stream but thats usually what happens .
    The ould fella has been saying for years that what they give farmers in grants they will get back and more in revenue .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

That's the kind of craic that has scales on the list, and chiropractors giving out :P

If it was specifitly a safety grant there would be grants for replacement pto covers. Maybe they should have it that grants will only be paid after the farm passes a small safety inspection. Like what's the point in paying a farmer a grant on a new scales when he has an open slurry pit with no fence, or every pto in the place with covers hanging off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Bicki85

Exactly, anti backing bars surely should be included !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭royaler83

Bicki85 wrote: »
    Exactly, anti backing bars surely should be included !!!

But me auld lad loves gettin in and lyin against the last lad :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,242 ✭✭✭amacca

This is probably a stupid question…..but whats a fixed investment? would a head scoop be one?

I presume it means something permenant that cant be removed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,242 ✭✭✭amacca

I presume it means something permenant that cant be removed

you could contrive a way for everything to be fixed in that case!

Im interested in a head scoop and half tempted by a scales, I presume they are both considered fixed……I'm wondering if I have to find maps or pay some dude to do plan drawings of the crush for those things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Is there not a grant for a new permanent crush?

No just a mobile crush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Again, what a load of balls.

Muckit wrote: »
    Again, what a load of balls.

Fact. Crush here is a joke ah well ill get it done sometime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Fact. Crush here is a joke ah well ill get it done sometime

one thing the father did exceptionally well here is handling facilities, crush facing downhill, hold 4/5 cows, good big penning area at the back of it funneling into the crush, breaks my heart going dosing/testing with cousin, crush uphill, too much space to play with when trying to get up crush etc.

simx wrote: »
    one thing the father did exceptionally well here is handling facilities, crush facing downhill, hold 4/5 cows, good big penning area at the back of it funneling into the crush, breaks my heart going dosing/testing with cousin, crush uphill, too much space to play with when trying to get up crush etc.
    Crush is in an excellent place here. Up against the silage pit wall. All made from timber railing. Would have been good when it was made but no good now and it just has gates tied up in it.
    You could spend 7-10k easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Crush is in an excellent place here. Up against the silage pit wall. All made from timber railing. Would have been good when it was made but no good now and it just has gates tied up in it.
    You could spend 7-10k easy

Ah come on, you'd build the finest handling facilities in Ireland for 7-10k. U'd buy a lot of piping, uprights and a few metres of ready mix for 2k

Wild guess. Priced nothing at all. Ever growing list