Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

High Horse Ignorant Snobby Gossiping Pricks

• 16-10-2014 6:15pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 75 ✭✭

Every small town and large Village has them. Generally if you say hello they just grunt and look away. They would never set foot in a pub because they wouldn't want to be seen. These same people love to gossip in the local shop and post office about people to the older staff

Anyway I got a text from a couple of people that one of these high horses was ranting around the post office, shop, petrol station that last week I was drink driving and swerving all over the road and lucky I didn't kill anyone. I wasn't even in the county for the last month because of work and never would drink and drive.

Oh my Revenge will be sweet! Any one deal with the feckers before. Any ideas of revenge! Half thinking of taking a dump and firing it in her letter box.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Maybe get off your high horse first.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

Would taking a dump in their letterbox not give some credence to their prejudices about you?

My suggestion is tie them up, bring them into the woods, whip them with a dildo and bury them alive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Maybe get off your high horse first.

I hear it's a pony.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

A missive along the following lines usually does the trick :

http://pbs.twimg.com/media/BFMbcr_CMAA9-7x.jpg:large

• Registered Users Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Any legal friends? A solicitors letter telling the old biddy that you're thinking of filing a civil suit for defamation of character should do the trick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The best way to deal with those types of people is just to ignore them. Any decent folk would know the kind of them, anyone that believes them wouldn't be worth bothering about either.

I wouldn't give them the nose that I would react to them at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Maybe you were so drunk you don't remember driving...just a thought.

I think you owe that woman an apology

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

I hear you've been doing a lot of drinking recently OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

Do not entertain them.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

walshyp wrote: »
    Every small town and large Village has them. Generally if you say hello they just grunt and look away. They would never set foot in a pub because they wouldn't want to be seen. These same people love to gossip in the local shop and post office about people to the older staff

Anyway I got a text from a couple of people that one of these high horses was ranting around the post office, shop, petrol station that last week I was drink driving and swerving all over the road and lucky I didn't kill anyone. I wasn't even in the county for the last month because of work and never would drink and drive.

Oh my Revenge will be sweet! Any one deal with the feckers before. Any ideas of revenge! Half thinking of taking a dump and firing it in her letter box.

Wouldn't that just be giving them more to gossip about?

Forget about "revenge" nonsense, as you'll only be stooping to their level of mundane mediocrity, and giving credibility to their gossip, further fuelling the rumour mill.

Anyone who actually knows you really won't give a shìt for small minded gossip, and neither should you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Just take a deep breath then exhale and walk away. As long as you know the truth who cares what anyone says about you.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Is it a small town?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

Meh......if they are talking about you op they are leaving some other poor fecker alone..... / finger snaps, flicks hair and walks on head held high.....

• Registered Users Posts: 13,859 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Fire!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Do not entertain them.

Is that Robbie Williams new song?

• Registered Users Posts: 380 ✭✭c_o_ck p_i_ss chillage

Seduce them and then leave them hangin'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Merkin wrote: »
    Any legal friends? A solicitors letter telling the old biddy that you're thinking of filing a civil suit for defamation of character should do the trick.

Or a fake one. It'd be easy enough to knock together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

Is that Robbie Williams new song?

Ah Joe, did ya not know, it was the Bside to, let me entertain you.

:p

• Registered Users Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I know exactly what you mean op.

I grew up in the same area my mother did and when my parents got married back in the 80's they decided that was where they were going to live.

My father originally comes from the west of Ireland and was never truly accepted here and was always considered the outsider. Like the op said, people would stop talking when he went into the local shop or pub and only a small few would talk to him. Now not everyone was a cunt, as families who were close to my mothers considered him to be one of their own and those relationships remain today.

Things however took a really dark turn when i was 12-13. I found out by accident that someone had accused him of informing on people claiming the dole and working at the same time. He had received threatening letters saying him and his family would be burned out of the house and people were parking up outside the house at all hours and just sitting there staring in. This went on for about a year until my grandfather(mothers father) intervened and it just stopped.

As it turned out i was very well liked by the majority of the area and when i had told my friends what had happened they told me that they knew it was all lies, but i wasn't popular with everyone and and there were always some smart comments passed, especially from those living in the local village. Snow releasing the song Informer didn't help me much :pac::( Saying all that i socialised in other villages and towns and never had much to do with the goings on in the area as i always felt watched and uncomfortable.

As i got older it people mentioned it less and less until a few years ago when i had returned to the area with my then girlfriend. We went out to the nearest pub one night and my gf and sister went out to the smoking area. I said i'd get some more drinks in and follow them out. When i returned to where we were sitting they had already come back. They proceeded to tell me that some lad in his 50's had asked my gf the usual questions like where are you from, what brings you to the area etc, when she said she was going with someone from the area he asked who was the fella, when she said my name he turned around and started banging on about my dad and how you can't trust him. He then told her that he had tried to run him out of the area only for my grandad got involved and generally being a nasty bastard about my family in general.

They pointed him out to me, and although i had seen him a few times in the village over the years i had never known his name. I asked one of the older lads in the pub who he was, and when they told me, it was the same name i had heard mentioned when i was a kid. So i sat and waited for an opportunity to get him on his own and when i saw him going out out for a smoke i followed him.

He was chatting to a woman when i went out but she went inside almost immediately and left the two of us alone. As luck would have it, he didn't know who i was, so he started the same spiel saying he didn't recognise me. I told him i was born and reared in the area. He starts listing of some names trying to guess who i was but missed out on my family. He eventually gives up and calls me a liar and asks me who i was.

It took about five seconds before the penny dropped, but when i told him who i was, he went pale and immediately backed up. I walked towards him and told him that my gf had told me what he had said to her. He starts blubbering about only messing with her because she was a stranger. I keep walking towards him and eventually back him up against the wall and tell him that if he even thinks about my family again i'll smash his head in. He's still full of apologies and general bull**** and i just tell him to piss off out of my sight and he ran off home.

I returned to the area again 3 years ago and i see him now and again and he crosses the road or leaves the building when i walk in, but even though i sort of got revenge, i still feel awkward going into the village and haven't been to the local since i came back.

Sorry for the essay :o

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Dublin town?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Or Galway town?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

We're usually the ones they're gossiping about. If they ever stop, I'll know we've gone dull. Fcuk em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

If dey cant handle ye at ur worst dey dont deserve ye at your best hun! xoxo Dont mind the nosey passremarkibles. chin up, head high!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

walshyp wrote: »

Don't do that anyway.

You could make absolute surely who it is, then spend your weekends visiting the local hostelries decrying the gossipping muckraker as a low down, filthy, lying snake.