Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Up to date Weanling Sale reports.

• 23-10-2014 10:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭

It's that time of year again for Irelands Part Time Suckler Farmers.
    And full time Suckler men who are few and far between;)
    Thought it might be useful to open a thread where people could write in valid reports on Trade in different parts of the country.
    My contribution will be to say that I was talking to a cousin last night who knows his stuff and was in Elphin Co Roscommon last Monday and said it was on fire for quality cont heifer weanlings...esp if they were storey type calves born from April on and not overdone with meal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

This site gives some prices, on some marts - not all mind, not exactly what you're looking for though...
    http://www.farmersforum.ie/mart-reports-ireland/reports.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,724 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

This site gives some prices, on some marts - not all mind, not exactly what you're looking for though...
    http://www.farmersforum.ie/mart-reports-ireland/reports.html

Do any of the marts show all prices from the sale?
    I find some f the reports just throw out the tip top stock prices and the trade on the day could have been very different indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

_Brian wrote: »
    I find some f the reports just throw out the tip top stock prices and the trade on the day could have been very different indeed.

The odd one does but most are the best looking top prices of the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Would agree _Brian......would rather if lads gave report from the horses mouth,Mart reports mean little as for example a 300kg Ch heifer weanling sold for 800 yo yos could sound like a great price but if farmer saw animal in Mart and saw she looked well....had a milky x in her backbreeding they would give that.She could also be a 300kg Ch heifer that was packed with meal and butty as hell:)!! ...but two warring neighbours bid her up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Ballymahon and tullamore give all lots,others either top lots or sample of prices.
    If all marts sent them in it would be the tool to use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Brass Tag

I said wrote: »
    Ballymahon and tullamore give all lots,others either top lots or sample of prices.
    If all marts sent them in it would be the tool to use.

That's another APP for Simon to do in his spare time, to go with the very nice APP he made for factory prices.
    Should be compulsory for the marts to submit all the data, not the bullsh 1t the publish on their own websites or local papers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

The FJ always used the sales data for all animals. Think the Indo was the same but with different software. Otherwise it's the manager/office staff doing up the sales figures which would of course be the top ones :rolleyes:

If I can't get full sale prices, next best you can get is top/middle/bottom ppk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Sold two last night, lmx Bulls both weighting 380kgs both black. One out of aax cow born April - €760, the other out of a hex cow born March - €870. Same cows calf sold for €875 last year almost same weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Sold two last night, lmx Bulls both weighting 380kgs both black. One out of aax cow born April - €760, the other out of a hex cow born March - €870. Same cows calf sold for €875 last year almost same weight.

Bulls were a good trade in Gort last night I thought. Anything with a bit of shape and 300kg making 800 freely. Seen 2 yellow charolais making 905 for 305kg and I wouldn't have said they were smashers by any means. Seen enough of the heifers when a nice 505kg yellow charolais yearling sold for 1000, thought it was a very bad price on her.

Heifers were only middling. Did you see the Pbr shorthorn heifer from fanore (possibly in calf) she was over 2 yo and made €500!!
    Saw some black lmx nice shapely animals around 300 Kgs made over €700. Have similar to go in the next few weeks.

Heifers were only middling. Did you see the Pbr shorthorn heifer from fanore (possibly in calf) she was over 2 yo and made €500!!
    Saw some black lmx nice shapely animals around 300 Kgs made over €700. Have similar to go in the next few weeks.

Ya I know the fella that had her, I used to get the job of hauling for him until he stung me for a few runs. She was a middling yoke.

What weight was she?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭john mayo 10

Sold a few 2 weeks ago in ballina. Best of the bulls were 2no ch 434 and 444 kgs and they made 1195 and 1175. Best of heifers golden ch weighing 260kgs made 870.delighted with those

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Weanlings are well back the last week. Seen animals that would have made 200 more a fortnight ago . Heard there's been a boat load held up in port still, does anyone know anything on this?

