Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Year That Was 2014.

• 21-10-2014 8:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭

Ok lads,

We did this last two years and was a bit of a laugh. Well an opportunity to be happy about what you achieved - and nice to have a moan too in a supportive environment :D

Now that - I understand the golf season a little better - I've stuck it up earlier - so it is fresh in your mind.

Coming to the end of the year. Give a small , review of your golfing year, or anything you want to say

Your highlights or low lights
    Your goals you achieved or failed
    Your great shots your worst
    Your best day on the course , you worst.

Your plans and goals for 2015.
    Anyway lads - good year weather wise (AGAIN) - best of luck in 2015.

Atlantic coast challenge - legend few days of golf - yes you can't go to win it - but pure messing and like minded men and children on a 3 day golf binge on top links - a once off.

Playing Royal County Down twice and the few days I had up there - a great experience. Having a few pints with members there and being asked to play bridge :P:D

And playing well in Mount Juilet and then Ryder Jug when my game seemed to be slipping away.

Getting 5 cuts - was a sort of achievement - but never got a full handle on my handicap - was getting there towards end of season sadly

Got my lowest ever handicap 6 - so happy to say I got there at one stage in my life :D.

It was a massive psychological adjustment - that I struggled with but steadied the ship eventually.

Felt I had a near par round in me this year - but only got to 3 over. But I was struggling for most of the summer.

Almost got a hole in one at 17 in Corballis on top green level - would have loved that one. Got 3 birdies on 3 in Corballis - a sort of miracle there.

Had 3 eagles on my home course - always a treat.

Worst - hard one that , I have had so many fat wedges from 100 yards or less - normally from perfect positions - I need to get rid of this - this is just one thing I could target next year - could lose 2 or 3 shots off handicap.

Mount Juilet this year was class - made a balls of some of my best ever golf - but the night after and craic was something else.

Enniscrone again this year in ACC - just loved it. Great company / weather / laugh.

Worst - wasn't too many at all - yes had days in low 20 odd points - but at the end of the day you are a gown man out playing a game - get over yourself.

Next

Definitely row back a bit - won't see another year of golf like that.
    Get the young lad on the course
    Maybe play a bit more medal stuff and try a new type of challenge.
    Work on core - definitely felt stuff in body never felt before this year :o
    Have a par round. If all the stars align.
    Continue to enjoy it - it is only a bit of craic after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Mid-Oct Fix, mid FN October!!!! :)
    You're worse than Brown Thomaseseseses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

PARlance wrote: »
    Mid-Oct Fix, mid FN October!!!! :)
    You're worse than Brown Thomaseseseses!

well I'd say - 90 % of peoples' seasons are well over.

I wanted to catch the summer golfers - then hanging up me own shoes next month meself.

Only messing ;) I'm just trying to cling onto the season.

PARlance wrote: »
    Only messing ;) I'm just trying to cling onto the season.

I know - you'd go to Norway for a qualifying comp. In real life the season is done. Fresh in mind ;)

Yes PARlance burning up Handicap thread - give us lads our shallow victories.

Next year when you are single figures

ThreadKiller.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Highlights

Shooting a 70 in very comfortable fashion out of nowhere when I wasn't even scoring in the up coming weeks

Lowlights

Still shiver when I think of a 9 I had on a par 4 in a senior cup qualifier when I was going along very well

Goals

I wanted to go from 6 to 4 and got to 4.5 but drifted back to 4.8 now but still happy with that

Best shot

In a foursomes I had 190 to the pin out of the rough with a tree about 50 yards ahead. We were hitting our 4th. Took 4iron and somehow launched it high, long and straight to 3feet and a par. Still take joy in that

Bad shots

Loads

What's next

Enjoy my rounds and time out with pals or my dad. I'm not setting a single goal handicap wise for next year. Couldn't care less.

ForeRight - you've a class attitude to the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,512 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

I know - you'd go to Norway for a qualifying comp. In real life the season is done. Fresh in mind ;)

I actually did that once :D

http://kongsberg-golfbane.no/

Was visiting a friend and he told me to bring my clubs. Stunning place to play golf! It's a ski resort in the winter time :D

I'll make a real contribution to the thread at a later date :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

ForeRight - you've a class attitude to the game.

