Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

garda eyesight requirements

• 18-10-2014 1:07pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭

Lads,

What's the story with the garda medical in relation to eye sight? I think the website says 6:1 vision without glasses whatever that means?

I'm asking because I'm now wearing glasses most of the time and wondering if I'd pass the medical? Thinking about it I'v seen very few gardai wearing glasses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭jwt22

I wear glasses for driving and distance but my eyesight would be fairly OK. The glasses just sharpen things up a bit. I just printed out the sheet where it says what the requirements are and brought it to my optician when I was going in for a test. He checked and said I will pass the eyesight test no bother without my glasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 ian180power

I was old my the optician in specsavers last February that my eyes where no where near the standard for AGS. He also said he himself administered the testing in the past.

I passed my medical last may, the test you with/without your glasses. The doctor on the day had no issue in passing me and I would have taught my eyesight was bad enough or at leaset would have needed laser eye surgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭JonathanP

I got laser eye treatment in anticipation of the eye exam...