sold a small bunch today, brought on one light one that i bought as part of a suckler team, nice shapey white calf, ch out of a blue cow, only born mid june, came into ring and 160kg, said to myself think ill be bringing her home, couldnt believe it when she made 600e :D

simx wrote: »
    sold a small bunch today, brought on one light one that i bought as part of a suckler team, nice shapey white calf, ch out of a blue cow, only born mid june, came into ring and 160kg, said to myself think ill be bringing her home, couldnt believe it when she made 600e :D

simx, the lighter and younger they are the dearer cattle are. I can't understand it myself, but to be fair I seem to understand less about farming every year:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 spuddey

simx, the lighter and younger they are the dearer cattle are. I can't understand it myself, but to be fair I seem to understand less about farming every year:D:D

Ye sold 270 kg bulls 4 weeks ago 745 . sold similar stock today but weighing 320 for 630. Ca t follow ??,???..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Could be totally wrong in saying this but a factor making the lighter weanlings dearer is that with this winter shaping up to be Similiar to last yr ie no real idea what price factory cattle will be come killing time on Spring,a lot of people are veering for buying younger weanlings till they see how the whole 'bull beef' thing settles and at least they can always hold them on for a second winter if needs be.
    Two months ago it looked like weanling trade would be an absolute disaster this backend,at moment quality weanlings are on a par if not slightly dearer than this time last yr and the Suckler Cow support scheme announced on the budget is helping confidence too in future of suckling.

It would seem that there is a ceiling of €800 - €900 for weanlings atm. Unless they are exceptional or farmer driven. The weight almost seems irrelevant.:D

Your spot on, averaged 790 for 9 lim Bulls today. Average weight 290kg after standing on concrete for 7 hours. Happy enough with the price of them, fairly mixed bunch but good square growthy types, 2 handy lads only 250kg dragging the price down a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Could be totally wrong in saying this but a factor making the lighter weanlings dearer is that with this winter shaping up to be Similiar to last yr ie no real idea what price factory cattle will be come killing time on Spring,a lot of people are veering for buying younger weanlings till they see how the whole 'bull beef' thing settles and at least they can always hold them on for a second winter if needs be.
    Two months ago it looked like weanling trade would be an absolute disaster this backend,at moment quality weanlings are on a par if not slightly dearer than this time last yr and the Suckler Cow support scheme announced on the budget is helping confidence too in future of suckling.
    a complete waste of time,i dont know what the rest of you think about the suckler support scheme,i am losing 10% of my sfp this year, and more going forward to 2019,a lot of fools have forgotten this.taken with 1 hand and given back in the other,as far as i can see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

leg wax wrote: »
    a complete waste of time,i dont know what the rest of you think about the suckler support scheme,i am losing 10% of my sfp this year, and more going forward to 2019,a lot of fools have forgotten this.taken with 1 hand and given back in the other,as far as i can see.

Suckler support scheme ?! Is this the beef genomics and beef data E60 per calved cow?

Agreed, I'd prefer a fair price at the coal face (mart or factory) and cut all the crap out. Get rid of calendar farming, form filling etc. can't see it happening though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

A neighbour sold two hairy golden yellow ch x lim bulls this week, 305 kgs made €935 and 315 kgs €945. Lovely quality march calves that got feck all nuts. The farmers that go mad for this type of calf are as good as any export buyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭The Letheram

Not for all of us. Young farmers in the main gain from the changes to sfp and from suckler support scheme. I do agree with your point though. A fair price at the end of the production cycle be it weanlings, stores or finished cattle would be preferable.

Don't disagree with you at all,sure the majority if farmers are losing 10%....so the way I look at it to an extent is that the suckler scheme money is better than a kick in the ______!...and it's def putting a floor under weanlings prices at mo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

tanko wrote: »
    A neighbour sold two hairy golden yellow ch x lim bulls this week, 305 kgs made €935 and 315 kgs €945. Lovely quality march calves that got feck all nuts. The farmers that go mad for this type of calf are as good as any export buyer.