I've a reason to be very grateful to even be able to walk around playing golf. 4-5 years ago I spent best part of 18mts unable to do anything physical and was under the knife 9 times in a year.

I'll never take golf for anything other than a great hobby after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Highlights/lowlights: All tinged with regret Im sorry to say. Shooting a 70 in the 2nd round of the Lucan Senior Scratch Cup to finish 3rd overall - but blown away by the winner.
    Representing my club in the Senior Cup - but played v average and match was only all square when it was called in; shouldve been at least 2 or 3 up. Promptly dropped and then we lost in the next round.
    Qualifying for and reaching the club foursomes final with my younger bro. Losing that one on 18 was really sickening.

A bizarre year in that Ive lost count of how many comps Ive missed out on prizes by a single point or a shot, in multiple formats. Obviously shouldnt be the reason you tee it up but hard to swallow at times.

Combined with a very poor finish to the season over the last month, I feel it's been a disappointing 2014. Handicap has increased- not by much but enough to question whether or not Ive hit the wall. Had a few lessons over the summer but beginning to think a very strict campaign over the winter will be needed if Im to make real progress in the game.

Did get engaged mind you, so wasnt all bad!

Better contribute before Fix gets in a huff!

Highlights

So many this year. Won't have a year of golf like it I'd say.
    I've had 11 cuts this year, most of them small enough (that were wiped away with 0.1s) but a few biggies that has seen me go from a high of 18 to 12 now (season still not over ;))
    I only managed one cut before that and it came at the end of a fairly frustrating initial year of club golf, so the contrast is immense.
    Played some cracking courses, played with some cracking people and feel like I've learned an awful lot.

Lowlights

Not a real low light, was having too much fun at the time (during ACC) but I got a dose of the dreaded sh* nks for a round and a half.

Goals

Said I wanted to get to 13 this year. The original goal was single figures in 2 years but last year didn't go to plan. Next year hopefully.

Best shot

Had a hybrid into the wind into the 16th green at Corballis. From the moment I hit it I had a feeling it could go in. The sound and sight of the ball will stay forever. Ended up a foot away from the hole. Was nearly shaking after hitting it, still brings a smile.

Bad shots

A round and a half down west at the ACC were everything was bad.

What's next

Hopefully single figures for next year. Hope I can start enjoying an odd casual round too :) definitely went into overdrive this year, it was enjoyable but a bit intense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Domo1982

Ok lads,

Had 3 eagles on my home course - always a treat.

Jesus Fix, I always thought you were just a bit of a crazy aul loon but underneath you're actually a great golfer....as well!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Highlights.
    Having a 2 on the Par 5 16th in Enniscrone during the ACC also shot of the year. Playing the ACC and the great north links Challange. Ballyliffin, Portrush and Portstewart for €175 is super value.

Low lights.
    Handicap still creeping up mainly due to a terriable short game. Thinking of moving to a links course so i don't have to chip:).

Goal was just to maintain Handicap at 12 gone to 13 and 14 is just 2 .1's away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

2014 was a great year for me..very steady golf all year. Cut from 8.9 to 4.3.

The highlight: Had my first under par round ever (-2) in a comp.

Low Points: Didn,t perform very well in the club medals. Although I played to within a shot of my handicap in many.

Best shot: Eagled 590 yard par 5 on captains day. Missed the albatross by 12". Even got a round of applause from the lads walking from the green.

Worst shot: Loads to be honest,still hit the odd duff with the lob wedge,drives me mad.

Goal for 2015 is to maintain my handicap of 4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

I had the best year possible all things considered

I got cut from 24.3(i think) to 16.9 from March to June.

We had our 3rd baby in August and from mid July until now almost late October i haven't hardly hit a ball but played a practice 10 holes in the ladt couple of days and my irons are flying awesome.

I was very suprised by that. In my time away I had spent a lot of time on why my range swing was so much better than my course swing(all in my head) and discovered that with a small attitude adjustment I can bring it to the course.

Next year I guess I want to go lower, I'd be lying if I said that I didn't want to 1 day be single figures. But I still see under par rounds a possibility too. Weird thing is, I still haven't seen why not yet. Its just about putting the time in i think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

Oh another big highlight was meeting fix parlance and scuba too. I'd love to play with ye anytime guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

Highlights

The whole year has been a highlight. I light-bulbed a few things in my game that led to some great results. In fact it’s been so good that I’m not sure I will ever match it.

Won the Scratch Cup in my club Rathcore
    Won June Medal
    Second in September Medal
    Two other top five places in Medals
    Finishing 5th in GOY

The most pleasing was making it to single figures this year. The target was getting one shot of the handicap to 11.4 but just got on a roll and kept going.

Also getting to the bottom of some niggling injuries and sorting them out.

Played The Island and The European Club which is always a pleasure. Playing golf in Brazil was another amazing experience.

Lowlights

Didn’t show up for the captains prize at all even though I was in great form.

Goals

Wanted to drop one shot as I worked on my game over the year but ended up surpassing and making it to 8.6

Best shot

Was playing the Par 5 last hole in the June medal and after a good drive I topped a hybrid. I knew I was on a good score and my top had me 170 yards out and having to carry 155 over water. Into wind so I took out a 6 and hit the sweetest iron of the year with a nice little divot to about 15 feet. Two putts for the par and a nett 67.

Bad shots

Playing the Presidents Prize I hit four provisional’s into the exact same spot of gorse on the left hand side of the third hole in my club. The same exact hook was repeated four times. Joke stuff.

What's next

My second daughter is just a week old now so I will take it easy for the rest of the year working on the range and keeping up my fitness. In Jan I’ll start back working to get to 6 or 7 next year. Loads of scope for improvement so excited. I’ll be doing well to match this year but I’ll give it a bash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Surfing_Xboxer

highlights :

Getting down to 12 - getting picked to play for some of my club teams - winning my 1st singles - golfing in Orlando on some epic courses - Breaking 80

low lights :

not playing more golf !! :)

goals achieved or failed :

Got to 12 handicap

Your best day on the course : everyday on the course is a good one

Class mike - on albatross.

We all got word up there on it - we were made up it was a boards lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Class mike - on albatross.

We all got word up there on it - we were made up it was a boards lad.
    Have had a hole in 1 on the 4th in Corballis but that was much better. 2 brothers pulled the pi55 a bit they saw it go in i thought it had gone in but was 200 yards away and you often think that and the ball is in a dip on the green. Walking up they then told me it had rolled over the back of the green and left me looking in the rough while they chipped on.

mike12 wrote: »
    Have had a hole in 1 on the 4th in Corballis but that was much better. 2 brothers pulled the pi55 a bit they saw it go in i thought it had gone in but was 200 yards away and you often think that and the ball is in a dip on the green. Walking up they then told me it had rolled over the back of the green and left me looking in the rough while they chipped on.

The wind was behind obviously ? - great hole to do it on.

Lads - PARlance was right that I posted this way too early.

See some lads had some great golf end of November and in December too. fair play.

Anyone else got a summary of 2014.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Kingswood Rover

Highlights..... Breaking 80 a number of times during the year and getting to 12 dead handicap wise, holing a a monster putt in front of the large crowd in Highfield gc at the pierce purcell to have our clubs lowest score on the day. Playing 36 holes in a day, 78 gross on the 1st round and won our club 4 ball matchplay on the 17th on my 2nd 18 all in glorious weather,mmmmmmm that was "such a perfect day"
    Lowlights, won diddley squat of any importance,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

The golf I played for the few weeks following some lessons and winning a comp, even if a team event. Low lights, too many tbh

Failed to get down into the teens but finally playing the shape I want. It was a small goal but to me I feel like I can control the ball better if I can control the shape.

Best day on the course was shooting in the low eighties in a casual in Headfort New, didn't even feel I played that well. Worst was during the open in corballis.

Funnily enough my best hole this year was Corballis on the second playthrough. The only par 5 and I had a monster drive for me, then a 22° to the back of the green. Missed the 50ft eagle put but made birdie. Just felt so good after such a disaster round.

Worst shot, so so many. Missing a 1ft put in a comp for birdie? Shanking,topping off a tee? Or maybe in Corballis when I swung, missed the ball and buried it deeper.

Whats Next?
    More comps and a lot more opens, really want to play more course next year. If my HC comes down great, if it doesn't I just hope I can still enjoy the day out.

Love that Dan.

Sums up Corballis - best and worst shot in the one course.

I remember it - it was 12 , I was ahead , you had to wait a while for green to clear , and you know when you hear that sound when a fairway wood / hydrid connects , great shot.

That was Dar, I went out again when you's left on my own. still made a lot of mistakes but not on that on. pity the only ones to see it were some randomers lol.

dan_ep82 wrote: »
    That was Dar, I went out again when you's left on my own. still made a lot of mistakes but not on that on. pity the only ones to see it were some randomers lol.

Lol,

It was in my dreams so - you posted you went again - did you play a full round Dan - now that is hardcore :D

Lol,

It was in my dreams so - you posted you went again - did you play a full round Dan - now that is hardcore :D
    Maybe it was a prediction lol

No ,just played the twelve. Just as I got to the car it started lashing so it was a good choice ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

I got from 10 to 5 last year but between a combination of things I didn't play as much competitive golf this year until September and October time but I did play some good golf.

Highlights:

A +1 and 2 level par rounds in September/October. Got a lesson in September and hit a great patch of form after it. Managed to record my 3 best ever rounds in those months which was a huge highlight. They got me a few nice cuts aswell (although it's heartbreaking only losing .1 for every stroke better than CSS!) Got a gross prize and first prize from them also.

Lowlights:
    Strange one but the second level par round was a lowlight in it's own way as I was -3 through 12 holes and was well on the road to a under par round and maybe even a chance to break 70 but played the last 6 in +3 which was a killer. Obviously there were lots of bad rounds mixed in there too which are always a lowlight!

Goals: Wanted to get from 5 to 3 but ultimately fell just short but I'm not far away now.

Best shot:
    I'm going to say the shots I hit on the range towards the end of my lesson in September, prior to the lesson I had been hitting weak pushy sort of shots, by the end of that lesson i was hitting real towering, powerful iron shots with a hint of a draw. I've been repeating it with varying degrees of consistency since but it's hard to beat the feeling of hitting those sort of shots a few times in a row after a period of a few weeks of weak ball striking.

Worst:

Played Adare Manor during the year and didn't play great but one shot stands out, can't remember the hole but its towards the end, maybe the 15 or 16th, it's a par 3 over water but it's a handy hole, it's just a 9 iron or a wedge to a huge green. Don't know how but just totally topped the ball with a 9 iron I think straight into the water. A beginner would have been embarrassed. I actually think I birdied the last 2 then if I remember rightly, definitley birdied the 18th anyway, funny old game.

What's next:

Currently in the middle of a bit of a winter break but planning 2 or 3 lessons in January and try build from there. My goal for the year is to get to 2. Don't care if I win any competitions or not on the way there but I presume if I do manage it I'll pick up a gross prize or 2 at the very least.

I want to play in a few senior Scratch Cups aswell, just for the experience of playing with very good golfers I suppose.

The ultimate goal I suppose is to get to scratch but it would be a bit of a stretch to think that could happen in 2015! Maybe 2016!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,473 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Highlights included getting on the Golf Digest reviewer panel and the great excuse to play loads of new courses.
    Played Adare and Dromoland on a cracking day in August and that was a great day out.
    Lowlight was getting a horrible case of thinning my chips around May timeframe, came from nowhere as I'd never did it before, lasted just over a month and then disappeared, frustrating series of 0.1's and I don't think I entered a comp really after that because it all seemed to be falling apart.

Handicap is lower than when I started the year but only in decimal places, still lower is good. Always like to play different course so played 27 courses this year.

Your great shots, your worst

Eagle hole out from around 158yards in Moate for a 2, I went straight for the flag, it shot off my club, landed halfway up the green and straight into the hole, I saw it the whole way, nobody else did but I don't care.

Worst, easy one this, Birr, 1st tee, rakes of lads watching and it's a ****in rotten opening shot if you don't know the layout of the hole, I topped a hybrid about 60yards and hacked the next too for good measure, never so glad to get out of sight!

Shot a 8 over, very happy with that, no bad days as any day golfing is a good day.

Next

Settle in on some new clubs, continue to work on turning my arms over and let everything else happen as a by product.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Your highlights

A highlight is my iron play in the last few months, much more solid and has reaped the benefits on the par 3's. I've been either level par or under-par for the par 3's in my last 4 rounds.

Finished well in a few comps and won a few vouchers and things, always nice to take something home to the wife. One was a voucher to a chemist, so she was delighted:D

Your low lights

A hole rather than a shot. The par 5 7th at my home course was always a par hole for me, couldn't birdie too often, but always a solid hole for a par. But since August, its become my worst hole, just have a mental block for the second shot every-time I play it now. I think playing safe and strategic is actually causing me to hold back and make bad swings. Went for it with a 3 wood last time I played and missed a birdie put by inches.

Looking back I had a very unrealistic goal, wanted to get from 13 to single figures, but not a chance, especially without lessons. I was up at 13.4 and got to 12.0 so I'm happy with that. I think becoming a solid 12 hcp'er will be my goal for 2015 as I'll be playing even less golf next year.

Par 3 14th, playing matchplay and we're level on the tee, he hits his about 6 ft short of the pin, simple straight up the hill putt left, I'm pin high but 20 yards left with a bunker between me and the pin. I knew the other player was already counting his chickens and I couldn't blame him. The chip was going to need to land on the top fringe of the bunker to have any chance of not running 20 ft by. Played it exactly how I wanted and it tricked into the hole for a bird. He missed his putt and never recovered, I could see the shock still on his face on the 18th:p

Worse, where do I begin.....
    Topped my drive on the 1st at Enniscrone on the 3rd day of the ACC, then misjudged my second and hit into pure jungle. More annoyed that I lost the ball I'd been using for all the first two days, I have a collection of ball were I write what that ball done (first round of 76, hole-out 150yards etc), so one with "ACC one ball 52 holes 2014" would have been nice. Continued to play the rest of Enniscrone with the one ball, which made it more annoying.

Joined a new club this year, so I've had some great days playing with new people, the golf might have been rubbish but the craic has been brilliant. Really enjoying the club and the temptation to leave for a much superior golf course is losing based solely on the people and not the golf.

The ACC playing with Alxmorgan and one of my mates was definitely great days, really enjoyable 3 days of golf. Cant wait for July again.

Cant say I've a worst day, I've been hammered by some great players, but even then I didn't play terrible for 18 holes, its just they played so much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,512 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Highlights far outweighed the low

your highlights

I got my **** together in the middle of August after a very disappointing Junior Cup Campaign (see below) and played some really excellent golf. There was a period of 10 rounds where I was cut 6 times, 3 times in the buffer and only a single point 1 back. My handicap going from 5.6 to 4.7. Finishing the year on 4.8.

My winter golf has been excellent. I have been under par for 15 holes 3 times now. One of those times, it helped me when a big hamper full to the brim with pork products. I will have bacon coming out of my ears for the next month. My most recent round, I birdied the 3 par 3's that are in play. First time I have ever done that. I wanted to go on and play the 4th one, but my playing partners all told me in no uncertain terms, I would be going alone, so I went in and had a pint instead ;)

I won two club classics and came second in another. Played class in all 3.

Captaining the Senior Cup and Barton Shield Teams. Nobody expected us to do anything, but I took this very seriously. had the guys out for regular practice sessions and practice matches against other clubs and it paid off, big time! We qualified from the stroke play qualifying in both, which nobody expected us to do and though we were beaten well by Athenry in the Barton Shield Semi's in the Senior Cup, we gave Co. Sligo a really good run for it. We were heavily out weighed in all matches and gave a brilliant account for ourselves. Nobody expected us to be anywhere near it, most of those were even from our own club.

