Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worried about a car sale being shifty: help!

• 19-10-2014 8:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41

Hey guys, thanks in advance for any advice as I have a problem. I just sold a car to someone I think was a dealer but said it was for a family member. However they didn't fill out all the details on the change of ownership registration cert. as they said they were going to put the car under their name in their motor company but it was in fact for their daughter. I was a bit taken aback, but basically they wanted me just to sign the reg form without putting any other details on it (including date). And they took the reg cert too where I know I am supposed to send it to the authorities. I know this was stupid of me so no need to point this out. He said it was because was going to his company so that form didn't apply. I don't know I just didn't worry too much about it, and it is only now I'm realising was very stupid. I wasnt really aware at the time of the fact that probably i was just selling to a dealer as that must have been what he was despite the "car for daughter" claim. I wasnt aware there was a separate form for dealers to fill out and obviously he didnt bring it up. He did have with him two copies of a sheet with his address on it and a waive of responsibilies blurb where he took responsibility from now on for parking fines etc and we both signed both sheets. So i thought that was a good sign. He was very critical of the car and I got a bit lower than I had wanted for it but not too low, I was reasonably happy with the price and glad to have it gone. However now I'm really worried that he won't properly register it and I'll get stuck with a problem. Anyone have any thoughts on this? Or on what he might be up to? He showed me his licence and I took down his drivers licence no. He seemed a nice guy but definitely seemed to be lying about it being for the daughter thing to me, but I didn't think anything of it just thought it was a weird but now I'm worried. Help!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

If he doesn't send off the change of ownership, you could be paying for a lo of he's speeding fines and tolls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,410 ✭✭✭Tefral

dave987 wrote: »
    Hey guys, thanks in advance for any advice as I have a problem. I just sold a car to someone I think was a dealer but said it was for a family member. However they didn't fill out all the details on the change of ownership registration cert. as they said they were going to put the car under their name in their motor company but it was in fact for their daughter. I was a bit taken aback, but basically they wanted me just to sign the reg form without putting any other details on it (including date). And they took the reg cert too where I know I am supposed to send it to the authorities. I know this was stupid of me so please noone point this out! He said it was because was going to his company so that form didn't apply. I don't know I just didn't worry too much about it, and it is only now I'm realising was very stupid.I didn't have the selling to a dealer form with me so he didn't fill that out either (and didn't ask about it - as technically it was "for his daughter"). He was very critical of the car and I got a bit lower than I had wanted for it but not too low, I was reasonably happy with the price and glad to have it gone. However now I'm really worried that he won't properly register it and I'll get stuck with a problem. Anyone have any thoughts on this? Or on what he might be up to? He showed me his licence and I took down his drivers licence no. He seemed a nice guy but definitely seemed to be lying about it being for the daughter thing to me, but I didn't think anything of it just thought it was a weird but now I'm worried. Help!

In all likelihood he is a guy trading in cars and was critical to get a few more quid off so more profit for him. He won't sign the log book, but will wait until someone buys it and they will. That keeps the number of changed owners down.

Keep an eye on Donedeal over the next couple of days. It might go up on there or he might have a buyer for it already.

Might be best ringing the local Garda station to let them know. That way if there is an issue with tolls or a TA in the near future you're covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 dave987

If he doesn't send off the change of ownership, you could be paying for a lo of he's speeding fines and tolls.

Hi thanks yes I'm aware of the implications of him not sending it off. I suppose I'm wondering what I can do about it if he doesn't. And if anyone has experienced this sort of thing before, whether he might possibly be genuine or it's a scam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

He's selling it on again, he's going to say that your a relation etc and he's selling it for you.
    That car remains in your name until he sells it, so any speeding offences etc will be sent to you.
    Never give the tax book away!
    He's not a dealer but a shady lad buying and selling.
    Ring the man and tell him you want it out of your name immediately, then ring the DoT on Monday!

Hi thanks for advice. That sounds likely what he is doing alright. Just as long as he does sell it on I don't mind. My guess is he'll fix it up a bit in the next few weeks first so it might be a while. If I let garda know will that remove my responsibility? It's a good idea anyway and I hadn't thought to do that so thanks.
    cronin_j wrote: »
    In all likelihood he is a guy trading in cars and was critical to get a few more quid off so more profit for him. He won't sign the log book, but will wait until someone buys it and they will. That keeps the number of changed owners down.

Keep an eye on Donedeal over the next couple of days. It might go up on there or he might have a buyer for it already.

Might be best ringing the local Garda station to let them know. That way if there is an issue with tolls or a TA in the near future you're covered.

YbFocus wrote: »
    He's selling it on again, he's going to say that your a relation etc and he's selling it for you.
    That car remains in your name until he sells it, so any speeding offences etc will be sent to you.
    Never give the tax book away!
    He's not a dealer but a shady lad buying and selling.
    Ring the man and tell him you want it out of your name immediately, then ring the DoT on Monday!

Good advice also, thanks! Will do that also

Hi thanks for advice. That sounds likely what he is doing alright. Just as long as he does sell it on I don't mind. My guess is he'll fix it up a bit in the next few weeks first so it might be a while. If I let garda know will that remove my responsibility? It's a good idea anyway and I hadn't thought to do that so thanks.

Also what's the reason for keeping the number of owners down is that just because it looks better for the car to have had less owners? Thanks.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Also what's the reason for keeping the number of owners down is that just because it looks better for the car to have had less owners? Thanks.

Basically yes. Especially if a normal run of the mill car.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Not just for keeping the number down, but also because there is no trace for the guy you sold it too. If his name was on every car he flipped, then he may come to the attention of revenue in a short space of time.

Hi lads,

I phoned him there and he said he will fill out the change of ownership form online. I just checked and it seems it's possible for a dealer to do this. However I would say that it's still only legal if the RF105 dealer form is also filled out by both of us? Or will the inline version be enough? He says he will fill it out this week. I can check on the RSA website whether he has done this later in week. He also said he had the dealer form with him (RF105) when he bought the car, but we didn't fill it out so that's rubbish. So irritating. Any thoughts? Really appreciate the advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Ring Shannon tomorrow and explain, they are well used to this kind of thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭knifey_spoonie

If he is registered on the motortrans system he can transfer vehicles in and out of his garage code online, he can back date the transfer to the point of him picking up the car regardless of when he inputs the information.

The RF105 for is pretty much dead now, it is only required it you do not have a motortrans account and wish to still do transfer manually via shannon, im not really aware of anyone still using this system

Also have you put his phone number into google to check if he is a dealer??

If he is registered on the motortrans system he can transfer vehicles in and out of his garage code online, he can back date the transfer to the point of him picking up the car regardless of when he inputs the information.

The RF105 for is pretty much dead now, it is only required it you do not have a motortrans account and wish to still do transfer manually via shannon, im not really aware of anyone still using this system

Oh that's really interesting, thanks. Online it says you give the reg cert to the dealer (unlike when selling to an ordinary person as then you send off the reg cert yourself), but you have to fill in the RF105 and send this off yourself. But this isn't the case? Maybe all is well then, and he is legit. That would be great news. He's only given me his mob number and that doesn't come up online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,252 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

I'd guess he's not registered on anything but the Live Register;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,545 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Post of the day....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,410 ✭✭✭Tefral

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Post of the day....

I actually burst out laughing when i read it.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭spin777

Hold your horses there. All this ringing the Gardai, scam nonsense. He is obviously a genuine enough character, he had a form with him to say he would take responsibility for fines, he showed you his driving licence and most importantly he answered the phone to you the following day, if he was a dodge he wouldn't of done any of this.

To me he's probably a part time car dealer, maybe just starting out small, give the lad a break, he seems to be genuine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,545 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

If he were legitimate, he should have brought an RF105 form to transfer it into the garage name without adding an owner. Had it actually been for his daughter, he could have put her name on the book, but he didn't.

spin777 wrote: »
    Hold your horses there. All this ringing the Gardai, scam nonsense. He is obviously a genuine enough character, he had a form with him to say he would take responsibility for fines, he showed you his driving licence and most importantly he answered the phone to you the following day, if he was a dodge he wouldn't of done any of this.

To me he's probably a part time car dealer, maybe just starting out small, give the lad a break, he seems to be genuine.

Something he typed up and printed out himself, according to the OP's description of it in his original post.
    Genuinely not worth the paper it's printed on........

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    Something he typed up and printed out himself, according to the OP's description of it in his original post.
    Genuinely not worth the paper it's printed on........

Said who??? You have his driving licence, copy of a letter signed by him saying he was buying the car and taking responsibility for fines etc, what more do you need. A blood sample or a diagram of his family tree??

Em, no. You need the car out of your name is what you need.....
    not some ridiculous piece of paper which will magically divert speeding & Toll fines.

BTW, you're not the buyer here are you ?

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    BTW, you're not the buyer here are you ?

No, you're not the revenue are you?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

If it was for "his daughter" all he had to do was put all of her details on the document, hand it back to the O.P. to be posted to Shannon and this thread wouldn't exist.