Now that lad is making a few pound out of suckling - calf march out to grass wean oct +4weeks nuts sell 01 nov have cow fat on grass so as can restrict her for winter reducing costs

935 for calf less the 600 to get him there leaves just over 300/head

Cow to the acre + the 100/acre Sfp + the new 100/cow + E5k glas + 1000 btap+ Dap 30/acre

Thats E650/acre on 50 acres E33K/year... NET:cool:

The dairy lads will be converting to suckling yet:D:D Wait and see...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

ellewood wrote: »
    Now that lad is making a few pound out of suckling - calf march out to grass wean oct +4weeks nuts sell 01 nov have cow fat on grass so as can restrict her for winter reducing costs

Cow to the acre + the 100/acre Sfp + the new 100/cow + E5k glas + 1000 btap+ Dap 30/acre

If only it was that simple........
    They were his best two calves, it's not easy having them all like that. He sold the mother of one of those calves the same day, a super six year old cow because she came bulling a couple of weeks ago when four months in calf.
    As for the cow per acre bit, more like a cow per hectare around here:rolleyes::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

ellewood wrote: »

Will be hard to get 5K from GLAS on 50 acres. more likly 2-3K. BTAP has not given 1K any year and you have to deduct costs of going to meetings and GLAS costs.

As well these were bulls heifers may average less and you have to allow for not incalf etc. Have seen few farmers stocked at 1Cow/acre as that would be derogation territory.

Efficent farmers 3 cows to two HA so 30 cows on 50 acres. 90% calves sold to cows going to bull. So 27 calves at 280 each is 7560 euro. 2.5K from GLAS and BTAP after costs. 3K from new suckler cow scheme. DA is 73/HA or 1460 euro. SFP is variable as if stocked at that rate pre 2002 and if he sold weanlings he be at nearly 500/HA. After modulation he be back 10% and drtopping towards 2019

We wii set it at 133/acre or 400/HA. So 8K from SFP. Total 7580+2500+3000+1460+8000= 22540 or 1127/HA or 450/HA. However on cows his margin is about 150/acre or 375/HA

tanko wrote: »
    If only it was that simple........
    They were his best two calves, it's not easy having them all like that. He sold the mother of one of those calves the same day, a super six year old cow because she came bulling a couple of weeks ago when four months in calf.
    As for the cow per acre bit, more like a cow per hectare around here:rolleyes::D

And in my area ya could be talking a cow to 2 hectares with a few ewes tidying up!!:)....also very relevant is the problems with getting cows back in calf a lot if lads have esp if using AI...(course they mitent mention it too loudly)...was talking to an efficient suckler farmer with top quality stock,has off farm income too,he avg nearly 950 for Jan born bull calves there 3 wks ago.... Bit as he said to me,he has 6 youngish cows out of maybe 30 in herd getting the chop in backend as they failed to go in calf....that fairly eats into profit margin!...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Brass Tag

Saw yellow Char calf today in Ennis 325kg €1010!!

Brass Tag wrote: »
    Prob off a SH cross if in that part of the world.

Brass Tag wrote: »

2 golden charolais in kilfenora yesterday, 340kg and 360kg, 1160 & 1200. That's the exception to the rule though!

Sold 8 Chx weanlings in Dowra today,late March and April calves...seemingly nice calves could be back up to 30 euro a head on a fortnight ago...wasn't out so not sure,
    avg 483 euro with the kg for 5 bull calves...one plain calf on it that brought avg back well,best seller was April hairy weanling,315 kg 870 euro...
    3heifir calves avg 410 with kg,grand quality calves
    Happy enough with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sligoronan

Sold 1 golden ch calf in ballymote Friday. Born may 16th weighed 230kg got E750 very pleased. Bought another April smx calf with potential for cow 260kg for E720.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭massey265

2 golden charolais in kilfenora yesterday, 340kg and 360kg, 1160 & 1200. That's the exception to the rule though!

How is the next few euros made in them two? But really that's the money they should all be making at that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Robson99

Sold 8 Chx weanlings in Dowra today,late March and April calves...seemingly nice calves could be back up to 30 euro a head on a fortnight ago...wasn't out so not sure,
    avg 483 euro with the kg for 5 bull calves...one plain calf on it that brought avg back well,best seller was April hairy weanling,315 kg 870 euro...
    3heifir calves avg 410 with kg,grand quality calves
    Happy enough with it.

Great Mart in Dowra. Always good quality cattle there

massey265 wrote: »
    How is the next few euros made in them two? But really that's the money they should all be making at that stage.

I don't know to be honest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Surely for export is it:confused: