Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Easy calving Charolais

• 19-10-2014 8:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7

Just wondering does anyone have any calves out of the dovea bull Sicilien, he has 0.50 at 50% reliability for calving! would use him on heifers calving at 2 years with those figures. I found a video of him on YouTube if ye take a look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Definitely not IMO. That figure at 50% reliability means feck all. I haven't used him but surely you should be using a proven easy calving bull on heifers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

tanko wrote: »
    Definitely not IMO. That figure at 50% reliability means feck all. I haven't used him but surely you should be using a proven easy calving bull on heifers.

+1 if you really like him take the chance on a cow not a heifer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

LiosDuin wrote: »
    Just wondering does anyone have any calves out of the dovea bull Sicilien, he has 0.50 at 50% reliability for calving! would use him on heifers calving at 2 years with those figures. I found a video of him on YouTube if ye take a look

French index for calving of 120 at 99% rel - nearly as good as vera cruze

Heifers at 24 mts - not a bother!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 LiosDuin

ellewood wrote: »
    French index for calving of 120 at 99% rel - nearly as good as vera cruze

Heifers at 24 mts - not a bother!

Have you ever heard of people havin calves by him?he might just be new to Ireland this year though after Dovea buyin him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Have you ever heard of people havin calves by him?he might just be new to Ireland this year though after Dovea buyin him

I was asking about him earlier this year here. I'm afraid our resident French ambassador closed that account but he's back under a new name if you have a root around. Perhaps you could ask him about the bull if you can find him :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Are they pedigree Ch heifers or commercial? If they're commercial heifers, are they well bred beef heifers with muscle or 1/2 bred heifers?
    I'd like to know a bit about the heifer before I'd be recommendating any Ch bull.
    We keep some PB Ch cows and I'd say it's 15 years since I put a Ch on a PB Ch heifer. I'd bull them around 18mths to an easy Ba or Lim. That's not saying it's the right thing to do, but that's what we do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 LiosDuin

Kovu wrote: »
    I was asking about him earlier this. I'm afraid our resident French ambassador closed that account but he's back under a new name if you have a root around. Perhaps you could ask him about the bull if you can find him :D

I was goin to ring Nicolas Bergin from dovea about him tomorrow, I'm sure he'll tell me what I want to hear so I thought somebody here might know. I'm thinking he'd be nice for some limo heifers i have,they would be 14 months when they will get the rod!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

He'll tell ya to put an easy calving angus on them:D. Getting the rod into heifers is usually easier than getting the calf out of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

tanko wrote: »
    He'll tell ya to put an easy calving angus on them:D. Getting the rod into heifers is usually easier than getting the calf out of them.

Getting the rod into allot of yoaks can be handy, it's afterwards the problems start :-) to be honest id stick with a nice lim or blonde or aa for the heifers and bull with whatever you wanto after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I'd bull no 14 mth heifer with a Ch bull. We bulled the odd one that age, but again easy Ba or Lim.

Having said that our own Ch bull, bulled a young heifer on us 2 years back and the heifer went and calved herself!
    I've seen the other side too though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

I'd bull no 14 mth heifer with a Ch bull. We bulled the odd one that age, but again easy Ba or Lim.

Having said that our own Ch bull, bulled a young heifer on us 2 years back and the heifer went and calved herself!
    I've seen the other side too though.

Was at a BETTER farm walk in the summer - all heifers calving down at 2 years old to a Ch stock bull by Major :eek: Mortallity/calving difficulty was v small and the no. of heifers that went back in calf was as good as if he was using angus - But the calves he had running beside every heifer was fantastic worth 3 times what an AA calf would have been worth
    IMO if you are going to the bother of getting heifers up to the weight to bull at 14/15 months you have to make it worth while, a AA calf out of a heifer in her first year will barely cover the cost of keeping the heifer for the year.

All within reason tho - the Major bull the lad had with his heifers theres no way most lads would put him with heifers (meself included) he was built like a tank and had blocky shoulders on him like a house - maybe its all just down to luck:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

ellewood wrote: »
    Was at a BETTER farm walk in the summer - all heifers calving down at 2 years old to a Ch stock bull by Major :eek: Mortallity/calving difficulty was v small and the no. of heifers that went back in calf was as good as if he was using angus - But the calves he had running beside every heifer was fantastic worth 3 times what an AA calf would have been worth
    IMO if you are going to the bother of getting heifers up to the weight to bull at 14/15 months you have to make it worth while, a AA calf out of a heifer in her first year will barely cover the cost of keeping the heifer for the year.

All within reason tho - the Major bull the lad had with his heifers theres no way most lads would put him with heifers (meself included) he was built like a tank and had blocky shoulders on him like a house - maybe its all just down to luck:D
    On My Father's Farm we'd Heifers calving down at 2yo to either CH / LM (depending on the bull at the time), to me allot depends on the breeding behind the Heifer (commented on here by others previously). Good Management at calving can be key, although there is the odd exception.
    When you mention AA, people perceive AA as easy calved, I'd to aid an farmer a few times where he'd to have sections from AA calves on AA Heifers (The calves were of average size).
    Think on a previous post someone mentioned the French go for size & frame, would this not help with calving ease (theoretically)?