I have been asked to captain both teams again this year and I'm really looking forward to it. My best moments of the year were down in Castlebar and Connemara for these two and I wasn't even playing :D

your lowlights

Got off to an indifferent start to the year and the start of the summer was poor, which all culminated with shooting a tragically horrible score in the Junior Cup Qualifier. +15 around Oughterard, a course I really like and played well in in practice. It was very disappointing. It then resulted in me being dropped for both matchplay matches the next day.

Finding out that I couldnt be cut for 2 very good society scores.

Finding out that category 1 golfers cant be cut on general play, especially when I discovered that I was up for review.

Next

Try and get to 4 again. If i can continue my current form into the qualifying season I have a great chance of doing so. Really try and go as low as I can go. The wife is starting to drop hints that we can't keep enjoying the childless life forever, so I may only have 1 or 2 more good years left in me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

Your highlights
    Played some great golf this year but it rarely came together enough for a great round which meant my handicap didn't really drop.
    Playing some great stuff since winter rules kicked in (typically). Have shot in the 70s in 5 out of last 7 rounds having only
    ever done it twice before which is a bit mad.

Two major highlights were club singles matchplay and the ACC.

First year in the matchplay and made it to the final.

ACC was my 2nd, 3rd and 4th round ever of links golf and loved it. Great craic on and off the course.

Your low lights
    Forgotten now. Selective memory vital :D

Didn't drop handicap as i would have liked and didn't get to play in as many scratch cups as I'd planned but goal was to qualify for matchplay and made it
    all the way to the final so that was great

Playing the matchplay semi and 2 down with 3 to play against a 6 handicapper who is a fine player.
    We both go in the bunker on 16 and he plays first to about 10 feet. I hit my best bunker shot ever to 5 feet and won the hole
    Next hole. 185 yards to the flag par 3. Stuck it to 4 feet to win again and hold my nerve on last to win out

Worst - loads but here comes selective memory again :D

Standing on the tee boxes of Rosses Point, Carne and Enniscrone with the sun on my face having a laugh with Senna and his mate. Good times.

Playing a casual fourball matchplay with Keano in Adare Manor against two mates. Forgotten how much fun casual golf could be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Sean_pop

Highlights

Found myself 6 over after 6 holes facing the 7th hole which is index 1 and went -1 under from this point on to finish up 5 over.

Birdied 3 out of the 5 par 3s on Fota Island Deer park narrowly missing out on birdie on the 17th.

low lights

Almost a complete role reversal of my highlight. found myself -1 after 12 holes but ended up finishing 7 over!!

Did not really have any goals except play as many good golf courses as i could and I played 15 new courses this year.

Great Shots

Had a hole in one.
    Alsmost had 2nd Hole in one on same hole just last week. left it just inches from the pin.
    Hit 7 Iron to inches on the first hole in a scramble tap in birdie to start off.

Worst Shots

Hit wedge into water on 13th hole from 100 yards after been -1 under through 12 holes. Never fully recovered and carded a 7 over par score.

as above

Next

Play Golf in Portugal next year and more of the same again please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭benny79

HIGHLIGHTS

All my highlights came in my society won 1 came second in 2, 1 been the captains day which i lost on countback and scratched the 18th for my only scratch of the day. Went from 25 to 15 in my society.Was off 17 on the captains day(In Ester hills) and played my best round of the year shooting a 91 previous best was 92, scratching the 18th ruined it a bit though. As I knew I could break 90 when I was on the 18th Tee box!

Won the Captains drive in my club only for one of the playing partners to collect the prizes and keep them for himself (3 bottles of wine) never met him before but thought it was a bit scabby! he seemed a nice chap and long serving member of the club I'm only there 3 years.

Getting fitted for new clubs in Foregolf last July so now I know its me and not the clubs! actually this could be a lowlight Ha....

LOWLIGHTS
    Although I have played the most golf ever this year still couldn't get even a 0.1 back in my club gui hc! off 22 now!

MY GOALS
    Was to get my HC down so failed miserably! maybe I was trying too hard!

