Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man 'flu and Ebola virus.

• 15-10-2014 6:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭

So which is worse ??
    My money is on man 'flu. I don't think anyone has ever been this sick before.....:
    HELP!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Dawggone wrote: »
    So which is worse ??
    My money is on man 'flu. I don't think anyone has ever been this sick before.....:
    HELP!!!

I'm only over manflu it's the worst ever Ebola would be a walk in the perk compared to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

I said wrote: »
    I'm only over manflu it's the worst ever Ebola would be a walk in the perk compared to it.

Just as I suspected. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

So which is worse ??
    HELP!!!

Man flu is defo worse, I had it last month and I was aching all over, could barely even walk. I hear with Ebola you get a sore tummy.

mayota wrote: »
    Man flu is defo worse, I had it last month and I was aching all over, could barely even walk. I hear with Ebola you get a sore tummy.

I'm going to show this to OH.....
    Sympathy is scarce round here even with a temperature of 40.1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,224 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

do any of ye get the flu jab?

I'm going to show this to OH.....
    Sympathy is scarce round here even with a temperature of 40.1
    I give my oh the same amount of sympathy as i get if i am ever unwell, which is feck all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Can you catch Man Flu if a female is not present

whelan2 wrote: »
    I give my oh the same amount of sympathy as i get if i am ever unwell, which is feck all

Now, now. Maybe you're unaware just how serious Man 'flu is.....
    i know how serious it is, no one has ever been this sick before is a regular phrase here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Haven't got it before but getting it this year. Next week with the help of God. Can't afford to take a chance. Twud bring a grown man to his knees.

So which is worse ??
    HELP!!!
    cant believe that even though you are so ill you are still able to post on here- total sainthood in the making

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Brass Tag

i know how serious it is, no one has ever been this sick before is a regular phrase here.

Fella at work with a sniffle declares "I'm as sick as a small hospital" -:)

cant believe that even though you are so ill you are still able to post on here- total sainthood in the making

I appreciate that Whelan. You are indeed a Lady.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I appreciate that Whelan. You are indeed a Lady.

Dawg would love it if you popped over to france for a holiday to look after him :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Only known cure for man flu is a generous dose of shurrup and get on with it. It'll pass as soon as ye're distracted and forget you sneezed.

endacl wrote: »
    Only known cure for man flu is a generous dose of shurrup and get on with it. It'll pass as soon as ye're distracted and forget you sneezed.

Regretfully no.
    It's MAN 'flu, don't you know anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

I'm just waiting for the boys and girls in the WHO to declare manflu as the next global pandemic. They get excited every time someone catches bird flu or swine flu they're probably so overcome with excitement about manflu that they haven't gotten around to holding a press conference yet.
    As for ebola sure they have that down in Africa on and off for decades now and receive only a few people outside Africa have gotten it what's to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

This is nonsense everybody knows farmers don't get man flu :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭stanflt

Dawg I think you picked it up in the parlour at the weekend- you should always stay protected when playing with snakes

stanflt wrote: »
    Dawg I think you picked it up in the parlour at the weekend- you should always stay protected when playing with snakes

:).

stanflt wrote: »

Damn I missed that :( he'll need tye whole vaccination routine now as well :)

No petrified of needles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

So which is worse ??
    HELP!!!

I thought they were the same thing?

over 30 years ago my dad went to docotor with a sore throat/man flu type of illness, he said as soon as you have the first sign of a sore throat gargle with brown listerine. Its a great product, oh used to get tonsilitis alot and at the first sign of it he uses brown listerine. Unfortunately its hard to get now for some reason. So if this tip can save some of ye the pain and hardship of a sore throat/flu illness its worth it. Btw oh is getting a man flu type illness at the minute. Was looking for uniflu and cough medicine during the night:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

over 30 years ago my dad went to docotor with a sore throat/man flu type of illness, he said as soon as you have the first sign of a sore throat gargle with brown listerine. Its a great product, oh used to get tonsilitis alot and at the first sign of it he uses brown listerine. Unfortunately its hard to get now for some reason. So if this tip can save some of ye the pain and hardship of a sore throat/flu illness its worth it. Btw oh is getting a man flu type illness at the minute. Was looking for uniflu and cough medicine during the night:rolleyes:

Did he not get a dose of that not too long ago

So which is worse ??
    HELP!!!

