Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pine Martens and sheep!

• 17-10-2014 3:48pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭

A thread over on the Animals and Pets forum prompted me to ask you all here to relate any experience you might have about pine martens allegedly killing sheep.
    Twice now I've heard or read of people saying that pine martens can and do kill adult sheep.
    They say that the pine marten bites the sheep open at the neck and "draws off" or eats their blood.
    But I'm finding it hard to believe!
    First of all, because of the serious size discrepancy, why would a tiny carnivore kill prey that is tens of times heavier than himself? It would leave him vulnerable whilst eating it for starters because he can't drag it away to eat in safety, but would such a tiny fella really be able to kill a big, woolly sheep at all? Even if he wanted to? :o They usually eat much smaller prey, stuff that's more size-appropriate, and I'm not aware that they have any vampire-like blood lust!
    I'm open to having my doubts scuppered on this, but I'd really like some absolutely irrefutable evidence that anyone has... not just that they've seen scratch or bite marks on a sheep that *might* have been a pine marten!
    I know, I know, I'm being demanding, but very much looking forward to what ye all have to say!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I was just reading that thread!

I've never heard of anything like that happening. Mink were always the suspected prey that would drink the blood of an animal but again possible old wives tail. They get a savage blood lust though don't they?

There are loads of pine martin around me, even three young this year were brought out and I've never seen them attack anything bigger than a hare. Although AFAIK, pine martin will eat freshly dead carrion so if one was seen eating a recently deceased sheep perhaps that's where it all started.

But I would find it very hard to believe a shy, tree-dwelling, cat-sized creature could take down a sheep....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Kovu wrote: »
    There are loads of pine martin around me, even three young this year were brought out and I've never seen them attack anything bigger than a hare. Although AFAIK, pine martin will eat freshly dead carrion so if one was seen eating a recently deceased sheep perhaps that's where it all started.

That is so lovely to have them around you... I've only seen them dead on the roads, much more so in recent years which, if I was to look for a silver lining, suggests that they're on the increase generally.
    Having done a bit of googling, I see videos and talk of them eating carrion, so yes, my suspicion is that pine marten have been seen having a munch on an already-dead sheep, and were blamed for the death.
    I've also found a forum where they tell of an old tale of how pine martens have a spike on their tail that they use to kill sheep :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Really?! Omg that's hilarious. I'm imagining something stingray-esque now running up the trees around here.

They're strangely quiet around here too, often see them outside our back door sniffing at cat food dishes. My father is releasing partridge next year though so just hope they don't get snapped up right away by them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

People are confusing pine martins with Los Chupacabra
    Which have sighted in Ireland in recent years see youtube

Los_Chupacabras.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Not heart of pine martens doing it, but we have none locally, have heard of mink doing it though.

http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=7306&Itemid=9

http://issuu.com/connemaraview/docs/march_2010_connemara_view/25

Not heart of pine martens doing it, but we have none locally, have heard of mink doing it though.

Thanks for the links :)
    I did wonder if mink might take a lamb alright. Sounds really serious with the lady featured in those articles in Connemara, but I wonder has she actually seen the mink killing the lambs, or just come across the aftermath?
    Again, there's always a bit of a doubt in my mind about what actually killed the sheep/lambs, and whether even the pesky mink actually did the deed, as opposed to getting caught eating the dead animal? I could see more than one mink taking down a bigger lamb, but a 35kg lamb? Do mink work in groups? That's a big animal to kill when you're as small as a lone mink!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭foxylock

DBB wrote: »
    Thanks for the links :)
    I did wonder if mink might take a lamb alright. Sounds really serious with the lady featured in those articles in Connemara, but I wonder has she actually seen the mink killing the lambs, or just come across the aftermath?
    Again, there's always a bit of a doubt in my mind about what actually killed the sheep/lambs, and whether even the pesky mink actually did the deed, as opposed to getting caught eating the dead animal? I could see more than one mink taking down a bigger lamb, but a 35kg lamb? Do mink work in groups? That's a big animal to kill when you're as small as a lone mink!

I can confirm that mink kill lambs, horrible creatures. One hunting a lamb one day came to within ten feet of me very brazen. 35kg lambs are much too big these lads take newborn and lambs up to a month old. We have pine martin here too but i have never seen them hunting lambs.

foxylock wrote: »
    I can confirm that mink kill lambs, horrible creatures. One hunting a lamb one day came to within ten feet of me very brazen. 35kg lambs are much too big these lads take newborn and lambs up to a month old. We have pine martin here too but i have never seen them hunting lambs.

They are indeed brazen creatures. Interesting that you have seen it for yourself, thanks for that :)
    I mentioned the 35kg thing because the lady in the articles quoted above said that minks had started on newborn lambs on her farms a few years ago, but now were taking lambs up to 35kg! I find that hard to believe, but having said that, if these tenacious little fellas were working in small groups I could see how they might overwhelm a rather large animal. I'm not sure whether they work together though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

Neighbours around me are obsessed with the view that pine matens are killing their sheep and lambs.

Traps all over the place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

know of A farm were minks were attacking dairy calves which were grazing ground around a lake. we were getting a load of calves with infecions on there left knee turned out the mink was attacking them when they went to drink from the lake. For some reason it always went for the left leg, these calves would have been over 50kgs at this time

trixi2011 wrote: »
    we were getting a load of calves with infecions on there left knee turned out the mink was attacking them when they went to drink from the lake.

Did anybody see the mink attacking the calves?
    I wouldn't suggest that if it was mink having a go at the calves that they were actually trying to take them down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

foxylock wrote: »
    They are very brazen alright, was fishing for mackerel last year and had one stealing a few out of the bucket only a few feet away from me. Not one bit afraid of humans.

No expert but i have only ever seen them hunting alone the thought of them working in packs doesn't bear thinking about. Have trapped a few over the years and they are tough critters pure muscle. However at the moment grey crows and ravens are our biggest tormentors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

The picture painted is a little Monty Python isn't it?

tumblr_n3pspam1u51sov1ino1_500.gif

The picture painted is a little Monty Python isn't it?

tumblr_n3pspam1u51sov1ino1_500.gif[/

sure make pets of them so......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I can't see Pine Martens being a problem for Sheep. I've certainly seen them around my place including the lambing fields but never heard of them bothering sheep or lambs for that matter. I suppose anythings possible in unusual circumstances but it must be a very rare event if it happens at all. They are a well studied species in any case both here and abroad and their habits are well known. Important to note too that they are protected.I have heard of farmers having problems with mink and very small lambs which Con referred to in his links. Much more of a menace though to poultry farmers and wild ground nesting birds . I trap them on my own place as they are a non-native species(escaped from fur farms in the 60's) which organisations like the NARGC, NPWS etc. are working hard to eliminate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

If I could add to your post...escaped and RELEASED from fur farms, a lot of the time by animal rights groups, not only in the sixties but into the eighties if my memory serves, but open to correction..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭feartuath

The beast of Craggy Island I would be most afraid of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

feartuath wrote: »
    The beast of Craggy Island I would be most afraid of.

I heard it has no mouth but 4 arseholes instead !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Bullocks wrote: »
    I heard it has no mouth but 4 arseholes instead !

Yeah but it also for some reason has a massive fear of stamps so start covering your sheep in stamps