BEST DAY ON COURSE
    was my societys captains day in Ester hills supercourse, super food & super people and a good bit of craic in the clubhouse after.

GOALS FOR 2015
    Changed Pro's and my new one guarantees me he have me down to 12 by the end of August! So watch this space I'm going to rip it up next year!

I also hope to meet up with a few boardies and play some top courses, the likes of RCD etc :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭Dossy

Highlights
    Finally got an Eagle, had a chip-in in my new course. Along time waiting and alot of near misses.
    Got to play great courses like Lahinch Championship + Castle course, Old Head, Fota.
    Played in Pierce Purcell 1st year doing so and was a great experience. Won all the matches i was involved in which was a nice way to top it off.
    Put the driver in the bag after getting an R1 for free off a mate, made a big difference and playing one day in Cobh managed to come in with 42pts and left 3 Birdie putts short. Great Day out.
    All in All great 1st year of Comps.

Low lights
    Leaving Putts short....oh my god if i didnt leave so many short id be down another shot.
    Had the same bad days as all Golfers. Also another low was playing so bad in 2 Monthly Medal's after playing fairly well the day before each.

Dropped 5 shots off the handicap. Went from 17 to 12. Delighted with this as i was happy when i was 14 and to drop another was great.
    Got my Eagle :D
    Didn't get to play in as many scratch cups or stroke Comps as I'd planned.

Great Shot was driving a short Par 4.....Worst was 3 Putting after it.
    Playing Portumna bad drive hit a tree and came down well short....managed to hit a 5 iron 226yds to a foot :D
    Flop shot to 4inches out of rough for a tap in Birdie

Your best day on the course , you worst
    Best day was in Old Head and was first time playing to 12 handicap
    Close second was in Cobh off 14 had 42pts and got cut to 12

Goals for 2015
    1. Get back to back Birdies
    2. Get cut to 11...i know its a small drop but finding it bit tough with 12 as is...
    3. Play more stroke play comps
    4. Clean up the short putting problem
    5. Travel around to play new courses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

Dossy wrote: »
    Highlights
    Finally got an Eagle, had a chip-in in my new course. Along time waiting and alot of near misses.
    Got to play great courses like Lahinch Championship + Castle course, Old Head, Fota.
    Played in Pierce Purcell 1st year doing so and was a great experience. Won all the matches i was involved in which was a nice way to top it off.
    Put the driver in the bag after getting an R1 for free off a mate, made a big difference and playing one day in Cobh managed to come in with 42pts and left 3 Birdie putts short. Great Day out.
    All in All great 1st year of Comps.

Low lights
    Leaving Putts short....oh my god if i didnt leave so many short id be down another shot.
    Had the same bad days as all Golfers. Also another low was playing so bad in 2 Monthly Medal's after playing fairly well the day before each.

Dropped 5 shots off the handicap. Went from 17 to 12. Delighted with this as i was happy when i was 14 and to drop another was great.
    Got my Eagle :D
    Didn't get to play in as many scratch cups or stroke Comps as I'd planned.

Great Shot was driving a short Par 4.....Worst was 3 Putting after it.
    Playing Portumna bad drive hit a tree and came down well short....managed to hit a 5 iron 226yds to a foot :D
    Flop shot to 4inches out of rough for a tap in Birdie

Your best day on the course , you worst
    Best day was in Old Head and was first time playing to 12 handicap
    Close second was in Cobh off 14 had 42pts and got cut to 12

Goals for 2015
    1. Get back to back Birdies
    2. Get cut to 11...i know its a small drop but finding it bit tough with 12 as is...
    3. Play more stroke play comps
    4. Clean up the short putting problem
    5. Travel around to play new courses

That's a great improvement in a year, fair play! But be more ambitious about next year, if you can get from 17 to 12 in a year then there's no reason you can't get to single figures next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭Dossy

That's a great improvement in a year, fair play! But be more ambitious about next year, if you can get from 17 to 12 in a year then there's no reason you can't get to single figures next year!

Cheers, it was a great year, chipping has got better which is helping, Ya its something i was saying during the year, ive given myself 3 years to get to 9 but there is a chance next year ill get there....