Did ya survive the night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭sandydan

I'm just waiting for the boys and girls in the WHO to declare manflu as the next global pandemic. They get excited every time someone catches bird flu or swine flu they're probably so overcome with excitement about manflu that they haven't gotten around to holding a press conference yet.
    As for ebola sure they have that down in Africa on and off for decades now and receive only a few people outside Africa have gotten it what's to worry about.
    no need to wait for the WHO to declare it , in my opinion the minster for tanks and tractors is waiting for the Ebola virus to abate in order to use manflu ( this epidemic is to be registered and given defined trade mark with all royalties payable to said minster) as an excuse to drive down beef prices, so watch out some day for a jeep load of soldiers and medics and foreign media to arrive on your footsteps and quarantine your household and declare all produce unfit for human consumption until declared safe by said minister with suitable levy to be decided at future date when overtime figures will be fully costed including cost of costing.

sandydan wrote: »
    no need to wait for the WHO to declare it , in my opinion the minster for tanks and tractors is waiting for the Ebola virus to abate in order to use manflu ( this epidemic is to be registered and given defined trade mark with all royalties payable to said minster) as an excuse to drive down beef prices, so watch out some day for a jeep load of soldiers and medics and foreign media to arrive on your footsteps and quarantine your household and declare all produce unfit for human consumption until declared safe by said minister with suitable levy to be decided at future date when overtime figures will be fully costed including cost of costing.

That's beginning to sound like the response to foot and mouth. We better hope the minister realises the difference and doesn't just tell the army to do whatever they did in 2001.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

That's beginning to sound like the response to foot and mouth. We better hope the minister realises the difference and doesn't just tell the army to do whatever they did in 2001.

But that was fun tho

well he could do worse and appeal to the Ministers Union to appoint a minster for high profile diseases. they could then appoint a minster who needs the most or least vote to this high or low profile position with no expenses spared expert committed to travel to foreign countries everytime there is an outbreak of tonsillitis or even hayfever to see how "best practice " should be put in place, the list of options availavble is endless with funding being drawn from Agriculture seeing how the said minister is or may be now be responsible for world health similar US new foreign policy and sur the farmers wont "mind"

Whelan2 I got the cure for manflu u mentioned

yup oh used that the other night when man flu symptoms where coming on, was grand the next morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

I got the flu jab one yr as iam in an out to my doc a lot since the accident a few yes ago the yr I got it I was never as sick that winter in all my life.what ever was going I would have got it,that was the end of getting the flu jab I'll take my chances with out it

Reggie. wrote: »
    But that was fun tho

Yeah but it might not be so fun when the army says that some lad a mile down the road was sick so you have to be shot and your body burned on a bonfire.
    That said it was very effective with foot and mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

this is what you need
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRxPmm_E273YN2zSg_9w6LZrbBbr4QCZ1fj7DKr5O5ORC5OJlMYRQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Or this naughto :D:rolleyes:
    man-flu.jpg

Ended up in hospital.

Spike Milligan's gravestone springs to mind --
    "I told you I was sick".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Ended up in hospital.

Spike Milligan's gravestone springs to mind --
    "I told you I was sick".

Ah shur the hospital over there is fine. No 8 hour wait or nothing. Tell us if you don't survive. ....

I see a few countries have been declared Ebola free.
    Manflu is not something that will ever eradicated.

I see a few countries have been declared Ebola free.
    Manflu is not something that will ever eradicated.

well in that case there is money to made on it:D wonder what it is:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭dodo mommy

man flu is Killin me tonite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Man up you lot it's no wonder modern men are turning into sissies :mad:
    Whatever happened to the phrase women cry, men die?

dodo mommy wrote: »
    man flu is Killin me tonite

Look after yourself.
    I neglected it and spent a fortnight in hospital, inc a couple of days in ICU.

Look after yourself.
    I neglected it and spent a fortnight in hospital, inc a couple of days in ICU.

Mothers friend telling me the other day they have 3 young men in hospital with very bad flu and no other health problems at all
    One man died only 54

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭dodo mommy

cheers guys that's put my mind at rest all that talk of hospital and dead men, hope fecks off soon heading to Rome Friday morning with da misses

the amount of lads i see with no hat on is unreal, asking for trouble imo, weather is so changeable. Thats where the trouble starts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

the amount of lads i see with no hat on is unreal, asking for trouble imo, weather is so changeable. Thats where the trouble starts

Ok mammy

mayota wrote: »
    Ok mammy
    yup took me a long time to cop on,mymother was always on at me for not wearing one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

I never were a cap but then I still have a full head of hair :) Last time I was in hospital was 1972 :) I better shut up now in case I end up in hospital next week :(

your day will come, I learnt the hard way, I get bad sinus if i dont wear a hat